Description from the owner
Description from the owner
Book this 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage in Sheffield today! A total of 6 people can sleep here comfortably. This property has been booked 13 times.
Guests can enjoy a outdoor grill, parking space, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 9 reviews.
The owner responds to 100% of inquiries.
Simon's Cottage, Peak District National Park Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England
Additional Location Information
Sitting on the edge of the Peak District (2 minute drive away). There are plenty of local walks and trails in and around the countryside for dog walkers, mountain bikers and hikers. Local amenities are within walking distance along with excellent public transport in and out of the city of Sheffield. If you like theatre then you're in luck - Sheffield boasts many venues including the Crucible, The Lyceum, The Montgomery theatre and many others. For die-hard mountain bikers/cyclists just jump on your bike and head for the hills and you'll be spoilt for choice as far as terrain goes but mind the stags and highland cattle as you go! If you enjoy eating out then there are plenty of cafes, pubs and restaurants right on the doorstep! If you haven't eaten by the time you arrive at the cottage don't worry, they'll be a welcome basket with a few goodies in for you.
More About This Location
City vacations, Rural retreats
Car is not necessary
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Sheffield Attractions
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Sheffield Attractions
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP)
Please note: these rates exclude taxes and fees and may vary depending on the length of your stay. Rates are also subject to change at the owner’s discretion.
- Damage Deposit | $142 per stay
- Local Guides/Maps
- Alarm Clock
- Linens Provided
- Washing Machine
- Soap/Shampoo Provided
- Short breaks allowed (1-4 days)
- Central heating
- High chair
- Hair dryer
- Clothes Dryer
- Towels Provided
Phone / Internet
- Wireless Internet
- Internet Access
- Stove or Oven
- Paper Towels Provided
- Satellite or cable TV
- Stereo or CD player
- DVD Player
- Outdoor Dining Area
- 6 Dining chairs
- 6 Lounge chairs
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
“Total disappointment for our whole family!”
From the photo's on the website we thought we'd booked an ideal place for our long-planned and very expensive 4 week holiday to the UK. When we arrived we found a number of issues; for one thing the roadside had a long barrier which meant that we couldn't just park and unload our luggage at the door - no, we had to drag our heavy suitcases all along the road until the end of the barrier and then all the way back to the cottage on the other side. Secondly, the internal stairs (up and down), were so steep that we had trouble climbing them. In fact, our grandson fell twice and I fell myself once, banging my head on the way down! We took the upstairs bedroom whilst our daughter and family had the basement. Our en-suite shower had no water pressure and the temperature was between warm and hot at best - the shower base almost overflowed each and every time and had to be unclogged. Toilets are either in the upstairs or downstairs bedroom suites and not at all suitable for elderly or disabled visitors - our friend had a broken leg and could not reach either one. In the wintery weather it was also impossible to reach the back (downstairs area) from the side of the house as it was too slippery and sludgy. Be aware also that they will charge you for any excess rubbish, despite renting this cottage to large groups of people for long periods of time, (which means more rubbish). We had our bond retained unfairly (despite the owner accepting that we had cared for the property and left it clean and tidy), and are still disputing the claim via the booking agency to this day! We had a welcoming basket which was nice and the heat was turned on to warm the radiators, but apart from that we did not find the cottage to be of the standard that we expected for the very high cost to rent it during that period. In the basement bedroom, there were no storage facilities except for a hanging rack, with everything else having to be stored wherever you could find a space; the wind blew through the coal-shoot and also through the back door which led from the bedroom to the outdoor area, which in itself was a complete disgrace - not at all like the beautiful photos shown on the booking site. Overall, a very disappointing experience that cost a lot of money for little gain.
