From
$386 / night
Total guests, Nights approx:
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Waterfront with Dock, Kayaks and Hot Tub | Top Reviews | High style and clean! – Home 3740907 House

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 11 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Waterfront with Dock, Kayaks and Hot Tub | Top Reviews | High style and clean! – Home 3740907

  • House
  • 4 bedrooms
  • sleeps 11
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 50 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

House / 4 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms / sleeps 11

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 10 mi
  • Child Friendly
  • Car advised
  • Air conditioning
  • Pet Friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Unwind in total comfort with Stunning Views and Waterfront Living.

Walk out to the Dock with your glass of Wine.

Soak in a tub, Rock on the porch, Watch freighter ships go by....or swing in a Hammock or a Rope Chair.

It's all Your Choice !

Spot Dolphins in the water, ... Catch dinner off the dock.

Be active - Be lazy - Be comfortable -

Welcome to this legal rental property...on the Waterfront .....

.....immerse yourself in the full Charleston experience at our Big Chill.

Enjoy the entire Charleston Lifestyle....

Luxuriate in the natural beauty of the LowCountry....

Located near the foot of the famous Ravenel Bridge...

.......the best central spot to visit it all!

SLEEPING = 5 Beds + 2 Sofa Beds + 1 extra Twin Mattress

- 1 King Master Suite Upstairs

- 1 Queen Main Level

- 1 Queen Upstairs

- 2 Comfy Full Beds Upstairs in one Bedroom

- 2 Sofa Sleepers ( one in Upstairs Master and one in Main Level little Den )

- 1 Twin Mattress Cot can be placed where needed

BATHROOMS = 3.5 Bathrooms

- 1 Indulgent Spa Marble Bathroom for Master Suite. Soaking Tub, Dual Vanities, Toilet Closet, Glass Shower.

- 1 Main Level Large Bathroom ensuite for the Main Level Queen Bedroom. Walk in shower. Tiled with grab bar

- 1 Luxury Bathroom with Soaking Tub and Glass shower shared by the Upstairs Queen and Upstairs Doubles room.

- 1 Powder room off the kitchen hallway.

KEY FEATURES of Upscale House:

- Bed and Bath on Main Level for guests who avoid upstairs

- Luxury bathrooms and 2 indoor soaking tubs plus glass showers

- Lots of TV's w/ Satellite and premium channels

- 2 Dens

- Wrap around Porches with views and seating.

- Outdoor Decks in front and back of house

- Outdoor Weber Grill

- Outside Hot Tub

- Kayaking, Fishing, Paddle boarding and Crabbing on our Waterfront Dock.

- Boat launch in neighborhood.

- Mosquito Treatment Eradication Service.

- Gourmet Kitchen and open dining room.

- Hardwood Antique Pine floors in most rooms.

- 2 Dens.

- Ceiling fans in all rooms.

- Working fireplace.

- Satellite HDTV flat screen in nearly every room.

- Wi-Fi throughout

- Immaculately Clean!

- Fully equipped open style gourmet cooks kitchen. Stainless appliances. Gas range. Sub Zero Refrig. Oven and Warmer. Dishwasher.

- Granite countertops.

- Center Island.

- Front loading Washer / Dryer

WHO WILL LOVE IT HERE :

- tourists and visitors to Charleston

- women getaways

- family groups

- caring and considerate adults

PETS:

SOMETIMES WE ACCEPT A DOG. EXTRA PET FEE! MUST BE CRATE TRAINED, FULLY HOUSEBROKEN AND NON SHEDDING. NO PUPPIES. *** ONLY UPON OWNER APPROVAL and with extra fee.***

WHO IS NOT SUITED TO THIS PROPERTY:

"This is a neighborhood friendly home rental"

- NO wild and crazy party groups,

- NO Stag all Male Rooster Bachelor groups,

- NO Young Hen partying pre-wedding groups,

- NO Student groups.

- No School Spring Breakers

** PLEASE READ THE ENTIRE DESCRIPTION AND DETAILS !! ** .

We respect our guests, and we want you to be happy and comfortable that you have chosen the right rental for your stay.

.....................................................................

ABOUT EVENTS -

Please, NO EVENTS at this property! This house is for your group only.

-NO weddings in the backyard.

-NO rehearsal dinners, oyster roasts, shrimp boils, or wedding breakfasts. Please support our local businesses, venues, and restaurants for your event needs.

