Need more information about booking Property 3740907 ?
46
Excellent

1 / 42 View across part of the Main Level.

from $436 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedrooms 4 / Bathrooms 4 / Sleeps 11 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Bathrooms: 4  Sleeps: 11  Type: House
Upscale Fantastic Waterfront House w/ Dock - Kayaks | Hot Tub | Paddle Boards
TripAdvisor property ID 3740907

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Charleston today! A total of 11 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 5/5 thanks to an average of 46 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2460 to as high as $3335, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 14, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Laurie B.

Tourist License: Legal Property

Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Charleston Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

General


  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Central heating
  • Clothes dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Staffed property
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet


  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa


  • Jacuzzi or hot tub

Property Features


  • Parking
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Secure parking
  • Waterfront

Kitchen


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Entertainment


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV

Outdoor


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Private garden
  • Tennis court (shared)

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (46)

Excellent – based on 46 reviews Excellent
46 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
45
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Peaceful and serene”

Reviewed 2 Apr 2014

What a lovely place to spend the most perfect girls' weekend. The owners made it feel welcoming and comfortable, and the house felt very clean. The location was central: Minutes to downtown and several beaches.

Response from the owner Girl Groups really like the house. We pride ourselves on the Cleanliness of the Big Chill. Clean is Important! I hope you all enjoyed using the Hot Tub and the views. Did you Kayak or paddleboard? We sincerely appreciate our guests and we appreciate YOU.

“Fantastic chill house”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2013

Our immediate family (7 people) stayed at the Big Chill House for our daughter's wedding week. It was the perfect place... really better than the photos on this sight. Rooms are spacious and family friendly - with many tvs. The house and property were immaculate and offered so many amenities. Lots of towels, lots of dishes and pans, beautiful linens and pillows, and lots of little extras - nice soap in every bathroom, pasties and juice in the fridge, etc. The list goes on and on. The lovely owners met us - but never visited - although they were available by phone. We had a cookout one night and everyone loved sitting on the porch or walking to the dock. Our boys enjoyed the kayaks and paddle board. House is only 10 minutes from historic Charleston. Really hope we can come back. So much nicer than staying at a hotel. Would highly recommend this property.

Response from the owner Glad that you enjoyed our Kayaks and the new Stand Up Paddleboard.! Paddleboards are definitly the New thing! Our backyard is perfect for just enjoying the outdoor life of the Charleston area...and watching for wildlife and birds and dolphins. and also being so close to downtown and to the beaches makes this a perfect house for visiting groups. I know that you meant it as a positive comment that , "The lovely owners met us - but never visited" because we do live on the site, but very much try to give guests privacy. So I think your group enjoyed privacy! Again, thanks for being great guests and a great group!

“Worth the ride!”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2013

Our expectations were definitely met with our "home" for the week of our family vacation. Seven adults and one teenager had all the comforts of home at the Big Chill. Comfortable beds, spacious living and entertaining areas, HD TV, spacious kitchen, and a porch the envy of any truly southern home. I would not hesitate to recommend this exceptional lodging to anyone--and would love to visit again soon.

“Chill at The Big Chill”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2013

What a wonderful choice of an accommodation for our 2013 family vacation! It was everything and more than advertised. The Big Chill House will be included in our travel memories along with the landmarks and wonderful restaurants of Charleston and Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina. It truly became our home away from home. Everything that would make a guest comfortable was made available to us. From super comfortable mattresses and linen to every tool needed to cook a meal in-house was accessible to us. We loved to spend our mornings or resting after a day of sightseeing on the wonderful porch just taking in the view. Thanks for having videos and Charleston magazines located around the house to give help us create each day's itinerary. The location was wonderful! Although we were in the midst of a neighborhood, it still had a secluded/retreat feel and we were conveniently located near restaurants, groceries and the iconic arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge linking us to Charleston. Traveling with a group of photographers, we did not have to go far for a great picture opportunity. It was as close as the dock in the backyard. Thanks again for making our summer vacation a memorable one.

“An Experience to Remember”

Reviewed 18 Jun 2013

My family and I (8 total) spent a wonderful week as the guests of Laurie and George. From the moment we arrived, we knew that this was going to be a wonderful stay. George and Laurie were fantastic hosts - providing a very thorough walk through, tips on what to see and were just all around perfect. Privacy was not an issue and the home is absolutely beautiful!! The grounds, furnishings and location made it the perfect place to relax with family but access to the city was the crowning glory. Location and decor were my favorite aspects while having to leave was what I liked least! Thank you both for a wonderful stay!

“The Big Chill is a great retreat”

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had our family in for a destination wedding and stayed at the Big Chill. The owners were very accommodating and informative. Their place is exactly what you see in the pictures and more. The home is a combination old south meets technology and comfort. Our stay was exceptional and easy for such an important event as the wedding. We highly recommend the home and will do it again.

Response from the owner Thank you so much! You were terrific and wonderful guests. Congratualtions once again on your son's wedding. Boone Hall is a fabulous place for a wedding, but no one could have predicted such awful weather in May! We hope you come back and visit someday.

“Amazing!”

Reviewed 24 Mar 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful. It has state-of-the art appliances and amenities. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms amazing, and the kitchen was the spot where we spent the a good majority of our time. The location is absolutely amazing. We were close to downtown Charleston and could get to everything we wanted to see within 10-15 minutes. We loved the docks and kayaked several times. Laurie and George, you were a pleasure to deal with and I would definitely recommend this to everyone looking for a great stay in Charleston/Mt. Pleasant.

Response from the owner Thank you so much. A good review warms us. We really want every guest to have a wonderful and positive experience and return home with great memories. Terrific!

