From
$263 / night
Total guests, Nights

Retreat, Relax, Renew at SIERRA ZEN Cabin, Arnold – Home 4463091 House

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 7 sleeps
  • 2 nights min stay

Retreat, Relax, Renew at SIERRA ZEN Cabin, Arnold – Home 4463091

  • House
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 7
  • 2 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Child Friendly
  • Air conditioning
  • Pet Friendly

Description from owner

Description

Retreat. Relax. Renew. Rejuvenate.

The SierraZen Cabin is located in Arnold, California, Calaveras "Gold Rush" County.

Take in one deep breath of the fresh mountain air and you will know that Sierra Zen in Arnold is a place that taps into your soul, captures your heart, and elevates your spirit.

Location:

Arnold is just three hours from downtown San Francisco and two hours from the East Bay. Within minutes to Murphys, Sonora, Big Trees Sequoia State Park, Angels Camp, Jamestown, Columbia, Lake Melones, Lake Alpine, Bear Valley Mountain Resort and many others.

Why Stay with Us?

Whether you simply want to get away or spend quality time with friends, as a couple or as a family, the SierraZen Home awaits--a tranquil, mountain escape in the Sierra Nevadas. Newly-renovated in 2012, a retreat-like home features cozy living room with high ceilings, big picture windows and a fireplace with slate hearth & flooring.

Three (3) Floors - Three (3) Bedrooms - Three (3) Full Baths

Great Layout with separate spaces for privacy even within the cabin

FREE WiFI.

Two decks, jacuzzi spa and expansive very private backyard.

Hammock on the deck for relaxation or a quick nap

Gas BBQ Grill

We want to make sure that you and your party are comfortable in our cabin, so I want to make sure you are familiar with how many beds we have in the cabin.

* Queen Bed in the Master Suite

* Queen Bed in the Guest Bedroom

* Double Bed/rollaway-type in the Family Room

* Bunk Beds (perfect for young kids)

Sierra Zen sleeps two couples with up to four kids if they share the bed or seven adults with two adults to sleep separately on the bunk beds (up and down). If you are two or three families, some kids would have to bring their sleeping bags and sleep on the floor. We do have extra blankets in the cabin. WE DO NOT ALLOW MORE THAN 7 ADULTS.

Board games and DVDs available for use.

Free cable TV, internet and phone land line.

Private driveway far from busy street on a beautiful, nearly ½ acre lot.

Private outdoor parking for up to 4 cars.

Expansive, forest-like backyard.

Sierra Zen Cabin is well-maintained and very clean as the owner is a Hotel Executive of the largest boutique hotel company in California, with over 20 years of experience in the hotel and restaurant industry.

Amenities:

- Serene setting well off the road on a nearly 1/2 acre.

- Gourmet kitchen recently remodeled with center island, granite counters, all brand new appliances

- Slate floors in the main room and kitchen and new carpeting in all areas

- Huge master suite with master bath on upper level with top-of-the-line, queen Sleep Number Adjustable bed, walk-in closet, and picture windows overlooking centuries-old trees

- 3 bedrooms, 3 full baths

- Downstairs is a recreation/family room with own balcony; features Karaoke system, cable tv and DVD player

- Beds to accommodate 7 people (one extra twin bed in the family/recreation room area)

- 300-thread count bed linens

- Free High-Speed, WiFi Internet-access

- Cable Television

- Specious deck wraps around the front, and the hot tub deck overlooks the seasonal creek and backyard.

- Gas BBQ grill

- Very private, set back from busy streets yet walking distance to shops, coffee and restaurants

- Jacuzzi spa on expansive Redwood deck with breathtaking forest views.

- Hammock on the deck

Create memories...at the Sierra Zen Cabin.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King bed
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3: Bunk bed
    Beds in other rooms: Twin bed
  • 3 Full baths

Amenities

  • Air conditioning
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Mountain Views
  • Shared garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Boat available
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Telephone
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $250.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

No refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.

Check-in date

About the owner

James L.
Calendar last updated:
27 May 2020
Years listed:
9
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: French

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Excellent
13 reviews

Excellent
12
Very Good
0
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Relaxing”

Reviewed 30 Mar 2016

Great place to stay - wonderful location - 3 min from Big Trees and 1/2 hour from Bear Valley ski resort. House was clean and well maintained. Realty gave us wonderful info about the area - tons to do… More

Response from the owner Dear Kim, thank you for staying with us. You are one of the best guests we've ever had as you left the cabin clean and took good care of it as if it were yours. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, James

“Well appointed & quiet cabin”

Reviewed 9 Mar 2016

We did stay with 2 kids & 3 adults. We did enjoy the peacefulness of this place, its surrounding & appreciated the fact that we found everything very practical & effortless from the minu… More

“Great Weekend Gateway”

Reviewed 3 Jun 2015

Spent birthday weekend with good friends and enjoyed our stayed at Sierra Zen. Always enjoyed this place!!!

“Excellent vacation home!”

