Need more information about booking Property 4635561 ?
from $102 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 4 / Cottage
Bedrooms: 2  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 4  Type: Cottage
Halsecombe Cottage, Porlock - Delightful situation of the edge of Porlock
TripAdvisor property ID 4635561

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom cottage in Porlock today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 7 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $541 to as high as $812, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 80% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 20, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

The Best Of Exmoor
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
20 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Porlock Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (7)

Average – based on 7 reviews Average
7 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
3
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1
Write a review

“Poor quality accomodation in outstanding countryside”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2016

On arrival we were confronted by steep vertical steps leading up to the bungalow. NO mention was made of this before booking. My husband has had a heart operation adding stents to his arteries. Had we known about the steps we would NOT have booked the accommodation. The general decor inside the bungalow is poor. Old furniture has be painted and re-painted to the point of no longer functioning properly, i.e. 3-drawer chest of drawers in twin-bedded bedroom is one example. The cutlery was ancient and the handles of knives were discoloured with age. On arrival my husband asked the owners about a problem with getting onto the internet. We received the unhelpful reply: 'No-one else has had a problem.' We eventually tracked down the BT hub hidden away in a cupboard and solved the problem ourselves. There is no mention of WHERE the hub is located. The television didn't work unless it was turned off at the mains and then turned on again. Reception was mostly very poor. Scruffy magazines were left in the hallway that should have been condemned months ago. The area is outstandingly beautiful but we won't be returning to the bungalow or recommending it to anyone else. This is our first major disappointment with any accommodation we have ever stayed in on holiday.

Response from the manager Thanks for your time to give a review Jean and I'm sorry you did not think the accommodation was described accurately, the information provided on our website and in this listing says: Due to the situation of the property, the steps and the steep garden, we recommend that the property is not suitable for young children, elderly people or anyone with limited mobility. I will try to make this more prominent for future potential guests. I will pass on your other comments on to the owner however I'm not sure we can do anything about the TV signal, Exmoor is renowned for it's rolling hills, rugged coastline and open moorland, sadly this is a challenge for some modern day conveniences such as mobile phone signal and TV reception. Once again, thanks for your time to give your comments to improve the cottage for future guests.

“Dirty”

Reviewed 15 Sep 2014

Lovely view but sadly all ruined by a very dirty cottage upon arrival. Dog hair all over the place. Sinks, bathtub and toilet not cleaned at all. Damp marks on one wall. Bed sheets not fresh and looked and smelt old. Broken sofa with extremely dusty throws. Not a pleasent stay.

Response from the manager When Tom called to say there was a problems at the cottage, as the business owner I was able visit the property myself. I was glad to be able to meet the customer and see the complaints first hand. I spent about an hour with him chatting about is life story and he pointed about the couple of things he wasn't happy with in the cottage. I have to say I struggled to see the points he was making, but in line with our high standards of customer service I arranged for a cleaner to go back in and I offered some discount for his stay. Tom later called to say he was happy with the service and would book with us again. I was a little surprised when I read this review. I hope future guests can see the next review left by the guests staying to following week totally contradicts the views on the same property. This is a lovely holiday cottage and I would anticipate the next set of reviews will reflect this. Chris

Review 1-7 of 7

Also consider

Cornwall

5,132 properties

Devon

3,900 properties

East Anglia

2,322 properties

Cumbria

1,597 properties

Dorset

1,141 properties

East Sussex

1,015 properties

Cotswolds

869 properties

Hampshire

559 properties

Derbyshire

494 properties

Herefordshire

312 properties

Durham

298 properties

Gloucestershire

274 properties

Cambridgeshire

232 properties

Essex

224 properties

Cheshire

215 properties

Hertfordshire

96 properties

Buckinghamshire

89 properties

Bristol

75 properties

Bedfordshire

71 properties

Rutland

41 properties

Start a new search