“Clean, comfortable, convenient!!”

Reviewed 23 Mar 2013

Eight 50+ women shared the house for a long weekend. It was fabulous. Quiet, well stocked and so comfortable. Bedding and baths were fabulous! Great kitchen!! Everything was perfect! So close to downtown Charleston! Our group was from all across the country and everyone loved it!!

Response from the owner Women's groups really seem to enjoy The Big Chill. We were thrilled that you chose The Big Chill....and we are really trhrilled for the positive review. We try to listen to all feedback and make the house as perfect as possible. Great Bedding...great kitchen...great areas to reconnect. Thank you for appreciating what we offer.

“Beautiful, comfortable waterfront home near Charleston”

Reviewed 28 Feb 2013

We enjoyed a girlfriend getaway to the Charleston area and were delighted with our accommodations. The Big Chill is located on a tidal river in Mt. Pleasant, just across the stunning Ravenel bridge from Charleston. You can be in downtown Charleston in about 10 minutes or less and at Sullivan's Island in about 15 minutes (depending on traffic). Good restaurants and excellent grocery options are within easy access. We shopped and cooked several times, not just because it's less expensive but because we were a group of foodie chefalas who enjoy cooking, especially in a well-stocked, beautiful kitchen. The Big Chill has this! There wasn't anything we couldn't find, except maybe some storage containers and ziplock bags. The beds were all comfie and had great pillows. I enjoyed the big, old fashioned tub and the rain shower in the pebbled shower. The owner's are on-sight in the garage apartment, which might be a downer for some. When I couldn't get the wifi on my phone it ended up being an advantage to have the owners nearby. They were great about making recommendations of things to do and places to eat, too. There is an extra bedroom and laundry room off the kitchen that comes with an additional expense and our size group did not need it. However, I would have liked to had been able to use the laundry facilities, especially since I went kayaking and got my clothes wet. Speaking of kayaking, The Big Chill is on the water and has a dock and chairs for enjoying the mornings or sunset. They have two kayaks for use as well. I took a kayak out at the perfect time in the late afternoon - the water was like glass and the birds were out. We didn't have very good weather so I was happy I got at least one go in the kayak. Next time, and yes, I'd go back, I'd like to enjoy the decks and docks when they aren't wet from rain and when the weather is a bit warmer. Still, it was a lovely stay in a beautiful home. Oh, would like a bit earlier check in! 4 p.m. is late for me.

Response from the owner Thank you so much for taking the time to post a complete and detailed review. I was pleased that your group was able to even enjoy yourselves at The Big Chill. This was the rainiest February on record, and I think you were here on some the rainiest days I can ever remember! It was a totally waterlogged vacation! You ladies were troopers under lousy weather circumstances! Thankfully, you were able to get outside and into the Kayaks during a brief dry spell. I dont think you got to enjoy the outside Hot Tub though, and I know the hot tub was on your "must-have" list. On another note, I hope you dont mind if I clarify a few details for future guests and review readers. This past winter, due to house upkeep and improvements being scheduled during the quiet season, we rented the house to your group ( and others) at a reduced rate, but only as a 3-bedroom, without a laundry room. (instead of as a 4 -BR). We locked off part of the downstairs which included a bedroom, laundry room and bathroom. You were aware when you chose to rent as a 3 BR, that the Laundry Room would not be accessible to your group. All renters and guests in the future will rent the house as a 4 BR, with the laundry room included, so I want to be sure there is no misunderstanding to future guests that they might not have a laundry room, or that there is a hidden off bedroom. Also, yes we keep the kitchen fully stocked. We take pride in a good kitchen experience. We do keep industrial sized plastic wrap in the rounder in the corner under the coffee pot. In the drawer below the oven warmer, next to the trash compactor, is an entire collection of plastic containers. I gues you just missed that drawer! There is so much in the kitchen, that it could be easy to miss all the supplies provided. Thank you for suggesting that we add small ziploc baggies to the supply mix. The Big Chill takes pride in upholding standards like a 5-star. The 4PM check in is set because it takes time to "turn", clean, and prepare a 3000 sf 4-BR house properly for a group. Sometimes there are unexpected repairs and maintenance thatneeds to be done between check-out and check-in. There is both interior and exterior prep. I might possibly remember, that you did request an early check-in...and we were able to give you an early checkin, and also you asked for a late check out, and we were able to give that to your group also. We do try to flex whenever possible, but we like to leave room to accomplish everything. Again, thank you for the review, and I am glad that your group had fun!

“Relaxing Charleston experience”

Reviewed 31 Jan 2013

My stay was comfortable, relaxing, and brilliantly fun! The house was clean, food was supplied in the refrigerator, not to mention the lovely kayaking experience that comes from docks in the backyard! Charleston is a must see place, but renting the Bixlar property was a must if one is considering visiting Charleston! The bridge, battery, and many historical points were nearby, and the views were spectacular.

Response from the owner Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed Charleston.

Review 1-10 of 46

Also consider

Coastal South Carolina

7,981 properties

Edisto Island

491 properties

Charleston

234 properties

Folly Beach

192 properties

Garden City Beach

133 properties

Arcadian Shores

69 properties

Fripp Island

33 properties

Litchfield Beach

32 properties

Saint Helena Island

17 properties

Harbor Island

16 properties

Beaufort

15 properties

Johns Island

10 properties

Aiken

10 properties

Greenville

10 properties

Westminster

9 properties

Columbia

8 properties

Summerville

8 properties

Anderson

7 properties

Bluffton

7 properties

North Augusta

6 properties

Start a new search