B-2 Breakers West, 2BR/2BA Condo, Olde-Fla Charm – Home 4301535 Apartment
- 2 bedrooms
- 5 sleeps
- 2 nights min stay
B-2 Breakers West, 2BR/2BA Condo, Olde-Fla Charm – Home 4301535
- 2 bedrooms
- sleeps 5
- 2 nights min stay
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 0.914 mi
- Swimming pool
- Child Friendly
- Car advised
- Air conditioning
- No pets allowed
- Private garden
Description from owner
Relax in the ambiance of Olde Florida in our comfortable, 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom, 2nd-floor Sanibel condo, located on the Gulf side of quiet West Gulf Drive, just over 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy morning coffee on the screened-in lanai, overlooking lush landscaping and our private swimming pool. Toast Sanibel's glorious sunsets on our shell-filled Gulf beach. Experience the charm that is Breakers West: a family-friendly, 18-unit complex of mirror-image condos, close to shopping, dining and island adventures, yet quiet and peaceful, a world away from noise and crowds.
We're constantly working to "feather the nest" with projects large and small, with frequent additions to the "little niceties" like board games and puzzles, videos, beach chairs and umbrellas. In June, 2019, we added a brand-new KitfchenAid dishwasher. In 2018, we upgraded to high-definition cable TV service and higher-speed internet. In 2017, we installed brand-new, top-of-the-line, Mohawk "Smartstrand Silk" carpeting throughout our condo, and installed new sliding patio-/lanai doors and screening. Our 2nd bedroom now has high-quality, twin-size Beautyrest mattresses. Our kitchen and both bathrooms have quartz countertops; our breakfast-bar doubles as a fine laptop-workstation (if you cannot escape completely from the world of tech!).
Paradise awaits you!
- Great for children of all ages
- No pets allowed
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: King bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Twin beds
Beds in other rooms: Sofa beds
- 2 Attached (ensuites)
- Wireless Internet
- Air conditioning
- Shared outdoor pool (heated)
- Shared garden
- Private garden
- Solarium or roof terrace
- Balcony or terrace
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- Satellite TV
- DVD player
- Hair dryer
- Ceiling Fans
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Housekeeping Included
- Elevator access
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 11:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
- This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- No smoking at this property
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
100% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least two weeks before check-in.
2 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 2 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
--Noise: Have fun, but please be considerate of others! Condo Ass'n rules prohibit loud noise/music after 10 pm.
--Because we do not use the Waterside Inn (next-door) as our rental agent (some Breakers units still do), our guests are not permitted to use the Inn's shuffleboard courts, on-site bike rentals (there are 2 rental shops nearby), pool (we have our own!), or beach-side chaise lounges.
About the owner
Susan And Andrew M.
- Average reply time:
- 1 hour 0 minutes
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 24 Feb 2020
- Years listed:
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
– based on 75 reviews
- Very Good
“Perfect sunsets with comfortable accommodations in great location”
My family of four had a great January getaway at this comfortable condo. We opted to eat in most meals, and found food prep easy in the kitchen, with dinners on the screened in Lanai. Our favorite par… More
“Clean, close to the beach, convenient, and perfect for our family vacation!”
The condo is a few short steps away from the beach. The beach is beautiful, has a plethora of unusual shells, and is very clean. Susan and Andrew were quick to respond to communication. Thank you f… More
“Sanibel - Breakers West”
Ein verspieltes und perfektes Appartement. Nah zum Strand und nur wenige Minuten zu Restaurants und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Sehr zu empfehlen. Gerne wieder.
The condo was very clean and adorable. We were all comfortable. The only negative was the sleeper sofa. The mattress was too thin and you could feel posts In your back.Lucky we brought an air mattress… More
“We loved the condo!”
You will find everything you need at this condo. We loved the very short walk to the beach and enjoyed the pool. Also, we like the Ding Darling Preserve and the Shell Museum. We found excellent restau… More
“Fantastic Week and great accommodations!”
Susan and Andy are very gracious hosts who care as much about your vacation as you do. The condo was very cute and wonderfully spacious for my son and myself. We cooked and went out and it was nice … More
“Wonderful beach condo!”
We loved everything about our stay in Sanibel, starting with this charming condo. We were travelling with 2 teenagers and the condo was perfect for us. It was well-stocked with beach chairs, towels,… More
“Excellent family beach condo for fun and relaxation”
The hosts are fantastic - right from the first moment I contacted them about the condo. They answered my emails promtly and provided us with helpful and detailed information about the property and the… More
The location was great and the owners were very accommodating. The fishing was bad due to the red tide, however the beaches were clean and no stench from the dead dish.