Response from the owner, Joanna L. - 04/06/2017
This review was received by the ‘guests’ in the middle of an ongoing dispute over the £100 damage deposit. The deposit has not yet been returned to the guests because they refuse to accept responsibility for ruining and bleaching three bath sheets and also leaving an enormous amount of unwanted items and rubbish inside the cottage including clothing, shoes, bags, belts, medication and toiletries. The review does not mention the ruined towels or the excess rubbish by the guest, instead it goes into great length to criticise completely irrelevant subject matter. My response to the guest’s unfair review is as follows: Re the accommodation cost. As I have mentioned before, you were only charged £400 per week for the cottage given the fact that you had booked for 4 weeks, we thought it would be a kind gesture as your booking fell over the Christmas and New Year period. Regarding the safety barrier outside the cottages. This barrier is there for a purpose - to safeguard pedestrians, and the cottages, from any damage should there be a road traffic accident, it is for the safety of the residents living there. Regarding the stairs. It is mentioned clearly on the website and all other forms of media that this is a 1900s cottage and the stairs are very steep. I also mentioned this to a few of your family members as I showed them around the cottage (your daughter and teenage grandson) when they arrived and asked them to be careful, which I do with most guests who I meet at the cottage. It also states on TripAdvisor/FlipKey/Holiday Lettings/Booking.com and our own website that it is unsuitable for disabled people given the age and situation of the cottage. We were never made away that you and your teenage grandson (16yrs+) had ‘fallen down the stairs. As stated in the‘Rental Agreement & Contract’ we cannot be held responsible for any accidents in or around the cottage suffered by yourselves. These terms and conditions are made available to you at the time of your booking and it is your responsibility to read this information. Re the en-suite shower. We specifically ask all guests, via the websites and the ‘Guest Information Book’ within the cottage to contact us immediately (or within 24 hours) if there are any issues in the cottage or with any or the services. Re the toilet. Again, this is a very old cottage and up until the renovations had one single toilet downstairs on the lower ground level. An en-suite was installed in the double bedroom which works perfectly well for families using the first floor bedrooms. The original single toilet was removed and a family bathroom installed for all the guests and can also be used as an en-suite bathroom by the guests using the lower ground floor bedroom if they choose to do so. Re access to the back of the cottage. This is a communal area owned by the council and shared by all residents. It is also a grassed area and in the winter months this terrain is wet, slippery and sludgy as are most grassed areas in and around the countryside. Again, we have no power over the weather or terrain owned by the council. Re the excess rubbish. All we ask is that guests bag up their rubbish and put it in the bin outside or if the bin is full leave it outside and we will collect it ourselves and not leave it to the Housekeepers who charge extra for additional cleaning and removal of rubbish. You left four pedal bin liners of rubbish leaned against the wall in the kitchen along with unwanted medication left on the kitchen table, unwanted clothes (these were found downstairs in a bag along with a few handbags, belts and toiletries). We only ask that you leave it outside next to the bin. Re Yorkshire Water. As I mentioned to your daughter and other members of your family, we had been waiting a for Yorkshire Water to replace/make good the pipe which was causing low pressure. Again, we have no control over the water board’s appointment dates or indeed the condition of the water pipes supplying water to the cottages. I specifically asked that if you preferred we would cancel the appointment so as not to disrupt your visit. The water pressure was a problem for Yorkshire Water and not within the cottage itself - we did our very best to have this resolved as quickly as possible.I also mentioned this to you in case you saw any workmen outside and wondered what they were doing there. You mentioned that you had no water for 5 hours - not once were we contacted about this. Long periods of time for tenancy. This is a holiday let and guests stay between 3-14 nights and not 34 nights. We don’t normally take bookings for more than two weeks at any time but we do consider this for guests traveling overseas visiting family and friends and do so at a reduced rate. Council’s bin collection service. I explained this to members of your family. This is also noted in the ‘Guest Information Book’ and also a timetable was attached to the side of the fridge for you. In Sheffield black and blue bins are collected twice a month each - we have no control over this. Your daughter mentioned something similar in Australia which caused issue due the hot weather. I have never been to Australia so I wouldn’t know but your daughter informed me that this is the case. Your bond is not retained unfairly. We