$46 / night
Total guests, Nights

Inviting, Spacious Ground Floor Flat with Lush Garden – Home 6570380 Apartment

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  • 7 nights min stay

Inviting, Spacious Ground Floor Flat with Lush Garden – Home 6570380

  • Apartment
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  • 7 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Nearest beach 100 mi
  • Child Friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • Pet Friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner


3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

You can enjoy El Centro and get a good night's sleep in this flat! Located minutes from Old Town via a short taxi ride (roughly $2), or a bus ride (25c), where you can enjoy old architecture, great dining and bars that is offered downtown. After the fun, you can come home to a safe, quiet and relaxing space. No loud bar noise until two in the morning here, just a good night's sleep!

Your flat is the ground floor of an Ecuadorian duplex located in a small Ciudadela one block from 7 kilometers of walkways beside the river Yanuncay. There are three bedrooms. The master bedroom has a queen size orthopedic bed with an en suite bathroom. The second bedroom has a queen size bed next to the half bath. The third bedroom has a double bed and is next to the second full bath (with shower). All beds have Egyptian cotton bedding, down comforters, and lots of soft pillows for your comfort.

The bathrooms have quality towels, rain shower head ( master bath) and soft rugs. Some bath essentials and amenities are provided.

The flat looks directly out to a lush garden filled with many varieties of flowers and succulents, your own avocado and lime trees. If in season, you are welcome to the bounty. Song birds, hummingbirds and butterflies make their home here too.

The kitchen will not disappoint. It is bright and colorful! Under-cabinet lighting provides plenty of task lighting. We stock the basics and give you the makings for your first cup of coffee or tea to get your morning started. The corner market is one half block away. We provide a stainless steel coffee pot, local coffee, toaster oven, blender, artisan dishes, quality spices. If cooking is not your thing, jump in a cab and be in old town in 10 minutes ($2) for a variety of breakfast options.

A private English speaking driver can be arranged for any transportation needs, and cleaning services can be arranged for longer stays. On request, we provide a cell phone with minutes and pre-programmed numbers (you only pay for the minutes).

My husband and I are retired and live in the upstairs flat. Your privacy is guaranteed , but we are available as needed. When we travel, our expectations for cleanliness and comfort are paramount. We will do our best to translate our expectations into your stay at Casa Bella Mia.

For pet owners:

As you know, many units will not allow pets. There are indeed reasons for their policy. We accept only responsible pet owners and up to two trained dogs! We cannot accept other pets due to allergy issues. A safe, fully enclosed backyard is right out the patio door for night trips and a park, one block away, for walks and off leash runs. Keep in mind, when looking at other properties, that Cuenca is an urban town with lots of concrete and very little green space. We do not allow pets to be left alone! Many dogs will bark and get on the furniture when their owner is absent. You can arrange for your pet to stay with us, for a small fee; or provide your own supervision. We can provide you a large crate. (Exceptions are made for crate trained dogs who do not bark). Our dogs are not aggressive but we make sure they are always supervised when they are in the yard or other common areas.

Cuenca is a lovely town and it is a fun place to explore, so enjoy all it has to offer!

More Less


  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3: Full bed
    Beds in other rooms: Twin bed
  • 1 Half bath, 1 Shower, 1 Attached (ensuite)


  • Wireless Internet
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Telephone
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less


  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

Our neighborhood is almost exclusively Ecuadorian. It is off the beaten path, with very little traffic, but close to Avenida Las Americas and Primero de Mayo, major thoroughfares to get you around town. We are a 5 minute walk from Avenida Las Americas, which has buses that take you around the city for $.25 ($.12 if you are over 65). A ride to the steps leading up to the Old Town (El Centro) takes about 15-20 minutes. A taxi (we can call for you or you can flag one down) will take you to El Centro in about 5-10 minutes for $2.50 or less, depending on your destination. As is true in most cities, times dramatically increase during rush hours. Getting a taxi during rush hours and when raining can be challenging.

Interaction with guest

Your hosts live upstairs and while we also value our privacy, are available to address any problems with the rental as well as assisting you in planning and executing your visit. A quick phone call is all it takes to get our help, in person if we are home or by telephone if not. Challenged linguistically? My husband speaks Spanish and can make some arrangements for you, as well as direct you to facilitators who can walk you through more complex issues, such as visas, driver licenses and rentals.


Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $200.00
No smoking at this property


Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

We accept only responsible pet owners and up to 2 trained dogs! Please inquire about other pets. A safe, fully enclosed backyard is right out the patio door for night trips and a park, one block away, for walks and off leash runs.


About the owner

Cheryl / Rex D.
Calendar last updated:
30 Apr 2022
Years listed:
Based in:
United States
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, Spanish





Very Good
7 reviews

Very Good

“Stayed for a month and very happy with the house”

Reviewed 6 Dec 2016

I stayed at this home for close to a month and couldn’t be happier with the experience. The place is beautiful (the pics really don’t do it justice), is very spacious and pet friendly. Th… More

Response from the owner Thanks Jason, really appreciate your review. I know we will be keeping in touch. Good luck with your new life in Cuenca.

“Perfect Home away from Home with the Best Hosts!”

Reviewed 25 Sep 2015

This apartment was everything we could have wished for. As long term travellers we truly appreciated this superbly equipped apartment. We felt like we were at home living in a real house. There was… More

Response from the owner I cannot believe that we missed this fabulous review and the opportunity to respond and thank our guests, who were wonderful to host. They too deserve a 5 star review and will be welcomed by hosts wherever they travel in the World. Thank you for staying with us and may your travels be rewarding.

“Excellent choice”

Reviewed 21 Sep 2015

This was a great choice for a rental in Cuenca. We were 2 adult couples visiting Cuenca for the first time. We had a great experience staying at Cheryl and Rex's flat. As described in TripAdvisor… More

Response from the owner it was wonderful having these two couples as our guests. meeting wonderful people is one of the fringe benefits of being hosts. Thank you for the lovely review and it pleases us to be able to ret4urn the compliment. They will be welcome by hosts wherever they go.

“Great place to rest. Nicely decorated and owners very helpful. Also very clean and well furnished.”

Reviewed 27 Jul 2015

Great help from owners. The house is nicely decorated and clean. Well furnished and located away from the downtown but a great place if you want to rest at the end of your sightseeing. Rex and Cheryl… More

Response from the owner Hosting these guests was a pleasure. They are a delightful couple who were fun to interact with and who kept the apartment immaculate.They are welcome back anytime.

“WOW!!! Beautiful flat, wonderful hosts, overall, great experience!”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2015

This was an excellent choice for our family! We traveled with three adults and two small children. The place was spacious, had a beautiful back yard, very tastefully decorated interior and was great f… More

Response from the owner Having these travelers stay in our apartment was a joy. They have booked again and will be welcomed as friends as well as customers. We recommend them unconditionally to other hosts.

“a total dissapoinment”

Reviewed 20 Jun 2015

noise from rooster and stray dogs-cant flush your toilet paper waste-put it in a can(disgusting)--no oven just toaster type bakes-location required call taxi to go anywhere- bed squeaks with every mov… More