Please read and be informed ….

** We, the owners live in a private and separate apartment with a private entrance and private gated section. We give you privacy. We appreciate it if you choose this rental. We want you to be comfortable. **

Also please view our 5BR/ 4 BATH property ( with a pool ), just around the corner. Only 3 blocks away.

-

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King bed Sofa beds
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 4: 2 Full beds
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa beds Twin bed
  • 1 Full bath, 1 Half bath, 2 Attached (ensuites)

Amenities

  • Wireless Internet
  • Air conditioning
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Waterfront
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Staffed property
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

Car is desirable. Uber is available. 5.6 direct miles to the Downtown Charleston Historic Visitor Center.

Interaction with guest

Please read and be aware…. Note from the Owners, Laurie and George: **We live in a full Private Owner Apartment over the garage. We have separate “everything". We have our own deck area, grill, gated walkway, fenced garden, separate HVAC, and parking area. Our Pomeranian Dog loves playing and barking in our gated garden/entryway with our Manx Cat. We strive to give your group privacy. We don’t interact unless you want our attention. Our goal is your comfort and enjoyment. Thank you for making the right choice for your group.**

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To get covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

No refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.

Check-in date

House rules

We welcome Women's getaways and multi-generational groups. Maximum 2 kids. No Bachelor Party groups. Neighborhood behavior ONLY. No events or gatherings. No howling at the moon wild groups. One SMALL Dog allowed. Must be non shedding, housebroken, and CRATE TRAINED. Dog must be in crate if left alone in house. $200 fee for dog. NO Puppies.You must sign our personalized agreement, and send a $500 Refundable Security Deposit check plus ID. House protected by exterior surveillance cameras.

More

About the owner

Laurie B.

Tourist License
Legal Property

Average reply time:
2 hours 46 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 Jul 2019
Years listed:
7
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Excellent
50 reviews

Excellent
49
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Peaceful and serene”

Reviewed 2 Apr 2014

What a lovely place to spend the most perfect girls' weekend. The owners made it feel welcoming and comfortable, and the house felt very clean. The location was central: Minutes to downtown and several beaches.

Response from the owner Girl Groups really like the house. We pride ourselves on the Cleanliness of the Big Chill. Clean is Important! I hope you all enjoyed using the Hot Tub and the views. Did you Kayak or paddleboard? We sincerely appreciate our guests and we appreciate YOU.

“Fantastic chill house”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2013

Our immediate family (7 people) stayed at the Big Chill House for our daughter's wedding week. It was the perfect place... really better than the photos on this sight. Rooms are spacious and family friendly - with many tvs. The house and property were immaculate and offered so many amenities. Lots of towels, lots of dishes and pans, beautiful linens and pillows, and lots of little extras - nice soap in every bathroom, pasties and juice in the fridge, etc. The list goes on and on. The lovely owners met us - but never visited - although they were available by phone. We had a cookout one night and everyone loved sitting on the porch or walking to the dock. Our boys enjoyed the kayaks and paddle board. House is only 10 minutes from historic Charleston. Really hope we can come back. So much nicer than staying at a hotel. Would highly recommend this property.

Response from the owner Glad that you enjoyed our Kayaks and the new Stand Up Paddleboard.! Paddleboards are definitly the New thing! Our backyard is perfect for just enjoying the outdoor life of the Charleston area...and watching for wildlife and birds and dolphins. and also being so close to downtown and to the beaches makes this a perfect house for visiting groups. I know that you meant it as a positive comment that , "The lovely owners met us - but never visited" because we do live on the site, but very much try to give guests privacy. So I think your group enjoyed privacy! Again, thanks for being great guests and a great group!

“Worth the ride!”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2013

Our expectations were definitely met with our "home" for the week of our family vacation. Seven adults and one teenager had all the comforts of home at the Big Chill. Comfortable beds, spacious living and entertaining areas, HD TV, spacious kitchen, and a porch the envy of any truly southern home. I would not hesitate to recommend this exceptional lodging to anyone--and would love to visit again soon.

