|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Cottage, 5 BR, 4 B. Q * Q * Q * 2S * 2S * QSS. Island Club linens provided. Dishwasher, washer/dryer, 2 cable TVs, DVD player, wet bar with separate mini refrigerator and freezer, large second living area, ceiling fans throughout. Large deck with porch furniture, picnic table, outside shower, garage. Panoramic views. Available year 'round. No smoking. No pets. 7401 Ocean Drive Q * 2S * 2S * QSS. Island Club linens provided. Dishwasher, washer/dryer, 2 cable TVs, DVD player, wet bar with separate mini refrigerator and freezer, large second living area, ceiling fans throughout. Large deck with porch furniture, picnic table, outside shower, gara...Read more
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$690||$690||$1,990 - $3,560||$0||7 nights|
|May. 5 2013 - Jun. 8 2013||$690||$690||$1,990||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||-||-||$3,230||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 16 2013 - Aug. 10 2013||-||-||$3,560||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013||-||-||$3,230||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Sep. 7 2013||$690||$690||$1,990||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
We have stayed at Dolphin Run for a number of years and have always been pleased with it. This past year, however, we were very disappointed in the condition of the house. Upon arrival we discovered that the garage door opener did not work, and therefore we had to leave both vehicles out in the driveway the entire week. Then, upon entering the house, we saw that the floors looked like they had been mopped with dirty water, and the furniture which has been there since we started renting at D.R looked soiled and worn. The flatware had been put away dirty, and had rust on it. The cookware was in very poor condition and there were not any wine glasses as in the past.
The plastic deck chairs were broken and we also found a couple of roaches during the course of the week. Since Dolphin Run is the perfect size and floor arrangement for our family, we will try again this year (already have reservation) but if conditions are the same we will not rent this unit again in the future. Very disappointing as DR has always been a very pleasant place to stay.
Dolphins run needs upgrading
This was our third visit to dolphins run. Unfortunately, we feel it is in desperate need of freshening and restocking. Particularly glassware. Things seemed tired and broken...not what we had come to expect.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/09/2013
I'm happy to know that you and your family have enjoyed three Emerald Isle vacations at Dolphin Run. I hope you have created wonderful memories.
Emerald Isle Realty does have an in-house refurbishment team and I have forwarded your comments to them. They will share your feedback with the homeowner and offer assistance in refreshing the home.
Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation and we will happily provide you with updates on work planned for this cottage - 1-888-832-0140.
Dolphin Run helped make my first beach vacation perfect!
Our extended family wanted to stay in a beachfront house during my daughter's wedding, and Dolphin Run fit our needs perfectly. Since it was a duplex and has a dividing door, there are 2 living areas so we could split into small groups and either talk or watch TV without interfering with the others. But the best part was the deck, which led directly to the beach below. The house was clean, spacious enough for 5 couples, and easy to cook in or grill outside. It was clean, pleasantly-decorated, and had tons of kitchenware we could use. Also plenty of closet space and comfy beds. Wish I could go back right now! It was so helpful that all the staff members I talked with were friendly and helpful to this "first-timer". Great experience. My only problem was the 10 am check-out time, which was earlier than we would have liked. You had to be able to manage stairs to get into the house or down to the beach, but we had no problem with this.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/12/2012
Congratulations to your daughter and her husband! I'm sure their beach wedding was beautiful. Thank you for sharing your Emerald Isle vacation experience with us. Many families do enjoy the layout of this cottage as it is open, but provides nice spaces to get away for some alone time if desired. I'm glad that you family enjoyed it as well. We'd love to have you again as our guest so please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.
Nice location. Nice floor plan. But really a fixer upper
All bathrooms need updatinng. Shower door won't close. Stains on duvets and throw rugs. Dishes. Utensils. Are from the 1950s and look it. It is a lovely floor plan and a fabulous location.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/25/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. I hope you enjoyed the convenient location and great views this home affords. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly forward it to the owner as well as Emerald Isle Realty's refurbishment team. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The Stone Family
Best Thanksgiving ever!
As expected, EI Realty staff was the best - throughout our entire vacation process. Dolphin Run is our "Home away from Home" and we anticipate our arrival with each passing moment. Driving onto the island we immediately slow down our breathing to take in the uniqueness that is Emerald Isle.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/31/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. I enjoyed reading your review very much as your portrayal of Emerald Isle is what draws most of us here to live or vacation. Please call us when you're ready to reserve Dolphin Run for your next trip to your "home away from home" - 1-888-832-0140.
Company Fishing Trip
Conveniently located close to our personal home so that all could be together for the afternoon festivities. Look forward to it again next year.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. I'm happy to know that we were able to find a home for your guests in proximity to your own home. Please call us when you begin planning your next gathering - 1-888-832-0140.
