From
$244 / night
Total guests, Nights

Luxury 2 bedroom barn conversion near Torbay Devon – Home 3672366 Cottage

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 5 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Luxury 2 bedroom barn conversion near Torbay Devon – Home 3672366

  • Cottage
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 5
  •  min stay varies

Key Info

  • Child Friendly
  • Pet Friendly

Description from owner

Description

This converted detached barn nestling in a small exclusive development, is less than 2 miles to the resorts of Torbay, 5 from Totnes and 12 from Dartmouth. Located on the edge of Collaton St Mary, the property affords some lovely views over the surrounding South Hams countryside. This single story cottage has been furnished and equipped to a high standard and retains many of the original features, ensuring a real comfortable and relaxing, home from home. The cottage is in an ideal location, providing easy access to a wide variety of towns, villages, attractions and places of interest for all ages and for all weather! These include Paignton Zoo, a waterpark, a golf course, steam passenger railway, miles of cycling and hiking trails, various country parks and craft centres and some beautiful National Heritage and National Trust properties and gardens, including Greenway (home of Agatha Christie). Some fantastic Blue Flag Beaches are within 5 miles and Dartmoor National Park is only a 30 minute drive away.

There are 2 bedrooms. One king and the second bedroom has a tri- bunk i.e. a single on top and small double below. This bed suits 2 adults or up to 3 children happy to share.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King bed
  • 1 Full bath

Amenities

  • Wireless Internet
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 17:00, Check out time: 09:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: ($212.13) £150.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

Pets only allowed subject to approval of request at the time of booking. A supplementary charge of £30 is levied.

More

About the owner

Dawn R.
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 May 2021
Years listed:
9
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Very Good
13 reviews

Excellent
8
Very Good
2
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
0

“Great accommodation for a family holiday.”

Reviewed 24 Aug 2017

A lovely holiday home set back from the town of Paignton. We visited as a family with our little ones. Easy access to nearby Torquay, Brixham, and Dartmouth. We also had a great day out in Exeter. Th… More

Response from the owner Andrew, thank you for your very kind review. I'm so pleased you and your family had a lovely time and we would welcome the opportunity to host you again.

“Delightful cottage - a fabulous find!”

Reviewed 24 Jan 2017

As regular holiday makers in the UK and big fans of the South West, we have become very accustomed to good and bad properties over the years - and patrons! So were delighted to have discovered this lo… More

Response from the owner Thank you for your kind feedback and we were very pleased to be able to help you locate and recover the valuables you accidentally left behind. Thank you also for the hand written note of thanks, which was much appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again this coming Autumn.

“Nice house & area, problems with additional charges.”

Reviewed 29 Dec 2016

We stayed here for my wife’s 50th Birthday in November 2016 and the cottage rental was a gift from our friends. Landlord agreed to our dog, Illy, staying with us. Unfortunately, the weather was … More

Response from the owner This review is clearly written out of disgruntlement as a result of our decision to withhold some of the damage deposit to cover additional cleaning costs. I want to take the opportunity to respond to this review in a factual manner. The friends who booked the cottage on behalf of these guests were notified of the problems within hours of the guests departure. Having had a chance to advise their friends (these guests), the response we received within 24 hrs refuted/denied any problems. I then provided the pre-arrival video and post departure images by email within 48 hrs. (The problem was not one of my server but one of receipt on account of the size of the image files). The only delay in responding was that all my communications were being channeled via the friends of these guests, who actually made and paid for the booking. The pre-arrival video clearly showed the property to be left in a very presentable state and the post departure images clearly showed the issues of excessive dog hair on the floor, staining to the sofa throws and fabric curtain. These guests were advised that the damage deposit would be withheld until we could ascertain the cost of cleaning and as all fabrics were washable, we chose this route and not dry cleaning, (which incidentally would have cost more as would replacement items). The nature of the staining required two attempts at removal and the guests (their friends) were charged fairly and accordingly and the balance of the deposit was duly returned. We have been accused, and I quote, "of punitive opportunism" however, whilst we do expect and accept there to be reasonable wear and tear, we believe our actions not be opportunistic but to be fair under the circumstances and the evidence we could also provide. It is a pity that these guests could not be more gracious in their acknowledgment and acceptance of responsibility.