Response from the owner Thanks so much for this kind review! It was a pleasure having you. We very much enjoyed sharing information and updates with you. And we appreciate your taking a chance and giving fishing a try, following this past summer's devastating red tide outbreak, which took a terrible toll on our marine populations. They are slowly recovering. But in the meantime, it's been hard on our fishing-guests. The City of Sanibel did a superb job of restoring the beaches. And the wildlife has made a remarkable (and welcome!) comeback. We're hoping that you, too, will make a comeback to us very soon -- we'd love to have you! Thanks again, best regards -- Susan and Andrew :-)
“My Worst Lodging Experience on Sanibel/Captiva Islands”
I have been coming down to Sanibel and Captiva Islands for about 25 years. This recent stay at B-2 Breakers West was our worst experience. Plus, I have never posted a bad review before this one. Here … More
Response from the owner Thank you for taking the time to review our condo. We will do our best to respond in detail to your extensive comments, but we must say first that we were more than a little surprised by your review. In more than fifteen years of sharing our condo with guests, we have never before received such a thoroughly negative review. We take great pride in our condo -- it is, after all, our home, too -- and in our service, and our responsiveness to our guests' questions and concerns. The dozens of positive reviews we have received over the years would suggest that the vast majority of our guests have been delighted with their stay, and many do return, year after year. We treat any complaint from our guests with the utmost seriousness. We welcome constructive criticism and suggestions, and we give our guests the benefit of the doubt. However, after carefully examining the contents of your review, it is our opinion that almost all of the complaints you make are unreasonable and unjustified. First, and most troubling to us, is Complaint No. (2) that we gave you "no confidence in good communications"; specifically, that you made calls to us prior to your visit which were not returned by us. We have no record of having received any calls from you up til the afternoon of your arrival; had we received your calls, we would certainly have returned them. And more importantly, after your arrival, you remained in our condo for a full week, with multiple means of reaching us, but we heard nothing from you as to any of the matters you now complain of until after your departure. In addition to the telephone, we would also mention that you could easily have contacted us at any time in a number of other ways: TripAdvisor's messaging system, through which we successfully exchanged multiple notes when you booked our condo; emails to us directly; text messages. But for whatever reason, you didn't. The first phone call we received from you was on the afternoon of your arrival. At that moment, Andrew was actually on the phone with the owner of one of our neighboring units who was informing him that, even though we had emailed such information to you previously, you needed the combination to access our unit. He tried to call you back a few minutes later, but you did not answer. He then called again a few minutes after that, but you still did not answer. At that point, he sent you a text including the combination number to access the unit; at the same time, he also asked you in such text to confirm your receipt of such message and that you had checked-in successfully. Shortly thereafter, you did send him a text confirming your receipt of such message and that you had checked-in. Subsequent to the above text-exchange, we did not receive any other communication from you of any kind during your stay. The phone number at which you had reached Andrew is his mobile phone which is constantly monitored throughout the day. This device also maintains a complete and accurate record of all incoming communications, including both calls and texts, and there is simply no record on such device of any further attempted communication from you during your stay after the initial exchange described above. So while you state that you had "no confidence in good communications", this statement is totally without basis; you acknowledged receiving a text from our number on your arrival , which provided you with at least one reliable means to communicate with us -- whether by phone or text -- at all times during your stay. And prior to that time, you exchanged multiple TripAdvisor messages with Susan, and always had that avenue at your disposal, as well. You also complain (in (3)) that our unit lacks a Gulf view, and you conclude from this that we had engaged in "Questionable Marketing" -- a serious allegation that is both untrue and unfair. It is correct that our unit does not have a Gulf view; but then, we never advertise or list our unit as having a Gulf view. Our listing describes our unit as being "Gulf-side." That is entirely accurate: our condo and building are, in fact, "Gulf-side." On Sanibel, "Gulf-side" is the customary term for a property on the Gulf side of the street, with no other streets to cross between the property and the Gulf. It does not mean "Gulf-view," the Sanibel term for "overlooking the Gulf." We never suggested that our unit has a Gulf view. We even provide photos on our listing, showing the lawn-and-pool view from our lanai. Having visited Sanibel for 25 years, you would surely know the difference. If it was important enough to you to complain about the lack of a view later, then you should have inquired about this prior to your stay. In your note you seem to recognize this when you state that "I take responsibility for this." So, while we have no objection to your stating that our unit does not have a Gulf view, since it does not, your suggestion that other renters "should be aware" of this is both unwarranted and unfair since, as described above, we are always scrupulously honest both in our marketing and in responding to inquiries of this nature. Your first complaint, concerning "Cleanliness,” was also disturbing. Your description made our condo sound like someplace we, too, would not wish to visit. Initially, we would mention that the housekeeping service we use for our unit is one of the most experienced and reputable cleaning services on the island. For the most part, they do an excellent job of