Description from owner
Description from owner
1 Full bath
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Kandy today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 32 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $400 to as high as $500, depending on travel dates.
The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 24, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the owner
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 24 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- Check in time:14:00, Check out time:12:00
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: $100.00
- Please contact the owner
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Kandy Attractions
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Washing machine
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
Pool / Spa
- Private outdoor pool (unheated)
- Mountain Views
- Secure parking
- CD player
- Balcony or terrace
- Private garden
- Smoking - Ask
- 1 Full bath
– based on 32 reviews
- Very Good
“Amazing place despite rain-related problems”
We stayed at Kandy House for a month in December 2014 – January 2015 and were apparently the first guests to stay that long. Our stay was therefore long enough to appreciate all the pros of the house but to also notice some cons with the place. The house itself is very nice indeed: airy, spacious, decorated with warm colours and beutiful masks, statues, photos etc. We were just two adults and a child but the house could easily accommodate two-three more people. There's only one toilet/bathroom, though, so it's probably best for a family instead a group of friends. The house, and especially the kitchen, is very well equipped. We only missed a toaster, which was brought practically the next day after we just hinted about it. The house has great views down to the valley from the deck. The location is very peaceful and secluded in the sense that the house is at the end of a lane so there's no traffic. If you're very light sleeper, bear in mind that they sometimes play music quite loud in the guesthouse nextdoor and dogs bark and howl randomly throughout the night in the neighbourhood. It's a bit out of the way and while it is possible to walk to the centre of Kandy, the route isn't that nice for walking. Once you get used to the location, it's still quite convenient for both Kandy and surroundings. There's a well-stocked shop just up the lane, and two big supermarkets close by: Nihal's 1.5 km away down the road and Arpico 1 km away down the steep steps. Considering the size, location and facilities of the house, it is very reasonably priced. Compared with the info on Flipkey, some things had changed but only for the better. Eg. wifi connection was actually free of charge, and they had built reilings for the stairs. The main downsides we experienced were due bad weather, which obviously we can't blame Simon and Nimal for. We had bad luck and it rained pretty much constantly for two-three weeks in a row. With this much rain, water drippled through the roof tiles and the upstairs floor got wet and slippery. It was quite impossible to get anything dry even with the help of fans, because the humidity reached all of the rooms. Practically everything started gathering mold, including an old cell phone(!). Once the sun came out again, we were able to get our belongings clean and dry, but the pillows and matresses etc. textiles in the house will require thorough cleaning and drying. Perhaps the best advantage of the house is the local host Nimal. He's friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Tourism isn't actually his day job, which is refreshing but does also mean he's still learning the tricks of the trade and there could be some hickups along the way. Nimal took us on several longer excursions with his van. He wasn't the fastest driver and distances took even longer to cover than we had conservatively calculated BUT on the other hand, he's a very safe and considerate driver – something you really have to appreciate since the traffic in Sri Lanka can be hazardous. Because of his actual profession, we were able to have interesting conversations along the way. All in all, we can warmly recommed the Kandy House. Just be aware of the dampness if you're planning to visit Kandy in the rainy season.
“Fabulous hillside view!”
Cozy, spacious, clean, quiet hillside retreat! We very much enjoyed our short stay in The Kandy House. Madame Kumari took very good care of us, giving us useful information about Kandy, places to visit and to eat and ensuring we had easy access to tuk-tuks! Will keep fond memories of our time here!
Nimal is a very nice man.A good driver/guide. We did a few trips with him. The trip to the country was very nice. At first to a local market to buy vergetables for lunch. After that a walk in the country (about 2 hours) and lunch at his parents house. We also did the tour to Sigiraya with him. We recommend him as guide/driver.
“Home in the Hills”
More than once I have returned to The Kandy House and I am already planning my 4th stay in 2014. Nimal is a welcoming face to meet upon arrival and the view is lovely to come home to. I highly recommend The Kandy House.
“Unforgettable great time at the kandy house”
As a Family with two Kids (1y and 5y) the Kandy House was a great place for us to stay, to enjoy Kandy and to make excursions. We felt at home immediately and enjoyed the time very much. The Contact was working great via e-mail with Simon. And the pick up at the railway station by Mr. Nimal worked out perfect! Also the service and the help from Nimal was excellent. As the house was our own privacy, Nimal was reachable at any time The whole house was very clean as we arrived and it was great to have a own large kitchen and a really big and comfortable living room. Our 1y old had the best sleep ever in the wonderful bedroom downstairs. And so did we! The greatest thing is of course the breathtaking view from the balcony over the wide ranged forest of the hills around Kandy!! Might be important to know that you need a tuktuk to get at home (at night) because it is to far away from Kandy downtown. But Mr. Nimal recommended us a driver who was there for us at any purpose. Thank you so much for the experience and the offer to stay at the Kandy House!
