From
$189 / night
Total guests, Nights

Elegant luxury, and barefoot bliss on an almost private beach – Home 3079134 Villa

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  • 2 nights min stay

Elegant luxury, and barefoot bliss on an almost private beach – Home 3079134

  • Villa
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  • 2 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Swimming pool
  • Child Friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • Air conditioning
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

The house exudes an aura of peace and tranquility, as many of our guests have commented. Walking in through the hidden front garden, you just cannot help but feel elated by that first wonderful view of the ocean.

We love this beach house, designed for us by our architect son, not only because we were involved in the building process from day one, but because it exceeded all our expectations. The building materials, artisans and labour were mostly locally sourced because we wanted to support the local community, and by doing this we have got to know the people of the area. We came to this village as strangers, but now we have no hesitation in calling this our home away from home.

This is our bolt-hole, to unwind and recharge; but much as we would like to, we don't get the chance to vacation without limit. So, we want to share the wonderful experience of staying at this enchanting location with people from around the world.

Be warned, you will be spoiled rotten by our staff. Our housekeeper Buddika and chef Sachika will cook, clean and generally take care of all the chores and make sure you feel at home from the moment you arrive so that you can get down to some serious vacationing. Do ask if you have any special requests; we try our best to cater to our guests' individual needs and preferences. Sachika makes mouthwatering Sri Lankan fare as well as international dishes, so tell him the level of your spice meter and prepare to feast.

We can arrange transport for your trips, tours and transfers and help you in the event of unforeseen problems. Our property is staffed 24 hours, with Nelson doing night duty when Buddika and Sachika finish their work day.

The staff is available when you need them, but always in the background and never intrusive. They are very sensitive to your need for privacy.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Crib
  • High chair

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: 2 Twin beds
    Bedroom 2: 2 Twin beds
    Bedroom 3: 2 Twin beds
  • 3 Attached (ensuites)

Amenities

  • Wireless Internet
  • Air conditioning
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Private garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Safe
  • Staffed property
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Housekeeping Included

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

The cheapest way to get around is by bus. The bus stops almost opposite our gate every 15 minutes or so, so hop on for a 15 minute ride to Hikkaduwa or 25 minutes to Galle. The railway station is a mere 3 minutes away. Tuk-tuks are readily available, and we can arrange a people carrier at short notice.

Interaction with guest

We try to personally welcome our guests whenever this is possible. Occasionally, when we are not in Sri Lanka, we call our guests on the day they arrive to find out if all is well and whether help is needed in making any special arrangements. Wherever we happen to be, we can always be contacted by phone or email 24/7. Hosting people from around the world must be one of the best jobs ever. It is very satisfying to know our guests' stay has been truly memorable.

Policies

Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: ($227.44) €200.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

Smoking allowed outdoors including the terrace.

Please shower before getting into the swimming pool.

Bedroom furniture and fittings may not be displaced by guests. Please ask the staff in case you wish to change your bed configuration from double to single, etc.

More

About the owner

Nirmala D.

Tourist License
-

Calendar last updated:
25 Feb 2021
Years listed:
8
Based in:
Netherlands
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, French, German, Dutch

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Excellent
18 reviews

Excellent
15
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Paradise!”

Reviewed 9 Jan 2017

Our grown up family spent Christmas at the villa and it exceeded all our expectations. The staff were friendly and attentive and the meals were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble including arrangin… More

Response from the owner Thank you for your kind words. It gives us, your hosts and the villa staff, an immense feeling of satisfaction when we hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We love meeting all the wonderful people from around the world who choose our rental for a beach holiday.

“Perfect luxurious beach holiday!”

Reviewed 28 Dec 2016

Although most of the reviews are so positive we were (to tell the truth) a bit worried about the road noise mentioned in the last couple of reviews but decided to book anyway, and so happy we did. … More

Response from the owner Hosting you and your lovely family was a pleasure for us and the staff of Olu Beach Villa. Thank you for your kind comments.

“Nice villa set very close to the beach”

Reviewed 28 Apr 2016

We spent a week here at Olu Beach villa in April (family of 5 with 3 young children). What we loved -The proximity to the beach, accessible via a gate at the bottom of the garden. The sunsets were … More

Response from the owner Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Be assured I will look into the shortcomings you mention, the staff is employed to do more than just be pleasant and friendly. We have been experiencing unusually hot and humid weather since March and your stay in April coincided with the worst of it. There has been rain since then and wonderful cool breezes are once again keeping the living areas cool and comfortable.

