|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Oceanfront Cottage, 5 BR, 5 B + 3 half B. K * K * Q * Q * 2S. Sand Castle Club linen service with beds made. Oceanfront 38â€™ x 18â€™ saline swimming pool (7 ft. deep) with waterfall, mood lighting, tanning ledge and spa jets. Heated pool is available for an additional $1000 per week. Custom-built home in a beautiful setting with semi-private beach. Four master suites (2 are oceanfront with jacuzzi tubs); all BRs have private baths with tile showers. Separate audio-video room with surround sound. Large rec room on ground level with pool table, flat screen TV and half bath. Ground floor elevator to all levels. Spacious gourmet kitchen with gra...Read more
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$6,595 - $9,495||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$6,595||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$7,895||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$9,495||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$8,495||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$7,595||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Beautiful Beach home and the pool area is Outstanding - the best we've encountered ever! Beach area is very private. The home is very clean (new) and kitchen is well equipped with plenty of cabinets, drawers for storage. The neighborhood has a nice walking path that is shady and away from traffic.
A few suggestions: access to a water hose, chairs or benches in the bedrooms, recycle bins (we took ours to another area that accepted recycling). We had trouble with 2 showers that allowed water to leak under/around shower doors. We were able to turn one of the shower heads inward to minimize leaking.
We had a wonderful week and hope to return again!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/24/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A-1derful Life. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your vacation in this home. I will certainly pass your suggestions on to the owner. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Spacious, Beautiful Beach Home in Great Location
We loved staying and are planning to return. We went with our two daughters, our sons-in-law and three granddaughters. The home is so spacious, yet felt cozy. Lots of privacy outdoors and a gorgeous pool. All the extras provided and the fully-equipped kitchen were real bonuses. Our only problem was with the TV in the upstairs great room. We carefully followed the written directions, but couldn't get a connection to watch any TV shows. We brought Dvds so that our granddaughters could watch them. Two suggestions from the guys about the sports room downstairs: a DVD player for the TV and a mini-refrigerator for beverages. We had a wonderful family vacation and loved the home! We've already reserved our week for next year.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/05/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A-1derful Life. I'm so pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your time in this home and thank you for your suggestions. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance as you plan your 2012 vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great house to rent with good beach location!!
Let me start off by saying the house and the location is great! We have stayed at homes all over the Caribbean and in the us and I can say this is one of our favorites. The home is brand new and the home owner and builder really thought of everything possible when building a beach home. The home has high end materials and products throughout. They did not cut corners like a lot of beach rentals do with cheap materials and poor quality products. The home had everything you needed to enjoy your vacation. The pool is great as it has a shallow section for kids and a deep 8 foot section for adults. The location of the home is also great as itâ€™s very quiet and during some periods of the day we did not see anyone for a mile in either direction. The only thing I wished the house had was an outdoor table near the kitchen so you could eat outside and the grill near the pool rather than near the garage. Other than that house is great!
On a negative note are vacation was cut short do to hurricane Irene. The island was closed on Saturday and Sunday we called Emerald Isle Realty and they told us the Island would be open by 1pm and to come down. We got down to Emerald Isle around 3pm and were told we could pick up the keys at 5pm. At 5pm we called to make sure the house was ready and was told it was. As we drove to pick up the keys we got another call that they were wrong and the house had no gas, electric, cable or water! They told us we may not be able to get into the house till Tuesday night even thought we drove over 8 hours to get here! There was no other homes they could give us for the night so we had to go rent hotel rooms. It was extremely difficult to find a hotel room last minute and we had to split the family up between 3 hotels do to the issue!
On Monday morning I got to the location first thing and was told that gas, electric, cable and water would be back on asap. They offered no compensation do to their error other than a cheap $3 bottle of white wine and a $3 bottle of red wine for the inconvenience!!! We got to the house and it was a disaster. The gas, power and water were not on and the house was a mess. The windows were still boarded up, pool was full with dirt and branches from storm and entire property was covered in branches and debris even though Emerald Isle Realty said the house was ready to go. We got into the house and the house had yet to be finished being cleaned from the previous tenets and the beds were not made.
We made once again another call to Emerald Isle Realty and they told us they would have someone come take a look. We then saw a team of people show up to clean up the property and turn everything back on. They were a great group of people and after talking to them we found out they were the actual builders of the home and worked nonstop to get the property and home back up to what it looked like before the storm. The team of people worked all day on Monday and Tuesday to get the home back into a great condition. We noticed that the cable was still out on Tuesday and also Â½ of the upstairs lights did not work do to an electrical issue outside and the team of people said they would take care of getting both fixed asap rather than us making another call to Emerald Isle Realty. Within 45 minutes they had an electrician at the house who spent a few hours fixing everything and by Wednesday morning we had cable and Internet back. During are entire stay not one time did Emerald Isle Realty call to see if all of our issues were addressed and fixed. A credit should have been issued do to their mistake and forcing us to stay in a hotel and deal with less than ideal home conditions. Given the situation this is beyond unacceptable.
I am rating this home 5 stars do to if there was not a hurricane the home would have been amazing. I canâ€™t thank the builder and the team of people he had with him enough for getting the home back in great condition. It was glad to see someone truly cared about our situation.
Home, Property Owner and builder = A+
Emerald Isle Realty = F
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 09/27/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at A-1derful Life. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed this house and all the lavish amenities it has to offer.
I am sorry you were troubled with check in and misinformation. This home is located in Pine Knoll Shores and it wasn't until later in the day on Sunday that we were informed the town didn't open when Emerald Isle did. As for being told the property was ready, after a natural disaster such as Hurricane Irene, we check to make sure all guests have power and water. When you called and spoke with one of our vacation planners, they gave you the best, general information which we had available.
I did see that you were credited because you didn't receive all of the normal services which you would have if you arrived under normal circumstances. Upon reopening our office after the hurricane, we did strive to save as many vacations as possible and simply asked our guests to be patient with us as we recovered from the disaster. Thank you for pointing out several areas in which we need to improve on this effort.
I hope you will stay with Emerald Isle Realty again. I trust your experience would have been very different had you not arrived hours after a hurricane.
If was frustrating that the best and only bedroom with a view of the ocean was locked away by the owners. Yes, there were 5 bedrooms, as promised, however, at that high price I did not expect to sleep in the back room because the front master is locked off by the owners. Furthermore there needs to be a second refrigerator as well as more serving bowls and a juice pitcher.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/25/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A-1derful Life and for your suggestions. I will forward them on to the owner so they can be considered when additions to the property are being discussed.
Thank you again for your feedback and for your loyalty to Emerald Isle Realty. I hope you will revisit us in 2012. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Superb Beach House
This home is so nice I'm surprised it's a rental. Website wouldn't let me rate higher than 4 stars, but it's a 5+. Pictures indeed don't do it justice. Obviously first season, owners still outfitting, biggest gap is the lack of outdoor furniture on the decks, especially off the kitchen. Grill's marginal, especially the location in the driveway. It would be helpful if the home came with instructions for finding things like beach chairs (under front stairs), gfi resets (lost power one afternoon), etc. I do agree it's odd the true master suite is locked/unavailable, but the home is "as advertised" and the views are magnificent. Bottom line, the negatives were minor inconveniences in the grand scheme. The pool is fabulous and overall the house is well worth the price tag. The "Mrs" gets an a+ too on the decorating, right down to the light switch covers. Hope the house is available in 2012, we'll be back.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/28/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at A-1derful Life. I have passed on your compliments and suggestions to the owner. We are already reserving for 2012 so please call us, 1-888-832-0140.
Expensive but nice.
Newly built property so very clean but not as well stocked as other properties we've rented. Location is further North than we've stayed before but there were far fewer people on the beach, which we liked very much. Overall the property is quite nice with a great pool, pool table and beautiful kitchen. One major surprise for us upon arrival was that the master suite with the very best view of the ocean is locked and reserved for the owners. Have never seen this before and while I understand that the owners want to keep a bedroom for themselves, it should be disclosed to renters who are paying over $10K (taxes, etc) a week to rent the property in season that the premiere suite is unavailable to renters.
We loved the two dishwashers in the kitchen and kept them busy during the week. The ice maker on the fridge is slow with the filtered water function so slow it's really unusable. They do have another ice maker over at the wet bar which was great to have. Took us nearly two days to get the password to the wireless internet as it was not posted anywhere in the house. (password is the phone number to the house, by the way)
Suites on the bedroom level are large with walk out to the pool. Bathrooms are very nice with enormous showers.
The pool is fantastic and has built in jets in a seating area on one side. Would have been nice to have a Jacuzzi or hot tub but the pool is great just the same.
The walkway to the beach is dark brown so by mid afternoon you can cook an egg on it. Make sure you bring footwear to the beach with you or you'll be very sorry! The pictures online do not show the drop from the deck down to the beach, which is about 12-15 steps. Not too bad but steeper than we thought from looking on the Internet.
There is a storage area on the left side of the house (if looking at the house from the front) that has boogie boards and noodles you can use. Unfortunately we found this on the last day!
All in all we had a good time here.
Magnificent house to rent with great beach location!!
This house far exceeded our expectations!! It is beautiful, extremely spacious &7right on the beach - with a pool - doesn't get any better than that!!
A Little Slice of Heaven
This place is even better than the pictures. The owners of this home out did themselves because this vacation home is sensational. My family was the first to rent this home and let me just say that I'd rent it again, and again and again. It's worth every dime so if you're looking for a great vacation then book this house today! You won't regret it. It's a slice of heaven.