From
$1002 / night
Total guests, Nights

VOTED TOP 20 CONDE NAST CARIBBEAN VILLA - 74 STEPS TO BEACH - KIDS TRAVEL FREE – Home 4903328 Villa

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 8 sleeps
  • 5 nights min stay

VOTED TOP 20 CONDE NAST CARIBBEAN VILLA - 74 STEPS TO BEACH - KIDS TRAVEL FREE – Home 4903328

  • Villa
  • 4 bedrooms
  • sleeps 8
  • 5 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Swimming pool
  • Child Friendly
  • Car advised
  • Air conditioning
  • Pet Friendly

Description from owner

Description

Voted amongst the top twenty villas in the Caribbean by Conde Nast Traveler in 2007, Ohana Villa stands apart as one of the most striking places to stay in Tobago and the Caribbean and was designed by one of the Caribbean's foremost architects.

Ohana is a Hawaiian word for family rest-house and the owners’ intention for the house was that the architecture and interior design would successfully entangle the guests in an organic and spiritual way.

The result is that Ohana is indeed ‘a very special place’, a perfect haven of peace and quiet to escape to, with family and friends from the hustle and bustle of city life. The sheer scale of the property provides just the right amount of privacy with luxury, style and barefoot elegance.

This, along with the warm and sincere welcome of our staff ensure that as soon as you arrive, you’ll find the stresses of the city slip away as easily as your shoes at the front door.

Located on the south east corner of Tobago in Bacolet, Ohana enjoys 180 degree views of the Atlantic Ocean. The house is orientated with the prevailing trade winds to keep the house cool. The garden is full of tropical and exotic flowers and fruit, and runs down to a small sandy protected cove, protected by a reef just out in the bay.

Ohana was designed with a Balinese tropical influence and resembles a small

village of tiny houses perched upon a bluff. Four double bedrooms wrap around a large sun deck of two swimming pools, jacuzzi and a large koi fish pond.

Each individually designed bedroom is lavishly furnished with a four poster bed, en-suite bathroom and air conditioning with overhead fans and digital bedroom safes large enough to hold your laptop.

The master bedroom and its huge en-suite bathroom have shuttered windows which open out so that you can shower, take a bath or lounge in the teak four-poster bed while watching pelicans fishing in the turquoise Atlantic.

 

Bedroom 2 has its own veranda, which seems to float over a fish-filled lily pond. It opens out to the gazebo, jacuzzi and two infinity pools – one deep and the other shallow. There is an outdoor shower area which overlooks the koi fish pond.

Bedroom 3 has a small private terrace overlooking the pond, main deck and gazebo.

Bedroom 4 opens out onto a courtyard, a delightful and private tranquil oasis surrounded by clumps of rustling bamboo.

The kitchen is a joy to work in. It is delightfully open and breezy, with two large ceiling fans and Demerara windows on sticks which open to give a view of the perfect little sandy beach below.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a double-door stainless steel fridge with filtered water and ice making facility, plus another large fridge for keeping drinks cool. There is also a large stainless steel gas cooker – and of course a dishwasher. To one side is an open-air barbecue area and on the other a pantry and a utility room with large washing and drying machines.

The vast living room is open to the bay, allowing ocean breezes to work their relaxing charms, but simply wind down the cream canvas shutters to provide restful shade for a snooze on the over-sized teak day beds, filled with plump cushions and bolsters.  Close by four teak armchairs also recline fully to allow you to relax completely. The house is stocked with board games, DVDs and a selection of CDs for times when the view alone is not enough.

Humming birds, blue birds and cocricos fly around the gardens, and you can watch the ornamental koi fish from your hammock whilst sipping a home made rum cocktail. Sample our excellent local or European cooking, or try a fusion of both from our renowned cook, one of the best on the island.

So hard is it to leave Ohana, that even though the stunningly beautiful little island of Tobago is full of enticing activities and day trips, our guests find it difficult to tear themselves away from the house. In fact, many guests never leave the house and wonder why they hired a car.

Worth leaving home for are Tobago’s beautiful waterfalls; one of the oldest rainforests in the northern hemisphere; and for bird enthusiasts, there are over 210 different bird species; as well there are excellent diving and deep sea fishing.

 

1 house manager and 2 housekeepers look after the running of the house and will do as much or as little shopping and cooking as you require. Most guests prefer to do their own grocery shopping, however for those of you that don’t, we will be happy to do it for an additional fee, saving you those extra hours for topping up that tan!

Our housekeepers will cook, serve, and wash up each morning for breakfast as this is included in the daily rate - however all ingredients for breakfast are to be provided by guests.

Other meals can be requested and are charged at 20-30 US dollars per meal – again all ingredients to be provided by guests.

Excellent and highly recommended aromatherapy massages can be arranged for $50 USD.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair

Bed & bathroom

  • 6 Full baths

Amenities

  • Air conditioning
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Children's pool
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Shared garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Waterfront
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Safe
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Telephone
  • Fax machine
  • Hair dryer
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 14:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $800.00
Smoking
Yes, smoking allowed

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

About the owner

Aries B.
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 Sep 2021
Years listed:
7
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Very Good
5 reviews

Excellent
2
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Wonderful Experience”

Reviewed 21 Apr 2019

If you are looking for something different, this is it! It is not perfect, but it sure is paradise! The bedrooms and bathrooms were 5 star with the linens, towels and furnishings. The views from the p… More

Response from the owner Hi Michelle, Thanks for writing this review. Your comment about Ohana being part adventure, part luxury is spot on. Outdoor living in the tropics next to the ocean is a life experience. When you return to the city some people still hear the waves breaking on the beach below. The railings...our local iron man is working on this. These should be installed this week. I will contact you via email to get your input on the hot tub. I hope you can make it back one day! Bye for now.