were given an additional cleaning bill for £135 for replacement of three towels and removal and recycling of all the extra rubbish taken to the skip 6 miles away. As I said before, had you told us about the rubbish we would have dealt with it ourselves incurring no additional costs. We have to pay for the time Housekeeping put in and this is the case here. Accommodation Costs. You mention again ‘the high cost to rent it during that period’, and so I will reiterate again, This is the breakdown of our accommodation costs and discounts we gave to you. I know you didn’t ask for a discount but because you were so friendly and polite over our email communications, traveling from overseas and staying for 4 weeks over the Christmas period we thought it would be a kind gesture to include a discount. We also left additional items in your welcome basket including Christmas crackers, balloons and a Christmas Karaoke CD for your party which we were more than happy for your to have. This was also a good will gesture. Usual cost for the dates you booked - £2164.00 (GBP) Our discounted cost for your dates - £1695.00 (GBP) Saving you - £469.00 (GBP) I have broken down the cost further for you. You were charged £49.85 per night (family of 5) for 34 nights. If you can find a three bedroomed cottage that sleeps 6 guests and only charges £49.85 per night for the whole cottage over Christmas & New Year I would like the address and details please! We have no control over booking fees or taxes that other websites charge ie TripAdvisor/Booking.com etc. Bookings taken through our website are not charged for anything other than accommodation. All guests are given a welcome basket (coffee, tea, sugar and milk is always provided for guests on arrival - this is to give their holiday a relaxed start, especially if they arrive late and haven’t eaten. You state that ‘you did not find the cottage to be of the standard that you expected for the very high cost to rent it during that period’. I shall refrain from repeating myself re the costs. We maintain a high standard at the cottage (as assessed by Quality in Tourism/Visit England) and the rooms within the cottage are an exact replica of the photos online. Each year we close the cottage where possible for maintenance whereby we redecorate or refurbish rooms which we feel could benefit. After your stay we had a gap in the calendar and decided to redecorate and change Bedroom 3 on the lower ground floor. We also redecorated Bedroom 1 and Bedroom 2 on the first floor and changed. If you would like photos of the cottage before the changes I would be delighted to send them to you. Photographs of the cottage as it looks now are available on TripAdvisor websites and others, please feel free to browse. Storage space. The ‘basement bedroom’. Again, given that this is a holiday cottage there are plenty of hooks, rails and hanging rails and chests of drawers for guests staying on a break between 3-14 nights and therefore the cottage does not have vast wardrobe space for long term tenancies. The coal chute is located in the Utility room and is walled and double glazed from the outside. This room is then separated by the stairwell and a further door to Bedroom 3. We have never, ourselves, noticed any howling winds forcing its way through the entire lower ground level, but I will of course now be checking this for my own satisfaction. The Outdoor Area. You say, “outdoor area, which in itself was a complete disgrace - not at all like the beautiful photos shown on the booking site”. The outside area is always tidy and is kept in good condition. The garden looks its best during the spring and summer months when there are blooms - this cannot be achieved during the winter months for obvious reasons. There is one photo of the outside area, which is available to view on the website, to the back of the property which comprises garden furniture, secure garden shed with mountain bikes for guests to use, a swing hammock, BBQ area, bistro table and chairs, a paved area and a gravel area. Perhaps you meant next door who has logs piled up in every corner and a chicken pen in their garden?? I’m happy to say that the chicken pen and all its surrounding debris has now been removed. Finally you state “overall, a very disappointing experience that cost a lot of money for little gain”. I am baffled by this comment given the facts I have stated above regarding the cost of your accommodation, decorating the cottage for you ready for Christmas, additional items in the welcome basket (£30 worth) plus £50 of logs to burn on the fire along with kindling and firelighters. Guests usually receive an initial supply of logs for the fire and if they want to buy more that is their choice to do so. As I mentioned previously to you, your husband sent me a text asking for more logs, I told your daughter we would supply them and I left more logs in the front rockery area of the cottage for you. We are not obliged to do this but if you cast your mind back I said to your daughter if there was anything that you needed just let me know. I heard nothing further from you after that. Just to note - the cottage has central heating throughout. I have subsequently reported this review to TripAdvisor for investigation.
Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews