Need more information about booking Property 4294461 ?
Very Good

1 / 15 Sitting area

From $126 / night help
Total guests,

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Apartment
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1   Sleeps: 2  Type: Apartment

1 Full bath

Large Silver Lake foothills studio with huge deck


Large, well-lit,fully-furnished and -equipped studio (approximately 630 sq') with a huge outdoor deck overlooking a tree-lined garden in in the foothlls of Silver Lake. Quiet, comfortable, private, and secure. Less than five minutes from the 2 and 5 freeways (Fletcher entrance), 10 minutes from downtown LA, 15 from Hollywood.

"Silver Lake takes the top spot on Forbes’ inaugural list of America’s Best Hipster Neighborhoods. Nestled between Echo Park and Los Feliz, the trendy community boasts some of the nation’s most lauded food trucks and farmers markets, a multicultural blend of residents with eclectic professions, and a booming arts scene. Even the buildings exude an avant garde aesthetic a hipster could love: Silver Lake is home to some of the most celebrated modernist architecture in the country, including Richard Neutra’s VDL Research House and John Lautner’s Silvertop."

Silver Lake Suite has a large room with separate kitchen and bathroom. Full-sized bed with Sealy mattress, berber carpet and hardwood floors. Dinnerware, cutlery, utensils, cookware, linens, paper goods, and cleaning supplies provided. All inclusive. (Extra bed(s) with bedding and towels can be provided for larger parties.)

Heat and A/C, high-speed WiFi (b/g) cable Internet, 27" TV/DVD/VCR with cable, and portable stereo/CD/cassette. Fee (non-reserved) street parking. No pets or indoor smoking please.

TripAdvisor property ID 4294461

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom apartment in Los Angeles today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 30 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $799, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Dec 12, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

David M.
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 Dec 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish



Check in time:10:00, Check out time:14:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $150.00
Yes, smoking allowed
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Los-angeles Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet


  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV
  • Video player


  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Shared garden


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 1 Full bath


Reviews (30)

Very Good – based on 30 reviews Very Good
30 reviews

Very Good

“Nice Stay at Silver Lake Studio”

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Studio is located near to Beverly Hilly and West Hollywood (10 min). The neighborhood seems safe and "normal". Nearby is a Ralphs supermarket, a gaz station and some rataurants( all 2 min) . Judith was a very friendly host and the suite is comfotable and very clean. the kitchen is functional and we found everything wee need. Salt, Peper, aluminium papaper, Ba gs ... all the little things nobody wants to buy for 1 week or 2. Kitchen and Bath paper, very good towels etc. etc. we are very happy that we took this suite. It was a pleasure to have breakfast on the big terasse/balcony, listening to birds . a green oasis in a big big city...

“Perfect location, excellent hosts”

Reviewed 14 Oct 2013

Moving from Brooklyn to Silver Lake and needed a place to stay in the area that wouldn't break the bank. This place is a gem, David and Judith are the sweetest hosts you could ask for. Apartment is in the perfect location for visiting friends in Silver Lake, Echo Park and Los Feliz. And it's walking distance to the reservoir, Silver Lake Coffee and Red Lion Tavern. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to future visitors.


Reviewed 27 Sep 2013

Had a wonderful time. Judith was a gracious hostess. We loved the car. Even though parking was a challenge. Only suggestion was a handrail down the steps would be a nice addition.

“Great location!”

Reviewed 26 Sep 2013

This spacious, clean studio is in the perfect location to explore la like a local. It's walking distance to Silver Lake reservoir (great for running), the supermarket, a fruit stand and a tasty Vietnamese restaurant. Silver Lake is the Brooklyn of La-- a fun/trendy/artsy/hipster neighborhood! We found parking in front of the house for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed here, and parked a couple blocks away the last night. Judith was very friendly + offered helpful suggestions for local activities. Loved the large patio and the super fast wifi! Tv/furnishings are a bit out of date, but we didn't mind. Note there are stairs to get to the apartment.

“Fits the Bill! Good location”

Reviewed 24 Jun 2013

This is a sweet studio and very it's centrally locationed between downdown L.A and Univeral city. Great for 2 people. The bed is great! Thanks for everything Judith you let us have our privacy but was there if we needed anything.

“Great apartment in a cool suburb”

Reviewed 25 Apr 2013

My partner and I stayed here in april and really enjoyed ourselves. The apartment is well appointed, spacious and very comfortable. Silverlake is a really great suburb: cool houses, some good shops and not touristy. We took up the opportunity to also hire the car which turned out to also include GPS. That was pretty essential for getting around la. You will need a car at this location. David and Judith made our stay pleasant and all the correspondence was clear, prompt and friendly. We highly recommend this apartment if you would like a relaxed stay in la in a great area.

“Landlady Ruins an Otherwise Great Place”

Reviewed 3 Apr 2013

We have stayed here on two occasions. The first time was fine. The 2nd time, the landlady has pretty much ensured that I will never rent this place again. Everything about this place is fine but unfortunately, the customer experience was greatly lacking. We originally thought this place would be ok for two toddlers but no longer think so due to the many calls from the land lady. Once, she called because my kid was jumping around. I get it. That's annoying. But if she could hear the jumping, she could also hear us trying to get him to stop. (Which he did.) 2nd, we had a light on in the hallway and she called at 10:45pm about our outside light shining into the neighbors and if we would read, it's all in the manual. I was on the phone with her trying to find the outside light until finally, I realized it was an inside light. When I read the manual, turns out my light was fine after all. She did apologized for the call when checking out (but not for her mistake!). Lastly, the owner gave me different deposit and payment instructions than the landlady was expecting and she said that I should've remembered the instructions from the last time I stayed at this place a year ago. Seriously? I have no problem with her reasons for calling. However the way she spoke was as if I had completely ruined her house or destroyed her property. It's not as if I *wanted* to bother her or upset her. The entire trip, we never felt comfortable as if we could relax or enjoy the place in constant fear of her calling to complain. Did my kid cry in the middle of the night? Step a little too loudly? Talk or laugh in a raised voice? Don't come here if you have kids. Don't come here if you might make any sounds during the normal course of living. Don't stay here unless you want to be constantly wondering if someone is going to call and give you grief in the middle of the night while you are asleep.

Response from the owner Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We're sorry that you chose not to read the Guest Guide we provide (in which the second point describes the lighting controls and outside lights-out time) as that could have saved some trouble for us both. We do not put labels on things or leave signs around the place as we want our guests to feel at home, and so we make contact if we need to inform or remind our guests of the rules of the house or our payment terms (like when after a couple of days after check-in payment has still not been made); likewise if we receive a neighbor complaint about excessive noise or that our garden floodlights are keeping them awake late at night. We will in future be more clear with our guests that payment is expected on the date of arrival, although most of our guests understand that this is the norm for vacation rentals in which a credit card deposit is not taken (and which we did not mention in our advance correspondence with you). For our guests who do not read the Guide or are forgetful, we are installing a timer switch to turn the outside lights off at the appropriate time. We're sorry for the late-night phone call reminder and that we did not consider installing a timer sooner, and so this unfortunate experience has been helpful for us to improve our accommodation and communications. We would like to thank you for your feedback and soften your inconvenience by offering you and your family a complimentary weekend accommodation during your stay on a future trip to Los Angeles.

“Great location! Incredibly fair prices, especially compared to h”

Reviewed 7 Dec 2012

Check-in (2pm) The check-in process was smooth and easy. Location The location of this suite was amazingly convenient! It was very close to several of the major highways in la, had a grocery store and CVS nearby, and was located nearby several restaurants, fast food chains, coffee shops, and local places. The location was our favorite thing about the suite! Suite amenities Basically, it's a converted basement of a home designed to be like a studio apartment. There's a small kitchen with several tiny appliances and things (we didn't use any of them, so we're not sure what works and what doesn't) and kitchen items. There was dining room table with 4 chairs near the kitchen. Right by the dining room table was an oversized chair with matching ottoman and (2) chairs from Ikea. The bedroom area featured a double bed with (2) pillows. Parking It's street parking only at this place. Sometimes you might find yourself a block or two away. The owners have their own driveway and then there's another driveway where their rental car is, but no extra space. Rental car is $20 per day. Suite V. Hotel It was a great location but you've got to keep in mind, people live upstairs! You'll hear their TV, you might hear them talk, and throughout the night you're going to hear them move around, walk around, turn on appliances, etc. It wasn't unbearable but it was noticeable - and when on vacation, you wouldn't cut loose the same at your grandparents house as you would a hotel. So, because we're respectful we didn't want to make any noise or disturb them - something you wouldn't have to worry about at a hotel. Check-out They are strict about your 10am check-out. So much so they'll email you, and try to show up as early as possible. It was very off-putting, all so the maid could come early. Suggestions -Spring for a queen bed! It would absolutely fit and would be so much more comfortable than a double bed. -Give your guests more than (2) pillows -Be flexible with check-out time

“Great place in handy location”

Reviewed 26 Oct 2012

We felt the picture did not do justice to the apartment. A few minutes drive to Hollywood and other tourist areas it was nonetheless quiet and comfortable. Great to be able to use the outside deck and a good kitchen to cook. The apartment was scrupulously clean and a short stroll to supermarkets, food outlets and several bars/restaurants. We very much enjoyed our stay.

“I totally recommend it!!!”

Reviewed 3 Oct 2012

The reason I booked it was the reasonable price and because I wanted to experience la like a local not like a visitor. The studio is clean, comfortable and spacious. It has everything one needs for a short stay in la and the VW behaved excellent for its old age. David and Judith are simply great hosts. Next time I travel to Los angeles, if the studio is free to rent, it'll my first choice.

Review 1-10 of 30

Also consider


58,543 properties


19,272 properties


11,907 properties


9,441 properties

North Carolina

9,150 properties

South Carolina

8,677 properties


8,522 properties


6,423 properties


5,821 properties


4,873 properties


4,457 properties

New York

4,446 properties


4,443 properties

New Jersey

4,266 properties


3,504 properties


2,964 properties


2,918 properties


2,508 properties

Lake Tahoe (California)

2,269 properties

California Desert

2,233 properties

Start a new search