Vista Pines #234
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This 2 bedroom 2 bath home has a king in the master bedroom. The second bedroom has 1 queen and 1 twin. The house was built in 1940 and is in its original condition. The full kitchen is modestly equipped (incl. dishwasher) and has a dining area. The home has one full bath and one 3/4 bath plus Washer/Dryer. This property is in it originally built condition and economically priced. The property is partially fenced.Charcoal BBQ
Vista Pines #234
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$230 - $405||$230 - $405||$0||$0||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$230||$230||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$353||$353||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$248||$248||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Dirty property and no response to email complaints
Nice from the outside. The inside was filthy! We had to go out and buy our own cleaning supplies to clean kitchens and bathrooms before use.
Chunks of food on the floor under the chair in the living room, faulty heater, unkept fire place, filthy kitchen counters, floor and table.
Previous renters food in cupboards, cigarette butts and full cups used for ashtrays on the back deck. Poor excuse for pots/pans. Silverware with caked on food in the drawers.
And after 3 emails, have not received a response from the rental company...
The only positive of the property was its location!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in Vista Pines. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. However, if you had called our office upon discovery of the state of the home we would have gladly sent house keeping out to get the home up to par for you.
Its a really nice place to spent it with your friends and family a lot room. The only problem would be to uprgrade television and better beds.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/17/2012
It’s excellent to see you had such a wonderful time at Vista Pines! Your review is very helpful as well, as it allows us to address concerns that our guests might have with a vacation home. Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We hope you will consider us for future stays here in Big Bear!
San Diego CA
It was a little below of what we expected
Furniture, finishings, bathrooms and the whole house is quite old but meets the basic requirement. Kitchen appliances are to cry for. Heating beside the kitchen did not work at all. Great location close to the village.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/15/2012
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We appreciate all feedback that our guests have to offer and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Cozy Little Cabin
It was a perfect little trip for our family get away. The bedroom arrangements worked out perfectly for myself, my wife and son and my inlaws. We had plenty of room and were able to stay nice and toasty. An upgraded TV would have been nice but it worked ok for us, we brought our own blu-ray player but the tv didn't allow for a good video input.
The location was perfect..we were a quick drive from the village and even closer to the lake. The back yard was very spacious, my son had a blast playing in the snow in the back yard.
The check-in process was quick and easy, signed a few papers and we were in. The check out process was even better, just dropped off the key and we were on our way down the mountain.
I saw some of the other reviews that had problems with no screens on the windows and that's definitely the case. We didn't have a problem with it since it was winter but I wouldn't want to be there during the summer, we'd have to keep the windows closed to keep the bugs out and it doesn't seem like it has a/C.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/07/2012
It's great to see you had such a nice time in Vista Pines. And thank you so much for the informative review! We evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Fun and relaxing
Had a blast the cabin was nice and clean and fully stocked with dishes etc
The house was as advertised, original (old) construction. Everything worked reasonably well considering the age. There has been considerable work on apperance and safety to address issues in previous reviews such as new paint and clean but natural yard. Plumbing improvements to provide consistent hot water in the showeres should be next. The location is good. This is a relatively quiet neighborhood that is within easy walking distance of the lake and Shore acres lodge beach. It is very central to town, marinas, restaurants and convenience stores. Having lived in Big Bear, I recommend this neighborhood to newcomers to become familiar with Big Bear life.
North Las Vegas, NV.
Ok. Could use some updates for price. Approx. $500.00 for 2 nigh
The house was ok. Looked like no ones been there in a while. Lots of spiders a couple ants. Hot at night in house no air, no fans, some windows unable to open due to either no screens or holes. Other than that Big Bear Lake was alot of fun. I would come back but for the price they charge I will definately stay at another location.
I went to Big Bear with a few friends and it was the best I could find considering it was a last minute and I didn't want to pay extra for a bigger property. This property is a few minute walk to the lake. It is an older property (there are newer and nice properties around) but kept well. If value is important to you, I'd definitely recommend this cabin.