“Great location, great house”
We stayed in the Kandy House a couple of weeks ago. The location is superb, tucked away down a steep driveway, overlooking valleys and mountains, such an incredible view from the back deck. The house is nicely designed with two great bedrooms and a fantastic living/dining/entertaining room upstairs. This is the perfect spot for a family or small group traveling through Kandy and is priced well too. There's enough facilities to live self sustained here or to entertain. Recommended, most definitely.
“Wonderful house, Excellent views!”
My husband and I stayed at the Kandy house for a week in July and could not have been happier with our experience there. The house was comfortable and stylish and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We especially loved the beautiful hardwood dining table and enjoyed many meals looking out through the massive floor to ceiling windows that lined the DR, as well as the LR. The bedroom was comfortable and the canopy bed gave the room a charming B&B; feel. The house was nicely decorated with artifacts from throughout asia. The real highlight, however, was the large second-story deck complete with an outdoor BBQ. It had been our intention to do much more exploration of the surrounding area, but we were so happy barbecuing and enjoying the great weather and stunning views that we rarely left the house! The kitchen was well-stocked for self-catering and had all of the amenities that we needed as amateur chefs and food lovers. Guests should understand that kitchens in asia do not necessarily offer all the amenities of the West, but with a little patience and creativity you can cook just about anything. The supermarket was a bit farther down the road then we would've liked, but it made for a nice walk, and a small store nearby had a lot of basics with very friendly owners. (Although the Kandy house is a bit of a hike from the city center if you don't have a car, this actually makes it more appealing since the air quality in the mountains is far, far better than Kandy.) Simon was very helpful in answering questions and providing information prior to our arrival. Nimal could not have been more wonderful in getting us situated in the house and checking in from time to time to see that we were alright. With friendly owners/managers, an ideal, peaceful location, and everything one needs for self-catering, the Kandy house is definitely a great pick. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this wonderful, culturally-rich city.
“It was different.”
The view from the house balcony was exceptional. The main bedroom was fine. It is difficult to find any further compliments.The kitchen was really unusable. As advised in advance the cooker largely did not work. This no doubt because water comes in from the roof when it rains and lands on the electrical appliances.The kichen cupboards along with the contents thereof did not look as though they had been cleaned in a long time.Cutlery along with other cooking implements are kept in a filthy wooden box. When we arrived we found dirty washing on the sofa and (questionably) clean washing hanging up to dry in the small bedroom. It looked to us as though people had been staying there unofficially. It was certainly not from paying guests. The owner describes the house as being "a few minutes out of Kandy City". It is not. It is far too far to walk to Kandy; even going there downhill.Since the kitchen was unusable, it got dark very early and the house was barely accessible to motorised transport at night time the evenings were not particularly pleasant although we managed to make the best of it. Just thought of one more compliment: the washing machine was very useful particularly as we were having a long stay in Sri Lanka.
Response from the owner We were saddened to receive this unjustifiably negative review and have written to the guest to offer a partial refund. As informed in advance, only 2 of the 3 gas burners on the kitchen cooker were functional during this guests stay. However a new combination electrical oven was available along with various electrical appliances and plentiful crockery and cutlery. We accept that guests have very high standards around cleanliness, but feel that the descriptions of dirty crockery, cutlery etc are unfair. We ocassionally dry linen inside the house when it is raining outside - but will stop this practice as a result of this review. The house is exactly 2.5km from the Kandy Clock Tower and we maintain the description of it being "a few minutes out of Kandy City". Our written guide describes a range of transport options to and from the house and discourages guests from walking to Kandy due to the steep terrain and lack of safe pavements along Peradeniya Road. We regret that this guest did not enjoy the Kandy House as much as our others guests (described in other reviews) and accept that not everyone reacts positively to the local culture. If you have concerns about this guest review and our response, I would be happy to share more information.
“Feeling of being on the top of the world !”
Beautiful view and magnificient house, at walking distance from Kandy city. We felt blessed to stay in this beautiful place/environment. Thanks to Nimal who came to get us from the train station, because I am not sure the tuk tuk would have been able to bring us there (another time, we asked a tuk tuk and we had to direct him !). There is a local food shop very near, and a larger supermarket a little farther (but still close enough to walk). We had trouble figuring out the functionning of hot water shower at first, but then everything was perfect. We cooked ourselves meals and watched the beautiful scenery from the balcony. Our 2 recommandations to the owner: to fix the gas stove (only 2 rounds work, and they burn the pots)and the roof (it had rained one day when we came back, and there was quite some water on the floor; luckily, it didn't rain on the sofas!).
Response from the owner Thanks for your great review! Stove being repaired and further kitchen improvements coming this June. Thanks for the information on the roof leak - unfortunately a constant battle we have with monkeys on the roof!
“Peaceful, warm and friendly retreat.”
I stayed at Kandy House for 5 days in October. Kandy House is a spacious, secluded house with panoramic views over Kandy Valley. Several areas of the house were still being developed in terms of comfort for future guests, e.g. the kitchen facilities. That said, I was definitely warmly provided for and my memories of staying at Kandy House are fond ones.