“Chill at The Big Chill”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2013

What a wonderful choice of an accommodation for our 2013 family vacation! It was everything and more than advertised. The Big Chill House will be included in our travel memories along with the landmarks and wonderful restaurants of Charleston and Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina. It truly became our home away from home. Everything that would make a guest comfortable was made available to us. From super comfortable mattresses and linen to every tool needed to cook a meal in-house was accessible to us. We loved to spend our mornings or resting after a day of sightseeing on the wonderful porch just taking in the view. Thanks for having videos and Charleston magazines located around the house to give help us create each day's itinerary. The location was wonderful! Although we were in the midst of a neighborhood, it still had a secluded/retreat feel and we were conveniently located near restaurants, groceries and the iconic arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge linking us to Charleston. Traveling with a group of photographers, we did not have to go far for a great picture opportunity. It was as close as the dock in the backyard. Thanks again for making our summer vacation a memorable one.

“An Experience to Remember”

Reviewed 18 Jun 2013

My family and I (8 total) spent a wonderful week as the guests of Laurie and George. From the moment we arrived, we knew that this was going to be a wonderful stay. George and Laurie were fantastic hosts - providing a very thorough walk through, tips on what to see and were just all around perfect. Privacy was not an issue and the home is absolutely beautiful!! The grounds, furnishings and location made it the perfect place to relax with family but access to the city was the crowning glory. Location and decor were my favorite aspects while having to leave was what I liked least! Thank you both for a wonderful stay!

“The Big Chill is a great retreat”

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had our family in for a destination wedding and stayed at the Big Chill. The owners were very accommodating and informative. Their place is exactly what you see in the pictures and more. The home is a combination old south meets technology and comfort. Our stay was exceptional and easy for such an important event as the wedding. We highly recommend the home and will do it again.

Response from the owner Thank you so much! You were terrific and wonderful guests. Congratualtions once again on your son's wedding. Boone Hall is a fabulous place for a wedding, but no one could have predicted such awful weather in May! We hope you come back and visit someday.

“Amazing!”

Reviewed 24 Mar 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful. It has state-of-the art appliances and amenities. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms amazing, and the kitchen was the spot where we spent the a good majority of our time. The location is absolutely amazing. We were close to downtown Charleston and could get to everything we wanted to see within 10-15 minutes. We loved the docks and kayaked several times. Laurie and George, you were a pleasure to deal with and I would definitely recommend this to everyone looking for a great stay in Charleston/Mt. Pleasant.

Response from the owner Thank you so much. A good review warms us. We really want every guest to have a wonderful and positive experience and return home with great memories. Terrific!

“Clean, comfortable, convenient!!”

Reviewed 23 Mar 2013

Eight 50+ women shared the house for a long weekend. It was fabulous. Quiet, well stocked and so comfortable. Bedding and baths were fabulous! Great kitchen!! Everything was perfect! So close to downtown Charleston! Our group was from all across the country and everyone loved it!!

Response from the owner Women's groups really seem to enjoy The Big Chill. We were thrilled that you chose The Big Chill....and we are really trhrilled for the positive review. We try to listen to all feedback and make the house as perfect as possible. Great Bedding...great kitchen...great areas to reconnect. Thank you for appreciating what we offer.

“Beautiful, comfortable waterfront home near Charleston”

Reviewed 28 Feb 2013

We enjoyed a girlfriend getaway to the Charleston area and were delighted with our accommodations. The Big Chill is located on a tidal river in Mt. Pleasant, just across the stunning Ravenel bridge from Charleston. You can be in downtown Charleston in about 10 minutes or less and at Sullivan's Island in about 15 minutes (depending on traffic). Good restaurants and excellent grocery options are within easy access. We shopped and cooked several times, not just because it's less expensive but because we were a group of foodie chefalas who enjoy cooking, especially in a well-stocked, beautiful kitchen. The Big Chill has this! There wasn't anything we couldn't find, except maybe some storage containers and ziplock bags. The beds were all comfie and had great pillows. I enjoyed the big, old fashioned tub and the rain shower in the pebbled shower. The owner's are on-sight in the garage apartment, which might be a downer for some. When I couldn't get the wifi on my phone it ended up being an advantage to have the owners nearby. They were great about making recommendations of things to do and places to eat, too. There is an extra bedroom and laundry room off the kitchen that comes with an additional expense and our size group did not need it. However, I would have liked to had been able to use the laundry facilities, especially since I went kayaking and got my clothes wet. Speaking of kayaking, The Big Chill is on the water and has a dock and chairs for enjoying the mornings or sunset. They have two kayaks for use as well. I took a kayak out at the perfect time in the late afternoon - the water was like glass and the birds were out. We didn't have very good weather so I was happy I got at least one go in the kayak. Next time, and yes, I'd go back, I'd like to enjoy the decks and docks when they aren't wet from rain and when the weather is a bit warmer. Still, it was a lovely stay in a beautiful home. Oh, would like a bit earlier check in! 4 p.m. is late for me.