“Getting a little tired gracefully”

Reviewed 2 Mar 2019

We spent 4 wks in Ohana, apart from concrete foundations the villa is constructed wholly from various hard woods and the sea air is taking its toll. The interior is beautiful and very spacious and th… More

Response from the owner Roger, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It's a battle maintaining Ohana, as any person who has ever owned a wooden sailing boat will tell you. We sand and varnish constantly, and since the villa's completion in 2003, have been working to keep it to an acceptable standard. Our shallow pool is waist high, and perfect for small children to learn to swim in. Guests who visit with toddlers must be aware that a constant eye will have to be kept on their children. When my kids were younger, they had buoyancy aids on most of the time! The deep pool is 6 feet deep, much cooler and a decent depth to be able to jump into. I will speak with our pool guy for the infinity edge, sometimes leaves block the entrance or the tank under the house. Our 20,000 gallon koi pond is filled with moving water, with koi fish, birds and bats eating the bugs. Ohana is a tropical home with open living spaces. Nature shares the tropical living spaces with you and mosquitos are a reminder that nothing in life can ever be perfect! The posts are being replaced as I write this message.

“Beautiful place, but I did not get value for money”

Reviewed 18 Oct 2017

I could write a book on booking and staying at this venue, but I would keep it brief. When I started our enquiry, Aries was pleasant to deal with, but after a few emails and he became the worst perso… More

Response from the owner As unpleasant as it must have been for you to have to write this review, it is also very unpleasant for us to hear that your stay at Ohana was not as you had imagined. I am sorry that I did not get back to you as quickly as was necessary, I was away helping a family member move to another country and my email box overflowed. Since our conception in 2003 we have had numerous pleasant reviews, not just from guests, but from important media press, as our guest & press books will show. The reason for this is precisely as you yourself have mentioned; Ohana is a “very gorgeous” little piece of paradise, due not only to its exciting architecture, but also in combination with its inherent nature of being an entirely open tropical villa, with a 180 degrees aspect overlooking the entirety of the Atlantic ocean, as well as a pretty sandy cove below. As amazing as the above all sounds, our abilities to tame, if not entirely overcome the ongoing battles with the salty sea blasts, nature, and dust that is part and parcel of our every day housekeeping brings its own challenges. Details . . . that we usually try to keep as a behind the scenes and seamless experience as much as is feasibly possible. The salty blasts, the terrific humidity, and the amazing wild life [think tropical fruit eating bats and day-bed upholstery and Egyptian cotton sheets!!], really does keep us all on our toes! Both metal, wooden and fabric elements take such a beating, we have lost track of how many water heaters, pumps, cookers, fridges, microwaves, TV’s, lamps, lighting fixtures, bathroom surfaces etc etc that we are continually having to replace . . . add to that the difficulties of immediately available replacements on an island as small as Tobago! However that is our own ongoing experience of Ohana, and as is clearly demonstrated on our website, Ohana for all the wonderful things that it is . . . is most definitely NOT a sealed-in concrete structure as other traditional plantation houses on the island. Regarding your comment on the lack of hot water, I would like to apologise for the problems you had during your stay. There was a defective water heater and we replaced it immediately ensuring the problem was fixed before you left. When you stay with us, breakfast is cooked by our staff and the kitchen is cleaned afterwards. If the presence of staff is overwhelming, we can reduce the hours of work so that guests have more privacy. There are 2 fridges in the kitchen, and one is used for guests as a backup for storing drinks and for staff to store their lunches while working. I’ve just returned from a regular quarterly visit to the house, we have new luxury linens and towels, and I worked through many areas of the house with our maintenance team. The linen shortage you mention was due to us having to do 3 linen changes in one room in a matter of hours. Having said all of the above, the heartfelt wish of both proprietors and staff has always been for our guests to experience a symbiotic balance of the organic nature of Ohana with the ultimate needs and comforts of our guests . . . and as such,we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience, for any less than optimum experience of this “symbiotic balance” that you may have experienced during your stay. Our efforts are forever ongoing in regards this special and lovable house that is Ohana . . . and we sincerely hope that you may be able to forgive us . . . and even perhaps, return one day to give us all at Ohana another try.

“Surreal”

Reviewed 11 May 2015

No picture of this villa can do it justice. Once you are at Ohana you are surrounded by beauty.The nature lovers and art enthusiasts in our group (group of 6) were particularly blown away by the archi… More

“The perfect family get-away!”

Reviewed 27 Feb 2015

The usual superlatives cannot do justice to our experience at Ohana! Our family of six adults and a three-year-old wanted a place to get away, where we could all relax from our hectic schedules, and g… More

Response from the owner Wow! What a wonderful review of Ohana…this makes us so happy. It was a pleasure sharing Ohana with you and I hope it gave you a break from the East coast snowy weather. Please keep in touch!

Review 1-5 of 5

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Aries (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Aries (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Aries (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Aries the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Aries (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Aries (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Aries (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Aries (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Aries (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Aries (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Aries (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Aries (the owner) a message.

If Aries (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Tobago

178 properties

Trinidad

89 properties

Castara

28 properties

Crown Point

25 properties

Black Rock

24 properties

Scarborough

16 properties

Buccoo

13 properties

Bon Accord

11 properties

Lowlands

10 properties

Mount Irvine

9 properties

Parlatuvier

6 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.