“Excellent villa but would advise to self cater”

Reviewed 13 Apr 2016

We loved the villa, the grounds, the beach and the pool. The location is excellent and very beautiful. We had a few issues but these did not prevent us having one of our most enjoyable holidays to dat… More

Response from the owner Thank you for taking the time to give us such valuable feedback. I am so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Although I am sorry there was a misunderstanding about the staff leaving without clearing up after your evening meal. Generally all the day staff leave by 6 pm, and that is why we ask you to rinse the dishes and stack them in the kitchen to be washed when the staff arrive the next morning. Our guests don't generally have a problem with this. This is keeping in mind that the cook and caretaker arrive at the villa by 07:30 am (or earlier, if requested) to prepare and serve breakfast, which means a 10 hour work day. Our operation is too small to have a larger workforce doing shift duty, hence the request to guests to clear up after the evening meal. Prices for meals must fluctuate according to what you choose to eat. A vegetarian meal will naturally cost less than a meal which includes seafood etc. We can provide full-board on request, but this must be done at the time the reservation is made. I wish you had asked me about this option. The power cut which lasted all of 15 minutes was very unfortunate, and I regret the inconvenience you experienced.

“Chilled out beach holiday.”

Reviewed 27 Mar 2016

Spent a wonderful 5 days just chilling out at the villa. The staff were absolutely brilliant and could not do enough to make sure everything was perfect. One word of warning, if your on a diet don… More

Response from the owner Thank you, we are so happy you had an enjoyable stay.

“Beachside holiday”

Reviewed 14 Nov 2015

The Good; The house is in a beautiful location, right on the beach. The design is light, open and airy, capturing every sea breeze available. the furnishings are comfortable and the ambiance relaxing… More

Response from the owner I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings you have mentioned about some aspects of your stay with us. Allow me to clarify the points raised by you. We ask our guests to place their breakfast order in the evening for the following morning, but, you had consistently failed to do so. The cook had to purchase ingredients and prepare your breakfast whilst catering to last minute requests. The one and only additional charge was approximately US$2.50 for a bottle of olive oil. There were no other additional charges, so your claim about a charge of $10-15 per day is, to put it kindly, an exageration! The linen was changed in two of the bedrooms when your group decided to change the bedrooms on the second night. The rooms/bathrooms were cleaned on two occasions, the only occasions when you actually allowed my staff access to the rooms. Our staff do not enter private spaces (the bedrooms) without permission from guests. You were actually provided with a towel change, again proving your claim to be untrue. Light duvets were provided when requested - it is generally too hot for duvets even with the ac on, so they are not standard issue. Traffic noise can be heard only in the bedroom on the street side, so yes, light sleepers using this room should use ear plugs. Yes, we have a very eco-friendly wc system which works beautifully with the waste bins for non organic waste. It is clean and efficient. There are never flies in the bathrooms. All our guests until now have shared our high standards of hygiene, and allowed our staff to clean the bathrooms daily! I am astounded that you never once called me during your stay (on the house telephone, at no cost to you), to register a complaint. I spoke to you on the day you arrived at the villa and told you to contact me if you had any problems or questions. By the way, I discovered that Tripadvisor had actually sent you an email reminder, with a copy to me which I found when I did a better search, about the second payment being due. It was no fault of Tripadvisor but an oversight on your part. Your booking was eventually reinstated with no additional costs to you, which I found to be very gracious on their part, do you not agree?

“Absolute Delight”

Reviewed 19 Sep 2015

Booking on the internet all the way from New Zealand seemed like quite a risk, but from the moment we arrived we were more than delighted with our decision. The villa is architecturally beautiful wit… More

“Wonderful Stay!”

Reviewed 29 Mar 2015

If you are looking for somewhere private and peaceful for a vacation, I highly recommend visiting Olu Beach Villa, as we had a most relaxing time for 7 days. Although it’s a 2.5 hour drive from … More

“Paradise exists here”

Reviewed 28 Mar 2015

The Olu Beach Villa was truly the ultimate holiday- relaxing, restful and rejuvenating! We were there with two little boys (3 and 1 year old) and the visiting grand parents. We rented all three bedroo… More

“Paradiset!”

Reviewed 23 Jan 2015

Jag och mina 6 väninnor hyrde Villan 10 nätter i Januari 2015, bilder och beskrivning stämde mycket väl med Villan. Ett fantastiskt läge på en lugn och mycket vacker str… More

Review 1-10 of 18

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Nirmala (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Nirmala (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Nirmala (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Nirmala the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Nirmala (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Nirmala (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Nirmala (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Nirmala (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Nirmala (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Nirmala (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Nirmala (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Nirmala (the owner) a message.

If Nirmala (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Galle District

826 properties

Hikkaduwa

238 properties

Galle

170 properties

Unawatuna

128 properties

Matara

126 properties

Tangalle

65 properties

Mirissa

62 properties

Ambalangoda

52 properties

Ahangama

46 properties

Bentota

44 properties

Habaraduwa

39 properties

Tissamaharama

31 properties

Talpe

26 properties

Koggala

25 properties

Dikwella

17 properties

Kirinda

15 properties

Balapitiya

10 properties

Induruwa

10 properties

Walahanduwa

7 properties

Dodanduwa

7 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.