Station Bay House
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Enjoy luxurious afternoons on the decks overlooking the ocean, or relax on the screened porch watching the sunset at "Station Bay House". Close to the Sanderling community pool and tennis, you will enjoy every minute in this captivating oceanfront home. Pine floors, fine furnishings and a location by the sea give this enchanting destination "two thumbs up" for a family vacation to build memories for a lifetime. Pine floors and wainscoting throughout the house add to the already warm, cozy atmosphere. Just four doors down from Sanderling Inn and restaurants.Top Level: Great Room with Flat Screen TV/Digital Cable, DVD, Stereo, Dining Table (10...Read more
Station Bay House
Duck, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,675 - $3,850||$0||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$2,675||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$2,975||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||-||$3,650||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||-||$3,650||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 5 2013||-||$3,650||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||-||$3,850||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 19 2013||-||$3,850||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 20 2013 - Jul. 26 2013||-||$3,850||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||-||$3,850||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$3,850||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$3,825||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||-||$3,825||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||-||$2,175||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$2,175||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Sep. 13 2013||-||$1,800||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 14 2013 - Sep. 20 2013||-||$1,800||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 21 2013 - Sep. 27 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 28 2013 - Oct. 4 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 5 2013 - Oct. 11 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 12 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|View all 20 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 05, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Though perfectly situated in Sanderling - beautiful view, private beach, this property is poorly managed. We were greeted w/ an overwhelming stench of mold and mildew. We aired it out the first day & then the agency came and sprayed institutional strength "Airlift", so of course we needed to air everything out again. The carpet is filthy which may be the culprit. The deck furniture was also very dirty so sitting and enjoying the sunset required some serious cleaning and raking of the cobwebs. The deck and walkways are old and splintery so be careful if you brings young ones. I noticed in reading the reviews on the rental agencies website that this property was given 3-4 stars, however, that was 3-4 years ago, there were no current reviews. My bad! Should have scrutinized that before I signed the lease, and checked in w/ Trip advisor. I am very disappointed that the agency would not have been upfront w/ us considering we have rented w/ them for years.
Response from Outer Banks Blue - 07/23/2012
Thank you for your review of this property. This house is one of most popular due to the location and view from the property.
We are disappointed to read your negative feelings about the property however as you know every property is privately owned and equipped pursuant to the tastes of the homeowner. The carpet was actually cleaned in May so we think your assessment is a bit harsh on that particular matter.
We apologize for the moldy smell that you said you encountered. A chemical was used to neutralize the odor that came as a result of the padding of the carpet getting wet in the property. This was not an ongoing problem and again we apologize that this occurred during your stay.
We do pride ourselves on full disclosure on all properties. Your comments seem to indicate that we did not properly inform you about the property which we respectfully disagree about. We have no reason not to tell all of our guests everything there is to know about a property. Without full disclosure during the booking process our guests would be very upset each week.
Thanks again for your candor and for taking the time to let us know of your stay.
All the best from the beach!
Great House on the beach
Very nice spacious house...easy walk over the dunes to the beach. Would rent again, also like the availability of the Sanderling Club.
The location of this house is perfect. The views are amazing but the house is in
dire need of updates. There is an overwhelming odor of mustiness throughout
the house. Some of the linens were stained. The internet access is spotty at
best. The yard is overgrown complete with a fox habitat. The dune deck is
covered with sand, which prevents usage. The grill needs to be replaced with a
standard charcoal grill that can be re used and cleaned. We have been coming
to the outer banks for over 25 yrs and understand that many rentals are old
but this time it was tough to get over the yard & foxes. We will be back next
year but will not stay at Station Bay House
Great family vacation house.
The house was very clean when we arrived. It is well designed to host 2 families and leave everyone with room to breathe. Fantastic location on the Outer Banks. Quite a few nails sticking up on the main top porch and the less than sturdy railing made all the parents a bit nervous with the smaller children. That would be our only complaint. Otherwise we greatly enjoyed our 2 weeks!
This house is very spacious and beautifully furnished. Great bay views too!
Charming Oceanfront House
We spent a wonderful week at the Station Bay House and had a wonderful time. This is
the first time that we stayed in a vacation rental home instead of a hotel -- and it was almost perfect.Its absolutely fabulous to have the ocean as your backyard. The house was tastefully decorated and nicely furnished.
One major issue we had ...the AC was not working when we checked in and it took repeated calls and 4 days to get it
fixed. But we were glad to get compensated for our troubles.If not for this issue I would have rated this house
New Bern, NC
Wonderful Ocean Views
Station Bay House is the perfect beach house for a family. The private ocean access and outdoor shower made it easy to take small children back and forth to the beach. The only thing we found wrong with the house was the water pressure was low in the outdoor shower. We cook every night and the kitchen was the most well equipped we have ever had. Loved the pine flooring on the main level because it was so easy to keep clean. The decor and furnishings were cheerful with enough places for everyone to sit, eat & be comfortable. Loved all the deck furniture. You could see the ocean or sound from almost all the windows so you felt as if you were outside all the time. The house was super clean.
We have been renting beach houses from Duck to Corolla for 15 years and Outer Banks Blue is the only company that has really gotten the rental process right. The online booking was a plus but the most impressive aspect was having our check-in packet with house entry code mailed to us ahead of time so we did not have to drive out of our way to an office. We were also not required to check-out at an office. This saved us vacation time and hassels. I hope I never have to rent from another company!
Comfortable and re-invigorating
Great property for a family. Fantastic ocean and sound views. Very well provisioned and comfortable. Hated to leave.