Reviewed 16 Jun 2014

We enjoyed the home very much. It's spacious, with a large deck and kitchen. Perfect for the family vacation. The hot tub was an added bonus that all of us enjoyed. The home was clean and in good… More

“Nice but is losing it's Shine”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2013

Pro's - Updated kitchen and living room as well as most furniture and decor. Great kitchen. Wonderfully quiet location. Dog friendly. Great, large decks, outdoor seating and jacuzzi. Master bedro… More

Response from the owner Dear KCCowgirlLosAngeles, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your candor and be assured that I will use your recommendations to keep Sierra Zen shining. I received a prior email from you and here are some excerpts: "Hi James, We enjoyed your lovely cabin." "It's apparent you have put a lot of thought and heart into the place. The upgrades are so nice and not "cabin-like"." "The only other comment I have is that the full and twin bed mattresses were very firm and I found them uncomfortable. I slept on the sofa which was more comfortable for me. My sister LOVED the sleep number bed in the master suite." The feedback I read here was surprisingly different from your email. Nevertheless, I welcome it as a way to help us improve. I will address your observations: 1) The cabin is not just a rental to us but is also our home. It has most of the amenities of a home compared to the many other mountain cabins I've personally tried and rented, and many of the past SierraZen guests also acknowledge that. Apart from the master bedroom, the other rooms were designed for our young children as we also go up there often. Hence, they still have things there, such as child-patterned sheets especially in the bunk bed room, and the the metallic locker in the downstairs bathroom. My daughter would not want that item "trashed." She keeps her books and art supplies in there when we're up there. The "garage-find" furniture that you referred were not garage finds, but the side table and dresser were painted pinkish purple by my young daughter to match her favorite comforter. You noticed, too, that her painting skills were not up to par, although I thought it could pass for what my wife calls "shabby chic." My wife is especially proud of my daughter's efforts and style, so we are keeping these items. 2) I will remind the housekeeper as well to keep up with the pine needles on the deck especially during changes of the seasons when pine needles are more actively falling between sweepings. I will also remind the housekeeper to make sure the linens match and that they are clean. There is no excuse for overlooking cleanliness. 3) The hot tub is now fixed and we do have a spa person who checks on it once a week for several years now. It was unfortunate that it stopped working during your stay, but malfunctions happen. I can assure you that it is in good working order before any guest checks in. 4) I apologize for the mess the worker left. I, too, was disappointed to hear that he did not clean up after doing work around the house especially before a guest's arrival. I will personally speak to him about this. We have only been actively renting out our cabin to non-family members for the past two years. Even at this time, our cabin remains a home that my family and I enjoy. Now that we share it with guests, we are aware that it is not a part of a hotel chain or a resort with mainstream decor. It will continue to have some quirky family and child-like touches reflective of our family. We do understand that these may not fit every guest's decorative preference but we will continue to strive our best to provide a nice, cozy cabin in the mountains to interested guests. Thank you, James

“Ideal family winter get-away”

Reviewed 25 Feb 2013

Lovely cabin in the woods. The perfect blend of rustic with modern amenities. You can stay in and enjoy peace and quiet of the wooded neighborhood or enjoy the attractions a few minutes away by car.Th… More

“Nice touches everywhere you look”

Reviewed 3 Feb 2013

Staying at Sierra Zen was like coming home. Everything was comfortable, aesthetically pleasing, and easy to use. The house let us enjoy being on vacation while, at the same time, not having to do with… More

“Great family home”

Reviewed 7 Oct 2012

We recently stayed at Sierra Zen, 2 couples, 1 grandmother and one teenager. The place had nice furniture, good beds and was spacious. We all had plenty of room and were able to have times together an… More

“Perfect Zenfullness !”

Reviewed 5 Aug 2012

This place has it all... peace and quiet , space ,trees as far as the eye can see . The main level felt so roomy and was very well appointed . The kitchen is one of the best spots , I love to cook and… More

Response from the owner Thank you, Michael. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the newly-renovated, contemporary kitchen is our favorite spot in our home, too.

“Heaven close by”

Reviewed 16 Jun 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Sierra Zen Cabin. A world away tucked away in the Sierra's with access to so many activities - hiking, skiing, cross country, antiquing in historic towns. Ar… More

Review 1-10 of 13

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with James (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send James (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact James (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view James the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send James (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send James (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to James (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from James (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. James (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call James (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact James (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send James (the owner) a message.

If James (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Big Bear Region

1,249 properties

California Desert

1,161 properties

Mammoth Lakes

868 properties

Lake Tahoe (California)

623 properties

San Diego

588 properties

Orange County

395 properties

Los Angeles

392 properties

San Luis Obispo County

302 properties

Oceanside

170 properties

Solana Beach

133 properties

Yosemite National Park

132 properties

Sonoma County

130 properties

Lake Arrowhead

121 properties

West Hollywood

121 properties

Idyllwild

84 properties

San Francisco

83 properties

Marina del Rey

80 properties

San Jose

80 properties

Beverly Hills

79 properties

Santa Barbara

74 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.