cleaning of our unit. But more than that, if you found conditions that unpleasant ("the dirtiest place [you] have experienced on the islands"), why did you not contact us during your stay? As discussed above, you could have done so through multiple means, and you had just successfully exchanged text messages with Andrew. Had you done so, the remainder of your complaints could have been addressed and handled immediately. We would have immediately sent in our housekeeping staff to bring the condo up to your expectations, In fact, we would have welcomed the chance to do this. As you can see by our other guest-reviews, your experience was quite the exception. We also did review, after your departure, your specific complaints with our cleaning staff. We were informed that there was some mildew in the shower grout so we are in the process of having this grouting re-done and this problem corrected. Our cleaning staff, however, was not aware of and did not find any spider webs. The other complaints you raise in this regard are minor in nature and again, all of such concerns could have easily been addressed if you had simply communicated any such concerns to us during your stay. You also complained that our two bathrooms are “very small and cramped”. Quite frankly, we are mystified by this criticism. The two bathrooms in our unit are both average size for a Sanibel condo.. And while these bathrooms are not necessarily grand or palatial, they are certainly functional and comfortable. They are also clearly pictured on our listing. We have had countless guests visit our unit during the past 15 years, and never once have we received a complaint of this nature. Similarly, we are surprised by your complaint that our HVAC unit “does not perform efficiently.” This HVAC unit is only a few months old; essentially a brand-new system. If you experienced a problem, you should have contacted us, and we would have had it corrected during your stay. You also complained of an interruption in our television service on one particular day. While we can appreciate your desire to watch a particular program, we believe such complaint to be unfair, as any such interruption would have been the fault of our television provider, Comcast, and would have been entirely outside of our control. Moreover, given that you have been visiting Sanibel for 25 years, we would have expected that you would be all too familiar with the frequent TV-reception problems our island experiences. Fortunately, they are usually of short duration; and the majority of our guests are primarily interested in the beach, the surroundings, and the sunsets. Our guidebook contains detailed instructions for contacting Comcast for assistance; and we, too, are always happy to assist our guests in requesting same from Comcast. But again, as noted above, we need to be alerted; and we were never notified by you during your stay that any such action was necessary. You mentioned that there were certain paintings “missing” and certain holes and chipped paint in the walls. This was the result of damage accidentally done by the guests who left immediately prior to your arrival. We simply did not have time to arrange for the necessary repairs to be done to our walls prior to your visit, and we did not wish to subject you to a contractor's intrusion during your stay. If you felt otherwise, you could have told us, and we would have been glad to have the repairs done at once. We are sorry to hear that you cut yourself on a sharp can-edge. We are a bit bewildered; as the can opener on our kitchen counter it is a year-old model that opens cans by prying apart the glue, and does not cut the can itself, so there should have been no sharp edges. Finally, we must take exception to your concluding comment that our unit is “very overpriced.” The fact is that our rates are lower than most, if not all, of the other rental units in our building; they are also extremely favorable when compared to similar properties on Sanibel. We regret that your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations. We wish you well, and we hope that you are able to find more amenable accommodations in the future.
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Susan and Andrew (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Susan and Andrew (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Susan and Andrew (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Susan and Andrew the owner's contact details or send them a message.
- What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?
Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Susan and Andrew (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then
Or send Susan and Andrew (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.
- What is a booking request?
When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Susan and Andrew (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.
You can also request a quote from Susan and Andrew (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.
- How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?
You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.
- How do I pay for my vacation?
Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Susan and Andrew (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.
If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- Why can't I call Susan and Andrew (the owner) before booking?
You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.
If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.
- How do damage deposits work?
In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.
Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.
- How can I view and manage my booking?
Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.
- How do I pay the balance of my booking?
You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.
We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.
- How can I withdraw my booking request?
You’ll need to contact Susan and Andrew (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.
- How do I cancel my booking?
Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.
- How do I make changes to my booking?
You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Susan and Andrew (the owner) a message.
If Susan and Andrew (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.
Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours