Need more information about booking Property 2177889 ?

1 / 21 Sitting Area Slider To Back Deck / Yard

from $116 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Sleeps 5 / House
Bedrooms: 2  Sleeps: 5  Type: House
Vista Pines Original Rustic Mountain Cabin~Wood Burning Fireplace~Walk To Town~
TripAdvisor property ID 2177889

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom house in Big Bear Region today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a dishwasher among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 16 reviews.

The manager responds to 90% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 24, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Big Bear Vacations
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Big-bear-reg Attractions




  • Fireplace


  • Dishwasher


  • Satellite TV


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (16)

Average – based on 16 reviews Average
16 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Dirty property and no response to email complaints”

Reviewed 6 Feb 2012

Nice from the outside. The inside was filthy! We had to go out and buy our own cleaning supplies to clean kitchens and bathrooms before use. Chunks of food on the floor under the chair in the living room, faulty heater, unkept fire place, filthy kitchen counters, floor and table. Previous renters food in cupboards, cigarette butts and full cups used for ashtrays on the back deck. Poor excuse for pots/pans. Silverware with caked on food in the drawers. And after 3 emails, have not received a response from the rental company... The only positive of the property was its location!

Response from the manager We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in Vista Pines. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. However, if you had called our office upon discovery of the state of the home we would have gladly sent house keeping out to get the home up to par for you.

“vary Cozy”

Reviewed 4 Jan 2012

Its a really nice place to spent it with your friends and family a lot room. The only problem would be to uprgrade television and better beds.

Response from the manager It’s excellent to see you had such a wonderful time at Vista Pines! Your review is very helpful as well, as it allows us to address concerns that our guests might have with a vacation home. Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We hope you will consider us for future stays here in Big Bear!

“It was a little below of what we expected”

Reviewed 28 Dec 2011

Furniture, finishings, bathrooms and the whole house is quite old but meets the basic requirement. Kitchen appliances are to cry for. Heating beside the kitchen did not work at all. Great location close to the village.

Response from the manager Thank you for your constructive criticism. We appreciate all feedback that our guests have to offer and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

“Cozy Little Cabin”

Reviewed 14 Dec 2011

It was a perfect little trip for our family get away. The bedroom arrangements worked out perfectly for myself, my wife and son and my inlaws. We had plenty of room and were able to stay nice and toasty. An upgraded TV would have been nice but it worked ok for us, we brought our own blu-ray player but the tv didn't allow for a good video input. The location was perfect..we were a quick drive from the village and even closer to the lake. The back yard was very spacious, my son had a blast playing in the snow in the back yard. The check-in process was quick and easy, signed a few papers and we were in. The check out process was even better, just dropped off the key and we were on our way down the mountain. I saw some of the other reviews that had problems with no screens on the windows and that's definitely the case. We didn't have a problem with it since it was winter but I wouldn't want to be there during the summer, we'd have to keep the windows closed to keep the bugs out and it doesn't seem like it has a/C.

Response from the manager It's great to see you had such a nice time in Vista Pines. And thank you so much for the informative review! We evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.

“Fun and relaxing”

Reviewed 29 Sep 2011

Had a blast the cabin was nice and clean and fully stocked with dishes etc

“Nice Weekend”

Reviewed 15 Sep 2011

The house was as advertised, original (old) construction. Everything worked reasonably well considering the age. There has been considerable work on apperance and safety to address issues in previous reviews such as new paint and clean but natural yard. Plumbing improvements to provide consistent hot water in the showeres should be next. The location is good. This is a relatively quiet neighborhood that is within easy walking distance of the lake and Shore acres lodge beach. It is very central to town, marinas, restaurants and convenience stores. Having lived in Big Bear, I recommend this neighborhood to newcomers to become familiar with Big Bear life.

“Ok. Could use some updates for price. Approx. $500.00 for 2 nigh”

Reviewed 24 Aug 2011

The house was ok. Looked like no ones been there in a while. Lots of spiders a couple ants. Hot at night in house no air, no fans, some windows unable to open due to either no screens or holes. Other than that Big Bear Lake was alot of fun. I would come back but for the price they charge I will definately stay at another location.

“Great Value”

Reviewed 24 Jun 2011

I went to Big Bear with a few friends and it was the best I could find considering it was a last minute and I didn't want to pay extra for a bigger property. This property is a few minute walk to the lake. It is an older property (there are newer and nice properties around) but kept well. If value is important to you, I'd definitely recommend this cabin. Pros: - No two-night minimum requirement - Location - Price - Check-in process was easy and quick - Pet friendly Cons: - No separate heater in the bedrooms - Wall heaters in the living room area and kitchen area wasn't working during my stay (we had some weird weather during my stay and it was freezing at night) - Mattresses can be replaced. Felt like they were ten years old Overall, it was great for the price. The weather ruined our trip but I would definitely recommend to people who are looking to just get away for a day or two but don't want to spend tons of money.

“Great 4th of July”

Reviewed 5 Jul 2010

My family and I visited Big Bear for the July 4th weekend with our 2 dogs. We knew that the cabin was built in the 1940's so the furniture and general "old" feel of the cabin was not a surprise, it kinda added to the experience for us. While the inside of the house has been maintained decently the outside and backyard areas have been very poorly maintained. The backyard deck is very rickety and I myself got splinters in my hands just touching the railing to walk down the stairs. There were a lot of ants in our bathroom but I guess that is to be expected on a mountain. The daytime hours got very warm but it was difficult to find windows that we could open because there were no screens, so it was either be hot or let the bugs in. Those screen definitely need to be fixed!! We really enjoyed the cabin's close proximity to the lake and our dogs and children had a blast at the beach and dock that we were permitted to use from the Shore acres Lodge. All in all we had a great experience and got to watch a phenomenal fireworks show . I highly recommend this area to stay but not necessarily this cabin.

“Its fine at "Vista Pines"”

Reviewed 14 Jan 2010

The cabin was ideal for us as we have two young children and dogs, all of whom enjoyd the big back yard and the close proximity to Big Bear lake. It was also spacious inside and the fire was a great place to relax beside in the evenings. The cabin and furniture are not the most modern but this added to the experience for us. Our only complaint was that one of the heaters had a very noisy fan...... we fixed this by not using it (the other two heaters and the fire kept the whole cabin warm).

Review 1-10 of 16