- No two-night minimum requirement
- Check-in process was easy and quick
- Pet friendly
- No separate heater in the bedrooms
- Wall heaters in the living room area and kitchen area wasn't working during my stay (we had some weird weather during my stay and it was freezing at night)
- Mattresses can be replaced. Felt like they were ten years old
Overall, it was great for the price. The weather ruined our trip but I would definitely recommend to people who are looking to just get away for a day or two but don't want to spend tons of money.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Great 4th of July
My family and I visited Big Bear for the July 4th weekend with our 2 dogs. We knew that the cabin was built in the 1940's so the furniture and general "old" feel of the cabin was not a surprise, it kinda added to the experience for us. While the inside of the house has been maintained decently the outside and backyard areas have been very poorly maintained. The backyard deck is very rickety and I myself got splinters in my hands just touching the railing to walk down the stairs. There were a lot of ants in our bathroom but I guess that is to be expected on a mountain. The daytime hours got very warm but it was difficult to find windows that we could open because there were no screens, so it was either be hot or let the bugs in. Those screen definitely need to be fixed!! We really enjoyed the cabin's close proximity to the lake and our dogs and children had a blast at the beach and dock that we were permitted to use from the Shore acres Lodge. All in all we had a great experience and got to watch a phenomenal fireworks show . I highly recommend this area to stay but not necessarily this cabin.
Its fine at "Vista Pines"
The cabin was ideal for us as we have two young children and dogs, all of whom enjoyd the big back yard and the close proximity to Big Bear lake. It was also spacious inside and the fire was a great place to relax beside in the evenings.
The cabin and furniture are not the most modern but this added to the experience for us.
Our only complaint was that one of the heaters had a very noisy fan...... we fixed this by not using it (the other two heaters and the fire kept the whole cabin warm).
Big Daddy K
Great in Big Bear
We rented some Harly Davidsons and rode up to Big Bear. The cabin was clean and cozy. The smell of Pines and crisp air was refreshing.
We'll be back again.
Needs some care, dusty and dirty palce
Unfortunately, it has not been a very pleasant stay. no light bulbs, spider web everywhere, no trash bags. Will not recommend to anyone.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/31/2009
Big Bear Vacations does our best to ensure qulaity for every guest before their arrival. At times Big Bear Vacations misses on that standard, in which case we rely on our guest to inform us immediately so that our 24 hour maintenance and in house housekeeping staff can immediately resolve the issues. Extra Light bulbs and trash bags are available at our office during regular business hours.
anaheim hill, ca
Pretty cool place, pretty big, two family rooms, two bath, two bedrooms, can't go wrong with that.
I would recommend it, plenty of room for about 6 peoples as long as some can sleep on the 3 couches, and or 3, lazy boys.
Brea, Ca 92821
A stay at Vista Pines #234
The cabin we stayed at was really nice. There were a few things that needed fixing up but it was defiantly better than staying in a hotel. I would recommend my friends and family to rent a cabin vs staying in a hotel because it makes your trip feel more like your own home away from home.
convenient and comfortable
Four adults stayed at the Vista cabin. It was roomy and comfortable and close to the lake. The best feature was the two bedrooms that had beds suitable for adults, no bunk beds. It also had two bathrooms.
The kitchen was great and roomy.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.
This cabin is a nightmare!
this was my first time in big bear and renting a cabin and it was the worst
experience ever. We were stuck in the driveway b/c it was not plowed thanks
to our neighbors who pulled us out, we did not have to spend money for a
tow truck. I called big bear vacations customer service and she was no help
and not sympathetic at all. She asked if we had chains on, im coming from
out of town where it doesnt snow, and it didnt snow when we arrived, didnt
know we need chains just to drive out of the driveway?she couldnt provide
us with a name of a tow company she said she can't look one up that's how
bad customer service was. We were stuck there with no food and no water.
The cabin was nasty and it was cold even with the heater on and we had
our 3 kids with us, one is only 1 years old. Finally a cab came and picked up
my husband to go get water and told him dominoes delivered. We were
suppose to stay another night but I couldnt stand being there any longer and
left early. No one asked us if there was a problem or anything. Customer
service was bad and the accomodation was horrible, a nightmare! We were
not Able to go anywhere until our car was pulled out the next afternoon and
the beds were gross
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/10/2008
We are truly sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. I will acknowledge that this property is pre-rated as a 1 star. We have many finer cabins up to 5 star properties. We will be communicating your quality concerns to the homeowner and appreciate the fact you are helping us with the comments you took the time to write. Winters in Big Bear are unpredictable and often times bring snow. Chains are required to be carried at all times in winter months. As for your issue with our customer service, It is our practice to have a much higher standard of customer service, and your comments will be addressed applicably.