Need more information about booking Property 2481978 ?
Very Good

1 / 49 Diwa House seen from property across

From $104 / night help
Total guests,

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 3 / House
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1   Sleeps: 3  Type: House

1 Full bath

Exquisite Island Gem - 5 minutes walk to the Beach
TripAdvisor property ID 2481978

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom house in Boracay today! A total of 3 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 21 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $725 to as high as $900, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Rosemarie S.
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:14:00, Check out time:12:00
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Yes, smoking allowed
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Boracay Attractions




  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access


  • Fridge
  • Stove


  • CD player


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Grill
  • Private garden
  • Shared garden


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 1 Full bath


Reviews (21)

Very Good – based on 21 reviews Very Good
21 reviews

Very Good

“If you cherish peace and quite - shy away from Diwa”

Reviewed 5 Oct 2014

The house is part of irregularly shaped compound, upslope, reachable through a sequence of quit a few stairs, a walking distance from the beach. I stayed in a neighboring villa a couple nights, intending to move into Diwa, but never did, for the place is under constance attack of noise. Crowing roosters, incessantly barking dogs (some fervently, 10 meters across), and a loud construction site are the the primary villains. Only during the wee hours is there a respite. Quietness is important to me, so I inquired with the owner, Rosemarie, about the conditions of the surroundings in advance. She vowed it was quiet. When I later complained, her argument was that I never took residence so I don't really know. If it's important to you, please beware that I spend time at her doorstep on a few occasions just to double and triple check. The environment is harshly loud! Don't believe her is she says otherwise. If you're looking for a peaceful place don't waste your money and look elsewhere.

Response from the owner This review came from someone who never even stepped inside the house, just passed by the house during his 2 night stay at a nearby villa. It is remarkable for Trip Advisor/Flip Key to publish this since the reviewer initiated all requests through another Travel Website. He cancelled and requested a full refund based on his allegations above, 5 days prior to his arrival which was outside the 30 day notice for lease termination. A resolution by the Travel Website to uphold the cancellation policy of no refund was reached after a thorough investigation. They did not publish his comments/review. Our endeavor is to create an overall exceptional intimate experience attuned to the wider world yet very much a part of the local fabric and culture. Guests get an insider’s perspective; express a unique island lifestyle without breaking finances. We try to manage guests’ expectations by open communications the whole time. We also send a dossier a month prior to arrival to make everyone feel at home and start their holiday the moment they step out from the plane. The property is surrounded by like-minded expatriate house owners who do not appreciate the crowing of roosters, so no one owns any. There are pet dogs in some houses. They stay in their property boundaries. They are well behaved and do not bark incessantly. The construction that was brought up is not in the compound, nor near the house. There are 2 sprawling properties on the side of the house that have at least 1,500 square meters of garden space in between them. The 2 houses in front of the property have an easing of at least 4 meters from the foot path and fronted with gardens. This is to make sure that each property has privacy and solitude. Plants are strategically place to offer intimacy. This is rather a challenge to validate his comments since another review through that Travel Website was submitted from guests who actually were staying at the house the entire time when these allegations were made. These guests were at the house before he arrived in the nearby villa and after he left. They had a “peaceful stay” the whole time they were there. Here are the comments of the guests: “ The house looks just like the pictures. It is a perfect spot if you want to avoid staying at one of the endless hotels on white beach. However, it is not too far away, from the door to beach (Diniwid Beach less than 5 minutes, White Beach less than 8 minutes). If you want to retreat into air conditioning after a day at the beach, probably not the right place, but if you want to connect with nature, feel like a local, and have a hidden retreat away from the excitement of white beach, this may be just the place. Safe neighborhood. I would recommend it for couples. Peaceful stay. ”

“Place for party animals”

Reviewed 25 Sep 2014

House was ok, but environment very restless. They were having extremely noisy party at neighbor until 8 am at the morning. We could not sleep one minute during all the night. And after few hours break they started again. We intended to stay seven days, but were forced to leave after one night already. Needless even to say, owner promised no compensation. So if you are a party animal and ready to have parties all night long, that place is excellent for you. Worst experience ever for me.

