Description from manager
Description from manager
6 Full baths
More Property Details
Book this 7 bedroom villa in Seminyak today! A total of 14 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 37 reviews.
The manager responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- Check in time:14:00, Check out time:12:00
- This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- Yes, smoking allowed
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Seminyak Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Ceiling Fans
- Hair dryer
- Housekeeping Included
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
Pool / Spa
- Private outdoor pool (unheated)
- High chair
- Mountain Views
- CD player
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Balcony or terrace
- Shared garden
- Smoking allowed
- 6 Full baths
– based on 37 reviews
- Very Good
“In dire need of maintenance, cleaning and retraining of staff”
We stayed at Villa Mewah as a group of 13 guests from 28 May until 1 June. Most of the group has travelled to Bali and stayed in villas before so we had arrived with expectations of service, security and hygiene. Firstly, I will start with the positives. We enjoyed the large pool in the centre of the villa, and it was a nice place to relax in the morning and in the evenings as a group. We felt the pool was clean and well maintained while we were there. Secondly, we would like to commend the driver, Ketut, on his service. He was always extremely punctual, arriving to pick us up at least 15 minutes early from every agreed meeting point, and spoke English very well. Thirdly, the air-conditioning worked the entire time for us, except for once when the power went out temporarily, but we know this can happen in Bali so we don’t have an issue with it. We had breakfast at the villa once and it was well cooked and presented. Unfortunately, that’s where the positives end. Our most serious issue with the villa was the clear lack of cleanliness and maintenance, as other reviewers have pointed out below. One night we came to home to find a huge bull ant infestation in the kitchen and we took photos as proof. There would have been at least 30-40 bull ants crawling around the cupboards and benchtop, which we had to spray to kill. Additionally, three out of six toilets were blocked and we repeatedly asked the staff to fix them but the problem was never addressed. We resorted to all having to use just three toilets between 13 people for the entire trip! One of the bathrooms had a big leak in the roof which drenched the toilet, and again, this issue was not addressed. Be careful using the hairdryer too. One of the guests was using it to dry her hair when it literally fell apart in her hands! There was an inadequate number of bed and bath linens for the number of guests. We asked numerous times for more towels, pillows and blankets and they were never provided to us. Two of the guests didn’t even have blankets! Bath and hand towels were never replaced even though requested – they were simply rolled up and placed on the bed as though they were new towels. We could tell they were unwashed because they still had the same stains from the previous day. The showerheads and bathrooms were also mouldy and in dire need of maintenance, and the fans were all dusty and dirty. The room with the two bunk beds in it is the size of a shoebox and didn’t even have a quilt or proper blankets, just bed sheets and a pillow! Staff turned up at 9.30am and left at 3pm every day. Outside of this time, we had no way of contacting them for assistance. It is not a true butler service like you get from other villas, where staff arrive before you wake up and leave in the evening. They also switched off our Wi-Fi for two days without an explanation or apology! The villa location requires a 15-minute taxi or car trip into the main area of Seminyak and being completely tucked away from a main road, it’s impossible to hail a taxi. We would have asked villa staff to call taxis for us, except that they were never around! Additionally, even a basic amenity like fresh bottled water was never replenished in the bathrooms. We also had security scares a number of times, where someone would walk into the villa off the street. We didn’t know if they were a staff member, security or a random person off the street. Staff members would wander in and out of the villa, leaving the door wide open, even though we asked them repeatedly to keep the door closed as a safety measure. As a group of females, this was very disconcerting to us and we felt unsafe. We also felt there were some glaring discrepancies in the way the villa is marketed and advertised to what you get in reality. There was one TV in the entire villa, not one in all bedrooms as advertised. There was no soap/shampoo provided, nor was there a fitness room that we could find. There was one room behind the pool that was locked the entire time that may have been the fitness room, but as we were never given access to it, we don’t know. The villa is also described as being in central Seminyak. Please be aware it is not within walking distance of the heart of Seminyak where are the restaurants and boutiques are, and you will need to call for taxis. The staff which were described as “committed team of full time, attentive staff” were only there six hours a day at most! Whenever we would look for them, we would find them in a small room off to the side of the entrance, smoking. As a group, we enjoyed our stay in Bali and we love visiting, though our next stay will definitely be at another villa. Most of our complaints about the villa could be resolved if the staff were re-trained. They were repeatedly asked for things but never provided them (simple requests such as towels, blankets, bottled water). They are also responsible for cleaning and maintaining the premises, which we don’t feel they did to an acceptable standard. Perhaps the villa owner feels this level of cleanliness is acceptable, but for the guests in our group, most of whom have had experiences at other villas, we don’t feel it was acceptable at all. If you are okay with staying in a villa with questionable levels of cleanliness and service, you might find this villa acceptable, but if you have any expectations of hygiene and service, you would be better off staying elsewhere. Sincerely, 13 extremely unimpressed guests.
