Need more information about booking Property 4104639 ?
From $499 / night help
Total guests, approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 7 / Bathrooms 3 / Sleeps 22 / Lodge
Bedrooms: 7  Bathrooms: 3   Sleeps: 22  Type: Lodge

3 Unknown types

Grande Butte Lodge | Hocking Hills
TripAdvisor property ID 4104639

More Property Details

Book this 7 bedroom lodge in Laurelville today! A total of 22 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 5/5 thanks to an average of 12 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $3594 to as high as $7669, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 70% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 18, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Old Man's Cave Chalets
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:16:00, Check out time:11:00
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Laurelville Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)


  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill
  • Patio


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 3 Unknown types


Reviews (12)

Excellent – based on 12 reviews Excellent
12 reviews

Very Good

“20 Scrapbookers love the space!”

Reviewed 13 Sep 2011

Scrapbookers have spent a long September weekend at Old Man's Caves Chalets for 11 years now. Our first weekend was the September 11th and each year we remember and light a candle for our fallen. Several years now we've had 19-20 and Grande Butte has become the only lodge large enough to hold us all! We love the space and appreciate maintenance's support in setting up tables and chairs for us. Morning scrappers love the mist, the deer and turkey sightings. Several of us love the walk down the hill but most struggle back up! Our creative abilities are inspired by good views, good nights of sleep, good naps, good food and good friends, and even good rivalry where the football games and variety of tastes in music are concerned! We love the potential of WiFi. Thank you for having us again and again and again! See you next year!

“Perfect Lodge for a Large Group”

Reviewed 10 May 2011

I rented this lodge for a weekend Mancation and it worked out great. The pictures of the place don't do it justice-- it is quite huge with (11) total beds. Here are the pro and cons: pros: Very large, well maintained, on the top of a hill with a good view, pool table & jacuzzi, 2 fridges, 2 big screens, and a chair or couch about every 5 feet. cons: Cost ($700/night), it was about 50 feet away from what appeared to be some local's house on the top of the hill (with cars coming and going), hot water smells like sulfur, there is only 1 bathroom downstairs (with 7 of the 11 beds down there), and we couldn't get the downstairs dvd player to work. All in all, it was a great stay-- we hiked the trails, played poker and went fishing at Lake Logan. I'd recommend this to anyone with a large group of between 10-15 people.

“We enjoyed the convenience of our own pool and hot tub”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2010

We selected Old Man's Cave b/c the travel distance from our home was less than 4 hrs. and we have married children who could not stay the extended time and that was convenient for them. We love to do hikes at the caves in the aMs and then enjoy leisure time by the poolside in the afternoon and BBQ for supper.

“From the Grand Butte”

Reviewed 21 Apr 2010

The lodge was wonderful. The layout worked well for the tasks we anted to accomplish while we were there and the whirl pool/hot tub was a great way to end the day. Unfortunately the pool wasn't open yet but we understood that was likely to be the case going into the weekend. The kitchen was more than adequate and the beds were comfortable. For what we got the rates were very reasonable. I would recommend the site to anyone.

“Awesome Weekend!”

Reviewed 4 Apr 2010

Had an awesome weekend! Lodge was beautiful, very spacious and roomy. Ameneties were excellent, had everything we needed. Looking forward to returning - next time when the pool is open!

“The Grande Butte is AMAZING!”

Reviewed 20 Mar 2010

My extended family rented the Grande Butte over a weekend. It was our first gathering together in quite a while, and the comfort of the Grande Butte really made our weekend. The website pictures and other customer reviews, although helpful, do not do the place any justice! The amount of space, clean/up-to-date decor and thoughtfulness of the amenities were beyond belief! We really enjoyed the separate bedrooms, as it gave some of the families with younger children privacy and a place to go for some peace and quiet. We had enough people to fit all the beds, yet it did not feel crowded at all! We will definitely stay at the Grande Butte again and reccomend it to anyone. Great things to know: 1) Kitchen is better equipped than most rental facilities. There are many helpful tools for cooking, i.e. pots and pans, mixing bowls, baking sheets, blender, crock pot, coffee pots, measuring cups, etc. Anything you may have forgotten is likely in this kitchen! (We recoomend bringing extra plastic plates/utensils/cups if there is an extra large group of people). 2) The unit has a dishwasher and washer and dryer, and the soaps are provided- these came in extra handy! 3) Things you WILL need to bring: paper towels/napkins, salt and pepper, coffee filters, siran wrap/aluminum foil. 4) In addition to the standard side-by-side refrigerator and freezer in the kitchen, there is a deep freezer chest in the kitchen, and another fridge/freezer combo on the bottom floor. The only real "con" of the Grand Butte is getting there can be a little tricky in the dark. Make sure you have good directions, especially since the sign marking the location is only visible from one direction of the road. Unfortunately it was also rainy while we were there (this didn't stop us from having a good time though!), so I can't make any comments about the outdoor activities in the area. If you are thinking about renting the Grande Butte, I strongly encourage it and hope you enjoy it too!

“fun weekend”

Reviewed 7 Mar 2010

What we loved most of all was the main floor was an open plan. It allowed 14 dear friends to hang together in comfort. We ate around the kitchen island. The views were very nice. The privacy was special also. Close to area attractions. Went to Conkle's Holler and Cedar Falls. Enjoyed both the gas fire place and wood burning fireplace. Would of like the wood burning to have been in the great room but downstairs was fine. Some suggestions - add another bathroom downstairs. One bathroom for 8 adults was just a little challenging. Also an extra stove upstairs would facilitate a little extra flexibility for gourmet meal making. A little later check out time on Sunday would be especially appreciated for those of us who had to drive a long ways for just barely 40 hours - maybe 3 pm.

“A wonderful family vacation.”

Reviewed 4 Feb 2010

My family really enjoyed the Grande Butte Lodge. We loved all of the amenities and the setup of the cabin. There was more than enough space for all of us. We had a chance to play games and eat together as a family. Some of the family took a nature walk and some decided to just relax by the fireplace. The cabin was very clean, with no complaints. We loved the decorations and the men really enjoyed the pool table. The caretaker was very friendly and made us feel at home. I have told all of my friends about the cabin and told them that it was an experience that they will never forget.


Reviewed 4 Nov 2009


Response from the manager Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the the Grand Butte ...we are happy you enjoyed your time and hope the "Mouse in the House" didn't affect you too much! Mice are sometimes a problem in this wooded area. For future reference, our maintenance staff is very helpful and if you need them to come out for any issues you have with our properties, they are happy to assist you!... Thank you so much.

“An escape from the day to day stress”

Reviewed 23 Sep 2009

We had an absolute wonderful time. Tommy from Maint was wonderful and friendly and we started to look forward to his daily visits to check the hot tub chemical readings. The lodge was updated, well stocked kitchen, towels and CLEAN !!!! What a great surprise. I usually end up cleaning most places before moving our personal belongings into a lodge, cabin, etc. Therefore, the vacation started off PERFECT for me. With the lodge having its personal pool table, swimming pool and hot tub, there were 2 days that we did not go anywhere. We played pool, read books and played board games. Good quality family time. The lodge was near local attractions such as, Zip line Tours, Conkles Hollow, Old Mans Cave, etc. that we visited on the other days. Also, we had a couples massage from Jen at Personal Touch - you have got to do this !!!! We will be back and have already referred friends and family

Review 1-10 of 12

Also consider


44,548 properties


16,634 properties


9,766 properties


8,495 properties


3,362 properties


2,646 properties


2,338 properties


2,189 properties


1,479 properties


1,118 properties


1,095 properties


840 properties


527 properties


424 properties


303 properties


296 properties


258 properties


194 properties


159 properties


61 properties

Start a new search