Response from the owner We apologize that you had an restless night due to some inconsiderate neighbor. This is a really an isolated incident. As you can see from reviews that the place is quiet, restful and a relaxing environment. Measures have been reinforced that this incident does not occur again. The house that had a party is rarely occupied. The owner has been advised the inconvenienced caused that night and reminded to observe cut off times for parties (as everyone does), so as not to disrupt anyone in the vicinity. There has not been any disruption of any kind after that night. The area has been quiet as usual. We value your feedback and understand your frustration and how it can be disorienting when one arrives at a new place.


Reviewed 21 Nov 2013

Home away from home. Luxury accommodation with lots of space and privacy. Definitely beat staying in a hotel room. Loved the sound system. Excellent location. A few minutes walk to the beach and Fridays. You can easily catch a tricycle to Station 2. P100 one way or if you catch it with the locals, it's P10 per person. The free wifi is a bonus. The housekeeper, Sharon is lovely and helpful with providing info about Boracay. Organizing this accommodation with Rose was a breeze. Our flight was delayed for one day and Rose was happy to let stay an another night with no extra cost. Thank you Rose for letting us stay in your lovely holiday home.

Response from the owner Jay, This is your home. That is really brilliant that you were moving like a local by only paying 10.00PHP to Station 2! It really was a delight to have you with us. See you soon.


Reviewed 14 Nov 2013

The only regret that I have with our stay here, is that it was too short. We arrived on a Saturday night and had planned to do all sorts of things, as soon as we arrived we cancelled all plans and enjoyed the house all day Sunday. We only went out to eat and to the beach, the rest of the time was spent in the house enjoying the peace and quiet. The hammock was probably one of my favorites. And the quiet low lit nights were so relaxing. If ever I am in Boracay again, without a doubt we will be staying here.

Response from the owner It seems like we will miss out on something when you leave the house, does it not? It takes me a long time to put my toys just going to the beach. Thank you Monica and see you soon.

“Great Experience in a lovely home”

Reviewed 11 Sep 2013

This had been one of our best experience in life. Our stay in Boracay in Diwa House has been very satisfying. Sharon the caretaker came daily to clean the house and check for things needed. The bedroom upstairs is spacious and very comfortable. After a long day of beach activities and dinning at D'Mall where we usually went daily with many great restaurants lining up the White Beach, coming back to Diwa was a dream. Its lovely lighting, the sound of soft music playing on its stereo system and relaxing in its spacious living room sipping your favorite drink was very rewarding. The kitchen was fully equipped. Outside the patio was very inviting. On a weekend day I prepared a bbq in the small grill that Rosemarie got specially for me on my request. Rosemarie always answered my messsages. Internet is always there, no problems ever were experienced. Romelyn, our masseuse will come as requested. Her massages are superb and very relaxing after a full day of activities. Just a few blocks down the Diniwid beach was clean with crystal clear waters. Above it is a beautiful restaurant in Nami resort where the panorama below is unbelievably beautiful. It is actually the best view in all Boracay. We are very happy with our stay in Diwa House and we be back there as soon as we can. Thank you Rosemarie for allowing us the use of such a beautiful home.

Response from the owner Daniel, it is just so wonderful to see you had such a grand time. Diwa awaits for your return.

“Lovely little house with great service”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in the house for a relaxing week. After staying in a few other places on the island, we found that the little house was in one of the best areas; very near a small quiet beach but also very close to the center of town. Additionally, we found the service offered by both the owner and the manager to be far superior to other experiences we have had on the island.

Response from the owner Thomas, it was such a pleasure to have you. See you soon!

“We couldn't be happier with our choice!”

Reviewed 4 Jul 2013

We rented the Diwa house because we wanted to be able to relax in peace and quiet, but still be near the beach and the moment we entered the home we knew we had made the right decision. The house absolutely gorgeous and we couldn't have been happier. Rosemarie has taken the utmost care with not only the design of the home, but the decor was so beautiful. Even though there is no aC it is well ventilated due to the design. Everything about the home made our stay absolutely perfect, from the outdoor shower (which was glorious) to the beautiful king bed upstairs and the handcrafted wooden furniture, I was in love! Sharon the housekeeper comes by twice a day to clean and and take care of the house and she is great! Sharon went out of her way to make us feel welcome and help us set up anything we wanted to do during our stay. We were even able to set up in-house massages with Romelyn every other day and if anything came up Sharon made sure to take care of passing on the message for us. A massage with Romelyn is a must if you stay at the Diwa house. We loved the location because we were able to take a short 5 minute walk to Dini-wid beach which is calmer than white beach, but we were still able to hit the main area with a quick trcycle ride. People in Dini-wid are really friendly and we made some great friends while we were there. Make sure to swing by The Chef on the way to the beach for a delicious meal and tell them that Rich and Crystal sent you! We absolutely fell in love with Mama Lou and Chef Joel. We ate every dinner in Boracay with them and it was like coming home to our own family, so much so that we were referred to as their children when anyone asked. Our stay at the Diwa house was relaxing, fulfilling, and a much needed escape from our busy lives. We plan on returning as fast as we can and it's a must if you are looking for something different than the normal resort. Rosemarie is quick to respond and is a trustworthy individual to trust with your stay!