Response from the manager First we welcome constructive feedback from guests both negative and positive. Unfortunately, I have to take issue with a lot of your comments which I believe are extremely unfair and a number several are actually untrue. We’ve had many guests stay at Villa Mewah who have had a great time, have loved the villa and the staff. We’ve had 35 reviews across Flipkey/Tripadvisor and Airbnb and the vast majority are really positive about both the villa itself and staff. We unfortunately had a problem with your group right from the start and our staff had a torrid time looking after you but they tried their very best - we rarely have complaints from our staff about guests. As per our emails, we wouldn’t allow your group to stay at one of our villas in the future. The vast majority of guests are lovely but sometimes a group comes along once in a while which are problematic. To reply to your comments: 1. The staff work long hours and arrive at the villa pre-breakfast and will work late into the night if you’re having dinner at the villa. Otherwise they will leave at 5pm and this was all explained to you upon arrival and this is what occurred. Your group actually had dinner one evening and the staff worked until 10pm which you fail to mention. It is totally untrue to state they only worked 6 hours; 2. We take cleanliness and maintenance very seriously, the household staff clean daily and items which are broken are fixed or replaced as quickly as possible. One toilet was blocked and this was fixed the same day, I do not understand why you state otherwise. We have 2 full time maintenance engineers working across our villas and broken items are fixed or replaced as quickly as possible, particularly urgent issues like toilets; 3. The hairdryer was replaced during your stay; 4. We added more towels and linen in the villa during your stay as you had many extra guests staying over which we weren’t aware of; 5. The insects were removed by the staff, it is unfortunate this occurred but they can appear quickly and the staff are trained what to do when it does occur to remove quickly. There were just a few ants and this is a tropical island and can occur; 6. The wifi was down in the whole area for 4 hours one day and then it was back up. This was beyond our control and again, I don’t understand why you state otherwise. 7. The water bottles are replaced daily in the villa; 8. The staff check on any persons arriving at the villa and there is security – we’ve never had any security issues; 9. We never stated there is a fitness room or tv in every bedroom, I think you have the wrong villa. There is a large, comfortable Entertainment room with LCD TV, DVD, International Cable TV, and DVD films; 10. Toiletries such as shampoos and soaps were provided daily. With the many extra guests staying over at this villa during your stay without our knowledge then you might have been short but we only accounted for 13 guests; 11. The villa is just a few minutes drive into Central Seminyak; 12. There is a guest villa mobile phone supplied with credit supplied and taxi number in it. The staff will also call for taxis.
“Not Impressed at all”
This Villa was advertised That it was walking distance To Shops= not True Pick up From airport = Didn't happen.We had The Confirmation email To say that We would have the driver collect Us Up at The airport In the mornIng , Harry Hudini Thought it was pm. We Then didn't See Harry Hudini ( The Disappearing Driver ) For days We had To ask for him . We Were charged full Price for Breakfast @ $10 per person And We bought 5 Kg of Bacon From Home . There Was mice Poo In The Kitchen Cupboards . The rocks In The Shower and Toilet were mouldy . The Bar Top couldn't Be Leant on because it Wasn't Supported . The Tiles In The pool Were Coming off . We were having breakfast one morning and The staff had The ceiling fan On above The dining Table and There Was dust particles Flying into our food . I got up and Turned The fans off In disgust The dust was an inch Thick on all fans Through The villa I checked . Though The staff were very friendly The Language Barrier was difficult. I am not The Lease holder I was One of The family group . my Sister Had What She Thought was a winner and she did an amazing job To Accommodate . But she booked The villa by The website Which had The Information wrong . I forgot to mention that the power failure was often.
Response from the manager It’s a real shame that you’ve taken to writing this false review which you were threatening some time ago. You stayed with us in AUGUST 2013 yet only leave the review now – why? You threatened a false and negative review 12 months ago. You demanded a refund for the last 4 days of your stay even though it was your decision to leave the villa as your holiday plans changed while you were staying in the villa and you all then travelled as a group to Lombok. I’m a very fair and reasonable person but the reasons for your leaving the villa didn’t warrant a refund and I refused. You then threatened to leave a nasty review. If we had major issues with the villa and you had to leave because of these then this would have been a different story but it wasn’t the case at all. All the points in your review are false and inaccurate. We didn’t even have an issue with electricity in August 2013 which you obviously picked up in a later review which you’ve read. The electricity supplier has now solved the issue and thankfully there are now no issues with the power supply and haven’t been for sometime but this was all after your stay in August 2013 anyway. TripAdvisor/Flipkey would have allowed me to refuse your review given it’s been written over 12 months since your villa stay but in the interests of transparency and fairness I accepted it. I’ll leave it up to readers to decide and to maybe read the huge number of positive and, more importantly, accurate reviews for this villa (lots of recent ones too!) and all the other villas I exclusively manage in Bali.
