Need more information about booking Property 4635561 ?
From $105 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 4 / Cottage
Bedrooms: 2  Bathroom: 1   Sleeps: 4  Type: Cottage

1 Full bath

Halsecombe Cottage, Porlock - Delightful situation of the edge of Porlock - stun
TripAdvisor property ID 4635561

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom cottage in Porlock today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 8 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $574 to as high as $862, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

The Best Of Exmoor
Response rate:
95%
Calendar last updated:
21 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Policies

Policies

Check in time:15:00, Check out time:11:00
Payment
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Porlock Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Bathrooms


  • 1 Full bath

Reviews

Reviews (8)

Very Good – based on 8 reviews Very Good
8 reviews

Excellent
4
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

“Poor quality accomodation in outstanding countryside”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2016

On arrival we were confronted by steep vertical steps leading up to the bungalow. NO mention was made of this before booking. My husband has had a heart operation adding stents to his arteries. Had we known about the steps we would NOT have booked the accommodation. The general decor inside the bungalow is poor. Old furniture has be painted and re-painted to the point of no longer functioning properly, i.e. 3-drawer chest of drawers in twin-bedded bedroom is one example. The cutlery was ancient and the handles of knives were discoloured with age. On arrival my husband asked the owners about a problem with getting onto the internet. We received the unhelpful reply: 'No-one else has had a problem.' We eventually tracked down the BT hub hidden away in a cupboard and solved the problem ourselves. There is no mention of WHERE the hub is located. The television didn't work unless it was turned off at the mains and then turned on again. Reception was mostly very poor. Scruffy magazines were left in the hallway that should have been condemned months ago. The area is outstandingly beautiful but we won't be returning to the bungalow or recommending it to anyone else. This is our first major disappointment with any accommodation we have ever stayed in on holiday.

Response from the manager Thanks for your time to give a review Jean and I'm sorry you did not think the accommodation was described accurately, the information provided on our website and in this listing says: Due to the situation of the property, the steps and the steep garden, we recommend that the property is not suitable for young children, elderly people or anyone with limited mobility. I will try to make this more prominent for future potential guests. I will pass on your other comments on to the owner however I'm not sure we can do anything about the TV signal, Exmoor is renowned for it's rolling hills, rugged coastline and open moorland, sadly this is a challenge for some modern day conveniences such as mobile phone signal and TV reception. Once again, thanks for your time to give your comments to improve the cottage for future guests.

“Dirty”

Reviewed 15 Sep 2014

Lovely view but sadly all ruined by a very dirty cottage upon arrival. Dog hair all over the place. Sinks, bathtub and toilet not cleaned at all. Damp marks on one wall. Bed sheets not fresh and looked and smelt old. Broken sofa with extremely dusty throws. Not a pleasent stay.

Response from the manager When Tom called to say there was a problems at the cottage, as the business owner I was able visit the property myself. I was glad to be able to meet the customer and see the complaints first hand. I spent about an hour with him chatting about is life story and he pointed about the couple of things he wasn't happy with in the cottage. I have to say I struggled to see the points he was making, but in line with our high standards of customer service I arranged for a cleaner to go back in and I offered some discount for his stay. Tom later called to say he was happy with the service and would book with us again. I was a little surprised when I read this review. I hope future guests can see the next review left by the guests staying to following week totally contradicts the views on the same property. This is a lovely holiday cottage and I would anticipate the next set of reviews will reflect this. Chris

Review 1-8 of 8

Also consider

Cornwall

5,538 properties

Devon

4,019 properties

East Anglia

2,392 properties

Cumbria

1,967 properties

Dorset

1,183 properties

Cotswolds

1,046 properties

East Sussex

1,015 properties

Hampshire

628 properties

Derbyshire

519 properties

Herefordshire

342 properties

Durham

310 properties

Gloucestershire

254 properties

Essex

247 properties

Cambridgeshire

240 properties

Cheshire

228 properties

Buckinghamshire

122 properties

Hertfordshire

109 properties

Bristol

86 properties

Bedfordshire

62 properties

Rutland

45 properties

Start a new search