Response from the owner Crystal, it is so gratifying when one recognizes the exercise of perfect luxury due to the economy of choice. Oh you goddess nymph, your picture of the outside shower is just fabulous!

“The silence and beauty”

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have not found a better place)))We have not found a better place))) calm and quiet, close to the sea. very spacious and comfortable home. all the equipment is working. friendly staff. a little uncomfortable that the house is not closed by the path, and the people passing by drop and it is not comfortable.

Response from the owner Silence and Beauty makes the heart sing with pure joy. Silence is cherished most when one becomes keenly aware of freeing the senses and let the wonders of the surrounding take over. Thank you Igor for appreciating the peaceful intimacy and beauty of the house. It is really wonderful that the house is located away from the main path, free from unwanted disturbance. XOXO's

“animal lovers rejoice”

Reviewed 25 Apr 2013

Comfortable bed, sharon the cleaner is nice. Half of the roof is open, so be aware that animals of all kind will sing and enter. We found dead frogs in the morning and very big lizards in the kitchen. Rosemarie's communication was satisfactory, she is very friendly. The home is pretty, a steep incline to get there, it is away from most noise. Good value for money.

Response from the owner The eaves are left open in tandem with the soaring high cathedral ceiling to provide ventilation at all times. Air-conditioning is not needed since the breeze wafts through even if all the glass sliding panels and windows are closed. Belle, your comment inspired us to add a screen netting to discourage expeditions from the other realm, shopping for nibbles - starting to conceptualize . . . Those must have been toads. They have short hind legs made for walking and hopping, not for swimming nor leaping. They are nocturnal, so they frolic in the pond at night time. Unfortunately, some of them drown since they cannot lift their heavy bodies out of the water and leap out with their short hinds. They are exhausted when morning comes. It is a good thing we are able to rescue some of them. Conceptualizing a a pond ladder for them . . . Some dinner guests thought the trilling of the frogs was a recording. Is that not amusing? The large lizards you have seen in the kitchen must have been house geckos. The small ones are non-venomous and harmless to humans. Medium to large geckos may bite if distressed, however their bite is gentle and will not pierce the skin. They feed on insects especially mosquitoes. The leopard geckos are the latest rage as pets. Price is 50.00GBP/60.00EUR/78.00USD. They can live up to 20 years. We are quite concerned of their dwindling population. The Filipinos welcome them in their homes since they signify good omen. They are rock stars in Boracay, manifested in various art venues: logos. wood carvings, base of lamps and even websites are named after them. They are supposed to be shy and nocturnal, attracted to night lights , however the ones in the house are exhibitionists, most likely wearing invisible dark sun glasses since they do sporadically come out at broad daylight. Royalties might be their next demand. We are pleading with the Orioles to curtail their répertoire and consider singing only pianissimos in the morning. Belle, we are so enthused to make a list of the birds and the creatures hanging out here, so the other guests can identify them. The steps have been built to make the approach as gentle as possible: width (7 ft) and depth ( 2 –3 ½ ft), very low risers ( 7 in ). We are adding foliage in addition to the overhanging trees so one can stop, admire a place, perhaps slowing down the pace. We offer our home to discerning travelers, fatigued from hotel stays and it's predictability. We are passionate in sharing a unique green pulsating island lifestyle. XOXOs


Reviewed 14 Mar 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for a was really nice..the owner was really easy to get in contact with..The caretaker was really nice as well...about the place, it was quiet and boyfriend loved the speakers for his iphone...makes it even more relaxing listening to the music...really nice experience...would definitely go back...

Response from the owner Trixie, we get so carried away with the sound system that we think we were at Glyndebourne, really extreme! Thank you for a lovely review. XOXO, Rosemarie

Review 1-10 of 21