Need more information about booking Property 4030365 ?

from $260 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 4 / Sleeps 8 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Sleeps: 8  Type: House
Seaside Hideaway
TripAdvisor property ID 4030365

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Southern Shores today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 23 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1295 to as high as $4395, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Jul 21, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks
Calendar last updated:
21 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Southern-shores Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)


  • Dishwasher
  • Stove


  • DVD player


  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (23)

Very Good – based on 23 reviews Very Good
23 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Not up to par”

Reviewed 9 Aug 2015

While the location is great, the house itself is lacking. Maintenance is not up to snuff, nail heads are sticking out all over the walkway and fences and handrails. Electric plugs are not grounded (3 pronged). This could be easily fixed. No beach chairs, pool toys, anything provided to make pool and beach use immediate. Shower drains need to be unclogged, how much effort does that take? We reported this the first day, it was never resolved. Grill is not maintained, propane was empty and ignition is broken. Just minor stuff that can be taken care of. Apparently, not big deal to owners, once they have your $$, they are done with you

Response from the manager Thank you for posting a review; we regret the issues that you experienced. While we make every effort to be proactive in pointing out maintenance items to our owners, so that either they or us can address them, we regret that they remained problematic. We have mentioned the lack of pool and beach toys to the owner in hopes that they will add them. It is always frustrating when the propane for the grill runs out...usually right in the middle of grilling dinner! We hope that you will return for another OBX vacation soon!

“Family fun time”

Reviewed 19 Jul 2014

The house was spacious. Loved having three bathrooms. Not as clean as I would prefer, but not bad. A few minor things but it's never as good as home. Loved being right on the beach and loved the pool. The grill was dirty, inside and out,didn't even want to use it.

Response from the manager Thanks for your review...we are pleased that you and your family had a fun time! I have forwarded your comments regarding the cleanliness to our housekeeping manager, as she and her staff do take each comment seriously. We hope that you will stay with us on your next OBX vacation!

“Great vacation spot!!”

Reviewed 12 Sep 2013

The place was had charm. I would recommend this place to anyone! The only down side would be the ants but beside that we will definitely stay there again. The location could not be beat!

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. (We do regret the ants though!) Please come back to stay with us soon!

“Cute House - Bad Customer Service”

Reviewed 30 Aug 2013

This is the second time we've rented this particular property. We like a lot of things about the house, obviously - or we wouldn't have come back a second time. The house, itself, has a lot of good things going for it - right on the beach, nice pool, wonderful deck overlooking the ocean, perfect location near Kitty Hawk and Duck. It really is in desperate need of a facelift, however - the furniture is very, very tired (and stained in some instances - see the light brown stains on the living room sofa) and the decor is vintage 1960s...the owners need to understand that some money invested toward the improvement of their property could actually result in more money down the road. The landscaping leaves much to be desired, too. The biggest problem we had this year was not with the house, however - it was with atlantic Realty. We paid for early check-in, but were told two hours before our check in time that we could not check in (we had to call the company, they gave us no notification of the fact that we were not able to check in early). Their "property manager", Brenda, informed us that the house "smelled of urine" and they had to clean the furniture and carpets. I asked to speak to the owner, Myra. I asked Myra if there was any possible way the realty company could switch us to a house that did not "smell of urine". She told me "no" and said they were cleaning the carpets and furniture, which should be sufficient. She escorted us on a walk-through of the house and offered to buy Glade Plug-Ins and candles to mask the damp furniture and urine smells. When she brought the Plug-Ins to the house, she failed to buy the electric adapter that made them operational. A perfect ending to a really unacceptable customer service experience (the only exception was their repairman who was prompt in fixing the television). We won't be back to this property because of atlantic Realty - which it too bad, since the house is pleasant and has real potential.

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We do regret the issues that the prior guests caused to delay your early check-in, and as we and most, if not all, of the vacation rental companies were fully booked, we really did not have the option to move you. Obviously refunding the ECI fee and having the carpets and upholstery cleaned was not the perfect solution to you, however, it was our only recourse. We do apologize for these issues! We have passed along your suggestions to the owner and we also encourage all of our owners to give back to their properties, maintaining and upgrading are indeed important to all of us. We thank you for your patronage and regret the lack of service that you experienced with us. We would welcome the opportunity to provide excellent service on a future OBX vacation…always our goal even though at times we may fall short for one reason or another.

“Awesome Home !”

Reviewed 15 Aug 2013

My family decided fairly late in the year to find a beach house to accommodate our family and two small dogs. Out of nowhere came this website and this house, and I grabbed it without hesitation. I was definitely not disappointed!! We fell in love with the house, and the location, and have already booked it for next year. It is not a fancy home, as are a lot of the newer rentals, but it is homey, has everything you need, is on the ocean, and met all of requirements for our beach vacation. Thanks for our Seaside Hideaway!

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. Please stay with us again soon!

