from $145 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 1 bedroom house in Black Mountain today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a deck, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $715 to as high as $1066, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 21, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Black-mountain,-north-carolina Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Linen provided
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Smoking allowed
– based on 13 reviews
- Very Good
the place was clean and nice size. The drive up and the driveway were discouraging. I could not drive up myself my husband had to always drive.
Our experience at the cabin we r disappointing. We had a good time visiting w/our old friends in Candler but had some problems at the cabin that were not addressed. The website stated there would be satellite &I; there was not. I communicated this immediately upon arrival but was met with apathy by the agent. Also we invited our friends in the area to grill out &I; found the grills tank completely empty &I; the grill was so incredibly dirty &I; full of mold that it took my husband a couple of hours to clean it. We purchased another tank of propane & had our friends over. I filled out the info /comment sheet &I; left it on the table but its been several weeks now &I; no one has ever addressed my complaints. Nor did anyone ask about our stay when I turned in the key. I have no plans to use Greybeard in the future. We come to this area several times a yr &I; always rent a cabin. This was our first experience at w/Greybeard.
Response from the manager Elizabeth, We all at Greybeard Realty/Rentals feel so bad about your disappointing experience staying with us. This is not a typical review we get. Our amenities are listed as cable/satellite and we realize now the confusion that can come with that and are going to change the wording so it is no longer just either/or. The house had Charter cable, but not satellite. We, however, never want to be apathetic when it comes to guest services...sorry. About the grill....that should not have been empty and dirty. We are on call 24/7 and have extra full propane tanks here at our office just in case this happens. I wish we would have known because we would have run one up to you right away. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate you taking the time to send us this review. We honestly are so sorry that your experience with us wasn't great. We care so much for our guests and take it as our mission to be sure that they have a great vacation in one of our homes. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. Our Apologies, The Greybeard Rentals Staff
Pro:This cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. It was great we could bring our dog along on our vacation. Con: The cabin was very remote .. scary remote. The entry way and parking were a challenge. I have a full size pickup and had to back out of the somewhat lengthy driveway. Cabin was billed as being airconditioned. This consisted of one very loud window unit.
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback. Some of these mountain homes do have long, sometimes steep, gravel drives. We try to match our renters with a cabin or house that fits their needs. We are sorry if this wasn't exactly what you had in mind. The house is only about 2 miles from Black Mtn, but those mountain roads do make if feel more remote. About the air conditioning...we have now included the fact that it is a single window unit in the description. We are always looking for ways to improve our renters' experience so feedback like this is very helpful. Thanks for taking the time to leave it. Glad you liked the cabin itself and were able to bring your dog. Thanks, Greybeard Staff
“Secluded cabin in a great location”
We enjoyed our stay at abalone. The owners have done a beautiful job with the cabin and we wouldn't change anything. We happened to visit during some extremely cold weather, so we did have some trouble staying warm - but the weather was unusual. The location was great for us, close to my Mother's retirement commmunity. It's close by, but still has a "private" feel.
“Nice location, couches need to be cleaned”
Everybody in our group was sneezing from something inside the cabin, and we think it was something in the couches. The location is superb. It's close to downtown Black Mountain so it's easily accessible to everything you need, but it's hidden away in the woods so when you're in the cabin itself, it seems secluded. We loved that the kitchen came with everything we could possibly need and more.
Response from the manager Thank you for your comments. We have fowarded your concerns to housekeeping. We hope you will return in the near future.
“Great alternative to Montreat Housing”
Abalone is a fanastic little place near the heart of Black Mountain and not much further from Montreat. It offered the right amount of space for a small group of three attending a conference at Montreat. Without the extra expense of meals at the conference center, we saved almost $500. It provided a nice getaway from the crowded campus and access to grocery stores, restaurants and I-40. The sound of highway traffic was a small minus, but well worth the comfort and beauty of the house.
Overall the house was great! My husband is a chef and was very pleased with how well the kitchen was equiped. The one resomendation we would make is the driveway is very difficult to manuever. We got stuck and had to call aAa and the driver who came said he had been the address 17 times in the past year. I think the drive xlosest to the house needs to be graded more to make the surface flatter and easier to manipulate when loading and unloading.
“Go back in time”
My experience was like going back in time to my grandmother's home. Clean, simple, comfortable, quiet. A great location where you feel the privacy, and yet so close to Black Mountain and many attractions. The owners are very accommodating, and the beds make you sleep until 10 a.m. if you do not set your alarm!
“Not what I expected...”
I reserved Amethyst cottage for two nights in December, when I arrived, the driveway was not plowed (snow was almost a week prior) and there was nowhere safe to park on the narrow country road. Called Greybeard and they suggested visiting Abalone instead, which was closer to town. I wouldn't have minded in spring or fall, but the place was a little too rustic for 20deg nights in winter. Lukewarm showers and feeble baseboard heaters didn't cut it for the wife and I that night. Greybeard was unable to get the driveway of Amethyst plowed the second day either, so I had to buy a shovel at the hardware store and clear the damn thing myself. After climbing up the icy driveway, Amethyst cottage was very nice though. The folks from Greybeard were super polite on the phone, but not very effective in making good for the customer. I would rent from them again, so long as there is no chance of snow on the ground.
We really loved the cottage and the chance to spend a few days with our dog and away from a busy life. My only negative was the lack of curtains/blinds on the windows and doors. I felt very vulnerable at night and even though the cabin was adorable and very clean I would probably choose a different cabin next time. Everything else was great. I really loved the kitchen shelves.