Response from the owner Thank you so much for taking the time to post a complete and detailed review. I was pleased that your group was able to even enjoy yourselves at The Big Chill. This was the rainiest February on record, and I think you were here on some the rainiest days I can ever remember! It was a totally waterlogged vacation! You ladies were troopers under lousy weather circumstances! Thankfully, you were able to get outside and into the Kayaks during a brief dry spell. I dont think you got to enjoy the outside Hot Tub though, and I know the hot tub was on your "must-have" list. On another note, I hope you dont mind if I clarify a few details for future guests and review readers. This past winter, due to house upkeep and improvements being scheduled during the quiet season, we rented the house to your group ( and others) at a reduced rate, but only as a 3-bedroom, without a laundry room. (instead of as a 4 -BR). We locked off part of the downstairs which included a bedroom, laundry room and bathroom. You were aware when you chose to rent as a 3 BR, that the Laundry Room would not be accessible to your group. All renters and guests in the future will rent the house as a 4 BR, with the laundry room included, so I want to be sure there is no misunderstanding to future guests that they might not have a laundry room, or that there is a hidden off bedroom. Also, yes we keep the kitchen fully stocked. We take pride in a good kitchen experience. We do keep industrial sized plastic wrap in the rounder in the corner under the coffee pot. In the drawer below the oven warmer, next to the trash compactor, is an entire collection of plastic containers. I gues you just missed that drawer! There is so much in the kitchen, that it could be easy to miss all the supplies provided. Thank you for suggesting that we add small ziploc baggies to the supply mix. The Big Chill takes pride in upholding standards like a 5-star. The 4PM check in is set because it takes time to "turn", clean, and prepare a 3000 sf 4-BR house properly for a group. Sometimes there are unexpected repairs and maintenance thatneeds to be done between check-out and check-in. There is both interior and exterior prep. I might possibly remember, that you did request an early check-in...and we were able to give you an early checkin, and also you asked for a late check out, and we were able to give that to your group also. We do try to flex whenever possible, but we like to leave room to accomplish everything. Again, thank you for the review, and I am glad that your group had fun!

“Relaxing Charleston experience”

Reviewed 31 Jan 2013

My stay was comfortable, relaxing, and brilliantly fun! The house was clean, food was supplied in the refrigerator, not to mention the lovely kayaking experience that comes from docks in the backyard! Charleston is a must see place, but renting the Bixlar property was a must if one is considering visiting Charleston! The bridge, battery, and many historical points were nearby, and the views were spectacular.

Response from the owner Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed Charleston.

Review 1-10 of 50

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Laurie (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Laurie (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Laurie (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I know my booking is safe?

You'll need to send Laurie (the owner) an inquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.

If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.

Or you can send Laurie (the owner) an inquiry through the contact form to request a quote. Laurie (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Send Laurie (the owner) an inquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your dates. Laurie (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

Please note: only bookings paid for through our site are covered by Payment Protection.
Find out more about booking safely.

How do damage deposits work?

Laurie (the owner) of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if Laurie (the owner) supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact Laurie (the owner) directly if you have any questions.

How do I cancel my booking?

You'll need to contact Laurie (the owner) to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You'll need to contact Laurie (the owner) to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Coastal South Carolina

6,579 properties

Myrtle Beach

1,770 properties

North Myrtle Beach

1,498 properties

Hilton Head

1,128 properties

Daufuskie Island

664 properties

Edisto Island

450 properties

Isle of Palms

301 properties

Folly Beach

227 properties

Seabrook Island

213 properties

Surfside Beach

185 properties

Kiawah Island

146 properties

Garden City Beach

144 properties

Arcadian Shores

127 properties

Bluffton

122 properties

Charleston

121 properties

Litchfield Beach

111 properties

Pawleys Island

103 properties

Murrells Inlet

62 properties

Parris Island

50 properties

Fripp Island

44 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.