Our trip to Bali would not have been the same without staying at Villa Mewah. We were picked up from the airport by the best driver in the world, Made and myself and 14 other friends were welcomed into the villa immediately by a variety of villa staff offering us cocktails. The villa itself is breathtaking and quickly became our home away from home. Very conveniently located about a 5 minute's drive from Seminyak shops/markets and about 15 minute's from Kuta nightlife it made the stay extremely pleasurable. The rooms are extremely comfortable, with air-conditioning in all rooms in perfect working order. The bathrooms are stunning and had no problem with running out of hot water, even with 15 guests. The pool is beautiful, and reasonably well maintained, and the swim up bar is a special treat. The villa was cleaned every morning by the staff to an immaculate standard, same with the rooms and towels. The whole villa is wi-fi accessible and while not quite as quick as the internet here, no complaints as it helped us stay in touch with our family's back home. We would like to extend a big thank you to Craig for facilitating an outstanding holiday, Made the driver for being a genuine and caring companion on the trip and all the villa staff for taking care of us while on the trip and of course the security guard Francisco, who quickly became our good friend.
“What can I say ........”
14 of us stayed here from 14th to 20th June 2014. On our arrival, the electrical supply was cut off a total of 7 times. And it continued up to our departure day. It was a stressful and unpleasant experienced. We contacted the villa manager, Evvi, to look into the matter but there was no improvement. It came to a point that she refused to answer our call. We text the owner on June 14 , 16 & 17 and he responded on June 18 as he was away and had no access to messages. We were offered an alternative 4-bedroom villa on our last 2 nights but had to turn it down because it could not possibly accommodate 14 of us. So instead, we were given a free dinner on our last night. On our last day at the villa, they was no water supply and we had to wait until the staff came to restore it. We were so grateful to the villa staff, Pak Mardeh the cook, Ketut, Mardeh Jr & Yen Yen who tried their best to make our stay a pleasant one. The villa management did not offer an apology on the whole situation, instead the driver, Ketut who took the initiative to apologize on behalf of the management for the power failure. Kudos goes the villa staff. The management should also look into the cleanliness of the villa especially the toilets. We discovered a tarantula on the ground floor toilet. We hope others would find our review helpful and not go through what we had experienced..
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback, we welcome all reasonable and constructive comments as it provides invaluable feedback to us on improving the villa product and service. It is very unreasonable to suggest that Evvi, the Villas Manager, and the management were not responsive. Evvi visited you on your arrival and Sam, her assistant, met you several times during your stay. I also spoke to you several times and once while I was overseas for family reasons. The main electricity supply into the building from the PLN Indonesian supplier was faulty. It was not the fault of the villa. We had this problem for several weeks and it was due to an issue locally within the area and affected many villas, not just ours. This was explained to you on your arrival and we offered you an alternative 5 bedroom villa with complimentary extra beds at this time. You decided to stay due to the villa being in a more preferred location and therefore we asked you not to use the 6 showers and numerous ACs across the villa all at the same time during the issue with the local electricity company as this would trip the power supply. Unfortunately it would appear our instructions weren’t followed which led to various issues with the power supply as well as water supply as this is driven by electric pumps. We apologised several times and in fact gave you 3 complimentary dinners during your stay. I also wrote to you on your departure to formally apologise. The electricity supply issue was completely resolved 2 days before the end of your stay. I’m pleased to say that we continue to have no power or water supply issues at the villa. We inspected the bathrooms and toilets both while you were in the villa and on your departure and there were no cleanliness issues. We have great staff at the villa and they do look after our valued guests well, thank you for your positive feedback on this. We’ve had many guests stay at Villa Mewah and the vast majority have provided really positive reviews and feedback. Kind regards Craig
“its not the Villa Mewah its the Villa Me wow”
I have friends who travel to Bali at least 3 to 4 times a year who have always given great reviews about the place and for many years I had always considered having at least one of my birthdays there. So this year I finally decided to do it. When I started looking for accomodation I didnt know if I wanted to stay in a hotel or villa. I decided to take a group of family members who had never been to Bali either. The choice was easy, Villa it was, so I started the search on line for Villas that held up to at least 8 to 12 people and thats how I found the Villa Mewah. The villa had everything I wanted 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, private pool, chef, driver, staff and security. I looked at the pictures and definately knew this was the villa I wanted. I submitted my enquiry to Craig the owner who responded almost immediately and within 24 hours I had my tickets booked and accomodation locked in. It was just that simple. The day arrived and we were finally in Bali. We were greated at the airport by our handsome driver Wayarn (who was easy to spot as he had a big sign with my name on it). When we arrived at the villa we were greated by Craigs awesome staff agung our chef, Yeyen and Gaby our beautiful housemaids, who were there whenever we needed them. Once inside the villa it was like OMG. We felt like a superstars. If you thought the photos on the web were beautiful wait until you see it for yourselves. You will not be disappointed. Even though the villa is situated in a nice quiet back street in Seminyak with the shops, resturants and markets only 5-10 mins away we decided as a group we would eat at the villa for as little as $5 to $10 each per day. We absolutely loved the place so much that my sister and her friends are booking the villa in January 2014 to celebrate her birthday and I am definately planning a return trip soon with my friends and I know where they all want to stay.