Response from the owner To those potential future guests who are reading this review, we’d like to present the other side of the coin. First, it saddens us to have to write this rebuttal. First and foremost, Flip Key/TripAdvisor clearly states on their website (cancellation policy) there will be no refund within 5 days of the check-in date. In this case, the guest cancelled six days of their stay 8 days AFTER they checked in. Once a guest has checked in, the reservation cannot be cancelled or modified; therefore the online calendar was blocked out for their entire stay which prevented us from being able to accept any bookings during that period of time. We did have other inquiries which we had to refuse. We had problems with this guest before they even arrived. They wanted to book a month, so we offered them the discounted rate that only applies to stays of a month or more. Then, they changed their mind and reduced it to two weeks, but we chose to give them the discounted month-rate. On top of that, they felt they shouldn’t have to pay the standard booking fee which Flip Key/TripAdvisor charges them, even though the fee was clearly stated online when they submitted their booking request (which implies acceptance of all terms). This was our first booking, so we chose to offer them the discounted rate and we split the cost of the booking fee. Their dog barked incessantly while they were away from the apartment. To get him to stop, we brought him into our home, for which they thanked us in an email. After the guests checked out, we discovered the dog had caused significant damage by clawing at the newly finished front door. The guest also broke a window pane in the master bath and took apartment supplies (i.e.; extra rolls of toilet paper, large bottle of shampoo, etc.) with them. Their Issues ‘Noise’… unfortunately noise is common in Cuenca and other Latin American cities. It’s very difficult to find anywhere in the city where you don’t hear dogs barking, car alarms, horn honking, busses/traffic, festivals, etc. Our house is in an unusually quiet neighborhood. That is why we chose it. We also provide guests with a sound machine and suggest people bring ear plugs. ‘Flushing toilet paper’….this, too, is very common here and in other cities throughout South America. The plumbing in the building is not always the problem. Antiquated city sewage systems cannot handle solid waste. ‘no oven’…Very few short-term rental guests are interested in doing full-on baking. However, we do provide a convection/toaster oven which can bake many things…even chicken, plus a 4 burner gas cooktop. ‘taxi’…. The location is stated clearly in the listing and one can clearly see where the apartment is located by viewing the online map. Taxi’s cost no more than $2-$3 to go most places in Cuenca. in addition, this guest had difficulty walking. Why complain about having to use a taxi when walking is a challenge for him? ‘Bed squeaks’… Now that we know about this, it has been fixed. ‘No TV’…not true, it was available from day 1. Over the air Spanish channels (does anyone remember Rabbit Ears?), Wi-Fi for streaming and a library of DVDs are provided. He wanted Netflix connected. We spent hours working on his computer adding security software to his laptop (he had none installed), installing other software, etc. so he could connect his laptop to the big screen. When the TV and computer he was watching Netflix on went to sleep, we immediately came down, corrected the issue and explained to him how to ‘fix’ it in the future. The reference to ‘No TV’ refers to the fact that two days into their stay we installed a WIFI booster to increase the reliability of the signal. ‘No front door lock’…not true. There is a working deadbolt which is secured from either side with a key. He is referring to a small sliding bar used for privacy purposes (which has since been removed). ‘Flies’….yes, flies live here in Cuenca. They are a fact of life pretty much everywhere. ‘Sharing with the owners who live upstairs’…The listing clearly states we live in the upstairs apartment…no surprise. It came in handy to have us on call when needing cabs, ‘fixing’ the sleeping computer, providing information on internet services , interpreting and asking all the questions people have when moving to a new country. ‘only pluses was pretty house’…We also provided them with extra supplies when they ran out, we called taxis for them, we researched their ability to have internet installed in the new home they found, we took care of their dog, we even prepared food for them when they announced they were diabetic (but hadn’t bought food with them). We saved them nearly $400 by reducing our rate and absorbing fees which brought their costs down to less than the cost of a basic hotel room with a bed and bathroom… this is a 3br, 1200 sq. ft. apartment! We also take pets, a rarity in short or long term rentals in Ecuador. Yet, even with that they demanded we give them money back because they chose (well into their stay) to relinquish the last 6 days of their booking. That demand plus a threat of a bad review was formalized in an email to us. Even after all this, we refunded the full $200 security/damage deposit to this guest. As a result, they are clearly seeking revenge by posting a damaging review. Please take the comments in this review in context. We look forward to proving to future guests the review is unjustified.

“Comfortable and Relaxing”

Reviewed 17 Jun 2015

There were 4 adults plus dogs that stayed in Rex and Cheryl's spacious and well appointed condo. First, it was wonderful to find a place that would accommodate our dogs and afford us the ability… More

Response from the owner It is wonderful to have guests who travel with their dogs as members of their family. Our guests were lovely, as were their furry friends and they took wonderful care of the apartment.

Review 1-7 of 7


How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Cheryl / Rex (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Cheryl / Rex (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Cheryl / Rex (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Cheryl / Rex the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Cheryl / Rex (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Cheryl / Rex (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Cheryl / Rex (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Cheryl / Rex (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Cheryl / Rex (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Cheryl / Rex (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Cheryl / Rex (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Cheryl / Rex (the owner) a message.

If Cheryl / Rex (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Pichincha Province

192 properties

Manabi Province

95 properties

Santa Elena Province

62 properties

Guayas Province

47 properties

Azuay Province

45 properties


44 properties

Imbabura Province

32 properties

Galapagos Islands

30 properties

Esmeraldas Province

10 properties

Tungurahua Province

8 properties

Loja Province

6 properties

Chimborazo Province

5 properties

Napo Province

5 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.