Need more information about booking Property 3915321 ?
Very Good

1 / 40 Catalina View Casita-Walled Courtyard and South Entry

from $60 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Villa
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 2  Type: Villa
Charming NE Foothills Casita-Gorgeous Sunset Views; call abt long-term discount
TripAdvisor property ID 3915321

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom villa in Tucson today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 19 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $360 to as high as $525, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Steven M.
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, Spanish



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Tucson Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Central heating
  • Clothes dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Fax machine
  • Internet access
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Shared indoor pool

Property Features

  • Mountain Views
  • Parking
  • Secure parking


  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • Video player


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (19)

Very Good – based on 19 reviews Very Good
19 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Rental Not as Described”

Reviewed 19 Mar 2014

Companion and I arrived for a month. The location was fine for being away from the city. We had easy access to nearby hiking. This 500 sq ft one bedroom unit was essentially a hotel size studio. Companion and I felt using the word "luxury" to describe this unit was a stretch. The web site also described this rental as a 'casita.' The 3 rentals were connected apartments with no separate/private casita. Not having basic appliances (for a month) like an oven and stove should have been more clearly disclosed. A toaster oven and a 2 burner electric appliance were inadequate replacements. Looking back at the rental's description (after the trip) I now know had I hovered my cursor over the word 'oven,' the word 'toaster oven' would have appeared. One could argue it was our responsibility to discern the unit's amenities. We both missed this. We had prepaid for a month with absolutely no refunds, so we had to make the best of what we had. Parking for our unit was limited. Over a 2 day period, we picked up more then a dozen nails and screws from the ground where we parked. Luckily, we did not have a flat tire. We left some of them in the empty planter by our front door. Upon check in, a tall extension construction ladder was on our deck and the owner assured me it would be removed. It was in the same place when we checked out 22 days later. The galley style kitchen was difficult to cook in. The only counter space was about 24" wide. A coffee maker barely fit in this space. Using any other appliance required moving things around so everything would fit. We had to stack our few belongings on top of each other. The bed was not comfortable. It had a noticeable lump down the center. The neighbors roosters crowing every morning was an unpleasant way to awaken. A pool pump outside our front door turned on often, especially at night. It was very noisy. As a result of all these reasons, we checked out 9 days early.

Response from the owner Dear Guest, I was sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. You never mentioned any problems while you were here. I was surprised to get your email nearly 2 months after vacating to let us know. I know I asked if there was anything you needed at least 2-3 times. If you would have let us know while you were here we would have been happy to remedy any situation. The pool pump could have been changed to run one hour during a time that was convenient for you instead of the 3-6 pm that it was set at or the time lessened. No one has ever complained about that or about the neighbor’s rooster that is about 700 feet away. Since you were here the neighbors have moved and their rooster as well. Before you came we had a queen bed in there and decided that everyone would appreciate an upgrade of a King Tempurpedic Memory foam mattress so spent the money for that but no has said anything about a ridge down the middle of the bed out of 6 couples that have stayed there. We tried to accommodate your cats but had to remove the luxury comforter and linens and we removed all the area rugs so you could have your cats come with you. I know it looks better with those items in there but you volunteered to bring your own linens so we didn’t have to have everything dry cleaned or thrown away. You mentioned to me that you scheduled the vacation to get out of the cold mountains and warm up down here. Then when you left a week early you said you were leaving because it had been the warmest winter on record at your home in the White Mountains and there wasn’t a need to stay longer. If you had mentioned some of these things to us we would have been happy to make changes to make you stay a more perfect stay while here in Tucson. -Joyce

“Enjoy a Memoriable Stay!”

Reviewed 10 Jun 2013

As a former award winning hotel manager, it is easy recommending this beautiful destination. I routinely stay at boutique properties having rented in France, Italy, Great Britain, Hawaii, and within the us. I am very comfortable leaving a favorable review. Commonly understood, hotels charge for basic needs like water and local phone calls that can quickly turn an "affordable" room rate into a costly hotel bill. You may also feel trapped at hotels/resorts with few options other than buying basic needs for basic needs like food and beverages and risk additional fees for bringing in personal needs. My first impression of the Ranch was the accurate quality of the website photographs. The images capture the quality and cleanliness of the grounds and comfort inside the rentals. I am in a Casita, a pied-à-terre (small living unit located outside of a city). The interior is clean, safe, and furnished with appropriate southwestern decor; nothing over westernized. The views are breathtaking. I watch wild rabbit and quail beneath a panoramic view of the Rincon & Catalina Mountains. As described with the lyrics in the song america the Beautiful, "for purple mountain majesty" it accurately describes the purple color of the mountains!. The property is outside of the city on the preferred east side of Tucson. It sits on the edge of the globally recognized Saguaro National Monument State Park. The owners are amazing people who are genuinely passionate about guests needs and quick to exceed expectations. Whoever drafted the Internet comment reads as a user error rather than a network failure. You can read how accommodating the owners interacted appropriately, when it is clear the user had personal equipment or user knowledge needs. My Galaxy IV, laptop, and pads all work flawlessly. Should you desire a natural and relaxing getaway that provides a unique and memorable stay, look no further. Ask about their other properties at additional destinations. Bon Voyage!

“Desert beauty”

Reviewed 8 Mar 2013

Small apartment located in pristine desert surroundings. Gorgeous views of both Catalina and Rincon mountains. Apartment is nicely furnished. Owners could not have been more accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our months stay and would not hesitate to book for a future Tucson vacation.