“Okey stay but would not return”

Reviewed 21 Sep 2015

Stayed here with some friends in August, cottage was nice enough, the lounge is the better room with the beamed ceiling and quirky features, the bedrooms are definitely on the small side for 5 adults,… More

Response from the owner Sadly this review does not reflect the reality of the situation surrounding this group stay. As with all our guests, we are very diligent about keeping copies of correspondence, be they letters, emails or texts, so that, as for these guests, we can refer to communications if required. This group of 5 women booked to stay at the cottage during the summer holidays and made a reservation in full knowledge of the cottage configuration (which is as advertised), including the two reserved parking spaces which is not only normally sufficient for a group of this size, but increasingly rare for rental properties. After clarifying it was a booking for 5 friends, we also made available the use of a sofa bed at no extra charge, including linen and towels. Whilst there were some delays in getting responses to our communications, due to apparent problems with the client’s phone and email, in addition to being in contact in advance of the trip, providing information and answering questions, we were also in contact during the stay to check everything was OK. It was during the stay that we received a text saying “the cottage has been beautiful, even if the weather hasn’t been… “. After the trip we also received an email stating “we had a lovely time and would love to revisit in the future”. This perspective however changed when the client learned that we were not able to return their security deposit. This was based on the fact that on arriving after they had left, as is practice, to conduct the usual changeover, we were required to bringing in extra cleaning support to get the cottage ready for next guests, on account of the amount of grass and sand that was all over the cottage, remains of fake tan in the bath, on some tiles and on 2 towels (which had to be thrown) and the kitchen untidiness. Whilst of course we do expect to clean on a changeover, we also ask (and hope) guests are respectful of the condition in which they leave the property. If needed, equipment and materials are left available. Evidently however, no or very little attempt was made to use them. Contrary to previous feedback detailed above, this guest review has sadly been written purely out of disgruntlement with our decision to withhold their security deposit. These guests have elected to publish a negative public review, rather than liaise with us, or respond in person to our reasons for denying the deposit return. We believe our decision to use the security deposit to cover these additional and avoidable costs, was a reasonable decision and one that many other holiday home owners would take.

“Clean and Compact.”

Reviewed 11 May 2015

This is a very nice stable conversion on the outside of Paignton. Clean and compact, light and airy - the main bedroom could do with a blind for the skylight and light deadening shades elsewhere. The … More

Response from the owner Thank you for your recent review, and all your feedback - I'm very pleased you had an enjoyable stay. And yes, the property is as advertised and therefore most of our guests tend to be couples with or without children, who enjoy the facilities and location. Although we do have 4 adults on occasions who understand the property configuration. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Regards.

“Perfect holiday cottage”

Reviewed 21 Dec 2014

We loved our stay here. It has everything we needed for us and our 1 year old daughter. It was lovely and warm in every room and had plenty of space for us. We can't wait to stay here again. The … More

Response from the owner Thank you for your lovely feedback. I'm very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and the cottage and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

“Fabulous”

Reviewed 20 Oct 2014

Everything and more than we wanted. From booking to contact after the holiday has been courteous and caring. The cottage is well cared for, homely and well furnished and very clean. Well supplied and … More

Response from the owner Thank you for your kind review. It's always good to hear guests are pleased with the cottage and also that you enjoyed the area.

“Not up to expectations”

Reviewed 19 Oct 2014

Our family, total of 5 and a dog, having stayed 4 nights we actually returned home early as we all did not wish to stay any longer. The accommodation size was not large enough for a comfortable stay. … More

“Lovely break away”

Reviewed 9 Oct 2014

We had a lovely week at this cottage, could not fault the cottage or location, hope to return next year

Response from the owner Thank you for your very positive review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again next year.

“Great holiday with the dogs.”

Reviewed 17 Jul 2014

We had a great time here. The cottage was cosy, yet spacious and had character with thick stone walls and a high ceilinged lounge. It was just what we wanted, great on the inside and outside too. T… More

Response from the owner Thank you for your very kind and detailed review. I'm so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend us. Dawn.

Review 1-10 of 13

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Dawn (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Dawn (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Dawn (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Dawn the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Dawn (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Dawn (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Dawn (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Dawn (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Dawn (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Dawn (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Dawn (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Dawn (the owner) a message.

If Dawn (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

English Riviera

399 properties

Dartmouth

288 properties

Salcombe

259 properties

Dartmoor National Park

223 properties

Torquay

175 properties

Braunton

163 properties

Torridge

155 properties

Brixham

126 properties

Paignton

98 properties

Plymouth

96 properties

Ilfracombe

93 properties

Woolacombe

82 properties

Kingsbridge

75 properties

Barnstaple

68 properties

Exeter

57 properties

Exmouth

52 properties

Sidmouth

48 properties

Honiton

47 properties

Tiverton

42 properties

Totnes

37 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.