Response from the manager Thank you for your great review and kind words Snowie. It was an absolute pleasure to look after your group and it's great you had a fabulous time at Villa Mewah. We've recently added a 6th bedroom of 2 x adult single bunk beds so we have a total of 9 beds in the villa now and so perfect for large groups. I hope to see you and your friends back in Bali very soon. Kind regards Craig
Our experience at Villa Mewah was one I will never forget. The moment we walked through the door we were like kids in a candy store the villa just blew us away and we were overjoyed with excitement. The staff were excellent we became very close to them and also our driver. We stayed for 5 nights and it was our first time in Bali and it was a holiday i will never forget and i am planning to go back in a few months and hire Villa Mewah again. Thank you for the beautiful time and memories.
“Perfect villa - stop looking”
7 Girlfriends and I have just returned from a marvellous stay at Villa Mewah - Seminyak. Villa Mewah is in a great location and is also a fine property. We always felt safe and secure with the Villa Staff present during the day and Street Security present during the evenings. The swim up bar is such a necessary touch to the property and was utilised very often lol all 5 bedrooms are very comfy with ample storage space and air conditioning in each room. The real highlight though are the beautiful staff that greeted us every morning. The Chef was such a genuine man who loved a laugh and catered to our every need. No request was too big or small. The ladies that attended to the cleanliness of the house were also very friendly and thorough. All staff were always helpful and respectful of our privacy. I will never forget their beautiful faces and hope that I will be able to serve others just as good as they served us. On our last morning the chef made an immaculate spread for us and we pleaded that they share a meal with us. They were extremely hesitant but we were 10 times more persistent and they sat at the table with us and I will never forget them. However, There is one person that really won our hearts over, it was our Driver Made. Our trip was magical because of him. I have never met such a selfless, respectful and passionate person more than Made. He was always on time, professional and courteous. Quite often we would ask him to change his day around to suit our agenda and he never once hesitated. He suggested day trips and happily was a translator for us when required. He encouraged us to do activities that we probably wouldn't have and happily made multiple phone calls to various places to sort things out for us such as, price negotiations for day activities etc. We made a life long friend. He is such a genuine and honest person. At the airport I balled my eyes out, not because I was leaving Bali but because I had to say goodbye to Made.
“Beautiful villa and ultra friendly staff. Highly recommended”
Myself and 7 of my girlfriends stayed at Villa Mewah for 5 nights (31/08/2013 - 05/09/2013) I cannot express how extremely impressed we were with everything this Villa had to offer. 5 very spacious, air conditioned bedrooms. All with ample amount of wardrobe space and their own ensuites. Our favourite place to be was downstairs relaxing in/by the pool. Being relatively young the swim up bar was the biggest bonus for us ;). We also found it convenient that there was a separate bathroom downstairs where we could shower before we ventured out, mainly because it prevented making a mess throughout the villa. The location of Villa Mewah is perfect. Although the villa itself is on a quiet, back street of Seminyak, it's only a very short drive into Kuta/Legian. We hired scooters during our stay and got to know the streets quite well. Our stay would not have been the same without the beautiful and very friendly staff of Villa Mewah. Our chef catered to our every need and the housekeepers were on point. My friends and I grow very close to our driver, Made. He became apart of our family and each of us found it hard to say goodbye to him after our short stay. Although at times it was difficult to communicate, due to the language barrier, he always tried his hardest to help with any and everything we needed. We have continued to stay in contact with him since returning home :) I am very happy that we chose to stay here and would most definitely recommend Villa Mewah to any and all types of groups planning a trip to beautiful Bali :)
We loved our stay at the villa, the rooms are big and City the cook is accommodating and helpful. Craig is also helpful. Love swim up bar and the pool is great. You'll need car service because you cannot walk to the main shopping stripe. But overall we loved our stay.
“as good as it get,s”
Friendly staff , excellent facilities The room,s are some of the most spacious and comfortable we have stayed in.The kitchen and dining room is perfect for entertaining and well equipped.Great pool with the swim up bar a great feature. This villa is in a great location to close to great restaurant,s and shopping. Will definitely be coming back again.