“nice, but no wi fi as promised”

Reviewed 6 Mar 2013

Very disappointed. Were promised wi fi in the explanation of the property. Wi fi was very spotty at best.

Response from the owner Rhea, I went over to your place at 8am with fresh chocolate dipped strawberries only to find you had already left. Sorry I missed you. I wanted to know if the Desert View Ranch internet was better once we gave you that new code? Let me know. Later that day someone suggested resetting the Desert View Ranch router and now it is working wonderfully. We hope you had a great time here. -Joyce We were dissatisfied with the wi fi that you had promised in the ad for your place. We enjoyed the nearby hiking and desert museum near the national park. Thanks for your hospitality. -Rhea Rhea, Sorry about the wifi. So when I gave you the new code it did not work for that router? I know it was working well for me but the code was already programmed in my computer. Sometime either before you left or after you left the router quit working and then someone suggested unplugging it and plugging it back in. Now it is working wonderfully. Again, my apologies. -Joyce Rhea, This is one of our most enjoyed casita and the wireless internet was working beautifully for the previous guest who spent hours working on his computer revising his website for the Gem Show during his 3 week stay. The other guests in our other casita said it worked great for his entire month long stay when he left on March 1st. He always had a strong signal. I know when I took my laptop over there on the north patio of the your casita (which is farther away from the router) it worked great for the whole time while I was testing it out so I thought it was your computer that was having a problem. The password is saved in my computer so I did not have to enter in that code. It is not good that I gave you the wrong password for the closer router when you arrived and for that we apologize. I did not realize it until I talked to the tech the second time who set the system up with 2 wifi’s. When I did give you the correct password I had hoped you would let me know if it did not work for the remainder of your 9 day stay. So I thought you were happy that you were connected to the wifi that was closer and stronger. Sometime during the 3 days after I gave you the correct password and your leaving town the new router closest to you stopped working. The next guest that came in the day you left suggested that we reset the router, which we did and now it is working great. I am sorry that this negatively affected your opinion. We have spent a lot of effort setting up 2 wifi’s for everyone to use and unfortunately the one that you could connect to was a little farther away and not as strong, unless you are outside in the south courtyard. The other one is working great now. These are wonderful casitas and we want to make sure our guests have a wonderful vacation experience. If you have any questions please contact us and we will be happy to address your questions. -Joyce

“Relaxing stay”

Reviewed 20 Dec 2010

Upon arrival we were cordially greeted and shown to our room for the next couple of days. The room was very clean with appealing fixtures that were all kept in tip top condition. We had great weather to sit out in the sun with the trees surrounding us on the patio. Probably within 2 miles there were grocery stores and resturants, so we did not have to travel to far. There were shopping malls, theaters, etc. Throurghly enjoy the stay and would do so again in a heart beat if given the opportunity.

“Total relaxation”

Reviewed 18 Dec 2010

The main reason we wanted to visit Tucson at this time of year, besides the great weather, was to just relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. This studio was just the ticket. You're within a few minutes of grocery stores and pharmacies, and not too far from entertainment like the Gaslight Theatre and movie theaters, but you're far enough from the city and roads that there is no noise at all. The property isn't actually inside Saguaro National Monument, but you're surrounded by saguaro cactus, palo verde trees, and mesquites, and occasionally you'll see a family of javelina or quail. It's a really fun experience if you enjoy southwestern wildlife and landscape. The studio is very comfortable and recently updated. Overall, a great way to get away.

“Relaxing and Rejuvenating”

Reviewed 15 Dec 2010

We arrived later than expected but were greeted kindly and they even helped us bring in our luggage. The place was recently remodeled so everything is in brand new condition. It had everything we needed. During our week long stay we enjoyed the beautiful sunrises and breathtaking colors of our sunset views. It's away from the city so at night the stars put on quite a show. We love to bike and this is 1/2 mile away from our favorite ride - the Saguaro National Monument East Loop. We came down to ride in El Tour de Tucson bike race held every Saturday before Thanksgiving. I went running one morning and had the option of road, dirt or wash running and I got to enjoy the desert landscape. We wish we could have stayed longer to go hiking at the end of Speedway which is only a 1/2 mile drive away. This place was very secluded and quiet. Both my husband and I enjoyed our time staying here and will definitely visit again soon. Thanks Joyce!

“Beautiful Studio in the Tucson Foothills”

Reviewed 8 Dec 2010

My wife and I stayed here for Thanksgiving while visiting family and loved out stay. The studio was recently remodeled and is very nice on the inside (and out)! The bed was extremely comfortable, the internet was adequate, you're right next to the recently re-finished pool (as in, the pool is 5 feet away from your door). It is located in a beautiful desert area of Tucson with views of the Catalina and Rincon Mountain ranges. My wife and I went on a morning hike in the Rincon Mountains that starts only two and a half miles down the road. We even took out the road bikes and went for a bike ride through the nearby Saguaro National Monument loop, which was way fun. All in all, the studio is very nice, clean, and elegant and is located in a beautiful location in sunny Tucson arizona.

Review 1-10 of 19

Also consider


50,671 properties


18,577 properties


10,273 properties


8,591 properties


4,084 properties


2,917 properties


2,497 properties


2,238 properties


1,955 properties


1,197 properties


1,122 properties


782 properties


476 properties


376 properties


241 properties


229 properties


187 properties


168 properties


156 properties


51 properties

Start a new search