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times...”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2013

You cannot beat being right on the beach with a pool where we could bring Fido-finding a small home with those amenities in the Southern Shores/Duck area is difficult,so Seaside Hideway has few rivals in this part of OBX.And we were willing to pay a premium for that.And it is an adorable home,if you like old fashioned charm.Cute decor, really nice bathrooms.For all those reasons,I would probably be tempted to rent it again.However,owner needs to spend a few days in the property to see it from the renters perspective.A gas grill wonderful,except there were no grilling tools.A screened porch,wonderful But it had no lighting and no furniture save a few really old dirty plastic chairs. A beautiful inground pool Wonderful But my husband had to change all the light bulbs around the deck so we could use it at night.Enough pots to open a restaurant, but only two old pans, small and smaller.I couldn't even fry bacon.The pictures of the house hide the cement path/stairs leading up to it-horrible and certainly not up to code-really dangerous and you have to drag your luggage up them.How windy is it right on the beach? So how important is it for the screen doors to be aligned so they actually close? Not.Why did we have to find the breakers to get all the electric working? And if it rains,the front of the house by the garage,floods so badly you need an ark to get in or out. Oh, I forgot to mention-the glass table top was cracked when we got there,someone came to fix it on Tuesday, said he needed someone to help him, and never came back the rest of the week.If I had small children, or really drunk folks, it would have been dangerous. As it was, we were all old, smart and sober enough to avoid the glass that could easily have sliced a finger. All that said, I had a wonderful vacation and I'm glad I chose this house. I guess I just felt that, with paying a premium price, I should not have been able to find sooo many problems with it. If you're picky, don't choose this house.

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We regret the issues that you experienced with this property while ‘vacationing’ here! I have gathered some information to assist with some sort of explanation for you and us: Most if not all of the issues that you mentioned were addressed with the owners during the property and housekeeping managers’ pre-season walk-through. As the owners live close by, they prefer to handle the maintenance themselves, making a list of the issues/suggestions. Obviously, some of these items were not taken care of (we have a “required items checklist” on file) in spite of same. So the disconnect here is in the follow up with the follow through. We have had a staff meeting to discuss this and implement/ improve things going forward. In regard to the glass top that was broken by the departing guest before your arrival, it is true that the glass company advised us to keep the glass in place (it is very heavy with no sharp edges) as it was safer and better to do so until the replacement was delivered. However, this should have been communicated to you for your understanding. With all of this being said, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your vacation and this house in spite of these issues and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next OBX vacation!

“So many memories.”

Reviewed 14 Jun 2013

Our first visit to this house, my grandson took his first steps there. We've had two awesome vacations in this house and will be back for more.

Response from the manager Thanks for posting! We are pleased that you have had "two awesome" vacations in this house and have shared some fond memories! Please come again soon..make more memories with your grandson and family!

“Home away from home”

Reviewed 6 Jun 2013

Seaside hideaway was just perfect for our family of 6. Everything was clean and organized. The pool and ocean right out your back door was another plus! Very nice very homey and comfortable! We enjoyed it.

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. Please come again!

“Family Gathering”

Reviewed 12 Sep 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in you home. Great gathering room for the family which includes our family dog. It was so nice to be able to go from the beach and then up to the pool area for lunch around the pool. Coffee on the observation deck in the early morning was so nice and peaceful.. The terrace step leading up to the house, one is in desperate need for repair, so slanted it is dangerous...overall this is an older home that has been updated and furnished to give you a very nice and comfortable vacation.

Response from the manager Thank you for posting! We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you on your next OBX vacation. We have repaired the terrace step issue...thank you for bringing this to our attention!

“Pure Relaxation - with a few caveats”

Reviewed 6 Sep 2012

The house is ideally located on a very nice section of beach - uncrowded and clean. The private pool is great and the house is comfortable. A few items you should be aware of: 1) The house is old and sorely in need of updating - things as simple as new carpet/flooring, new cabinets in the kitchen, etc. would make this house much more appealing; 2) I found atlantic Realty to be a bit inflexible when it came to early check-in/late check-out. Perhaps the rental company needs to hire additional cleaning staff to cover unexpected requests for early check-in (4:00 pm is pretty late, after all). 3) The grounds around the house are really shabby. While I appreciate rustic landscaping, this was a little ridiculous - the owner and rental company should invest in a few ways in which to spruce up the exterior of the home. 4) For a $105 linen fee, I think the beds should, at the very least, be made when you arrive. Pretty chintzy, in my opinion. With this said, the location, pool, and beach overrode the negatives of the house.

Response from the manager Thank you for posting...we do appreciate your comments and I have forwarded the issues to the property managers. We do encourage our property owners to keep their houses updated and well maintained. It is regrettable that we can only accommodate a certain number of early check-ins on change-over days. This coupled with late check-outs only allows a small window of time to be 'guest-ready' by 4 p.m....we understand you are ready to get here and not so anxious to it should be! We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation...please come again!

Review 1-10 of 23

Also consider

Outer Banks

1,651 properties

Topsail Island

911 properties


745 properties

Emerald Isle

609 properties


212 properties

Holden Beach

208 properties

Atlantic Beach

136 properties

Hatteras Island

108 properties

Pine Knoll Shores

71 properties

Indian Beach

67 properties

Kure Beach

59 properties


56 properties

Sneads Ferry

51 properties

Bald Head Island

50 properties

Oak Island

26 properties


11 properties


10 properties

New Bern

10 properties


9 properties


6 properties

Start a new search