Missing the Beach
Very Comfortable at a good price
Dolphin Run was a very comfortable home for myself, my husband, and our 3 kids (ages 6, 7, and 5 months). It has 5 bedrooms (more than we needed), and would be very convenient for 2 families to stay in. By closing 1 door in the middle of the house, we were able to close off 1/2 of the house (and 1/2 of the bedrooms), reducing sound when the baby was sleeping and the rest of us were up playing. The beach is close to the back deck (not the looong walkway you have on some houses, just down a large set of stairs). The kitchen was well equipped for all of our meals, and the whole house was very clean. This is a great house at a great price, and we hope to rent it again sometime in the future!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/22/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay in this home and in Emerald Isle. I agree, this home is priced just right and I hope you will return. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
A great time to relax and rejuvinate.
Great location! Convenient to shopping and local restaurants. Wonderful ocean views. Accommodations were perfect for our needs.
Fabulous location and view.Clean,well equipped,great for our family and grand children.Been going to the Southern Outer Banks for 40 years and have never dealt with a better Vacation rental company than Emerald Isle Realty,and I've dealt with them all.
relaxation with an amazing view of the ocean
Our family spent a week at Dolphin Run. We had plenty of space for cooking and relaxing. The deck was spacious with a 180 degree view of the ocean. It is centrally located with only a short drive to the grocery store and the fish market just around the corner. (The best fish on the island) We had plenty of room inside the house and on the beach.
Very comfortable, lots of bedrooms and baths
This is a former duplex turned into a single home. It is very clean, spacious, has 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The kitchen is well stocked. Large deck. It is adjacent to the public access so the beach area might be crowded in the summer. The dishwasher needs to be replaced, it does not clean the dishes, just distributes food on all the items. I
Just right for us
A charming older cottage that could use some small repairs, perhaps an upgrade on the living room furniture, and replacement of some of the dishes and glassware due to hard water build-up. Fantastic view on a great oceanfront deck, four full baths, and comfortable bedrooms. Wonderful TV for watching movies. Ceiling fans added a nice breeze throughout the house. We had a great time - many thanks!
Thanksgiving at the beach!
Lucked out on great weather. House was perfect for our "split" family (quiet vs. "rowdy") as there is a wall dividing the house in half with access through a door.
Each side had its own dining and living spaces with sliding glass doors out onto a spacious deck. Lots of radiant heat into the house...great for November, not sure how great that would be in mid-summer??
Great family time
We had a wonderful time here at Dolphin Run. It was clean and roomy for all of us. The fishing wasn't great but the weather was beautiful and we all had a great time.
Disappointed this year
We have stayed at Dolphin Run for several years and have always been very pleased. This year, all of the dishes, utensils, glasses, cups, everything was covered with a "scum" that would not wash off. The furniture is worn (broken leg on coffee table, worn/dirty upholstery on the couch) and the blankets in the closets were not clean. We love the location and the layoutof the cottage but not sure we would stay again unless these things are corrected.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/20/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay at Dolphin Run. I have reported the issues which you listed to our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Please let us know of things like this, the broken coffee table, dishes coated with a film, and dirty blankets, during your stay so we can take steps to resolve these things for you. Thank you again for providing feedback. We look forward to assisting you when planning future vacations.
UPDATE: I received word from our maintenance department that the dishwasher is functioning properly. Dishwashing rinse agents can be used to prevent this film from building up. Also, maintenance will be repairing that coffee table.
Great house for the money, very comfortable for a group
We rented Dolphin Run in September for 3 couples. The house was very well laid out and well stocked for this type of a group. We actually only needed 3 bedrooms but to find a home with 3 bedrooms with queen size beds we needed to go with a larger house. This rental worked well because the floor plan allowed for the closing off of one side for the "late sleepers" while the "early risers" could still get up and make the coffee. We enjoyed the large kitchen and the 2nd former kitchen that worked well as a bar. The only negative was the conditions of the kitchenware, a water softener would help, the minerals in the water made the kitchenware appear dirty. The location on Emerald Isle was wonderful, close to the fishing pier and close to shopping. The weather was wonderful. Check in was great and the linen service was ready and waiting for us. Overall this was a great vacation, the house was priced well.
Virginia Beach, VA
So much fun in the sun and surf with our children and grandchild
The home was great and had so much room inside and a great deck outside. We had little grandchildren, so there were a few too many steps down to the beach for safety's sake. We have rented from you for 30 years or so , but we prefer being closer to the Morehead City end - around 700 to 4500 because we go to Beaufort a lot. We do need 5 bedrooms so the size of the house was perfect, and we loved having two sitting areas. The freezer and refrigerator on the west side were unusable due to the fish smell and the ice maker on the west side was never usable due to a malfunction of some sort. The things we liked best were the two living areas, the huge deck, and the overall comfort and cleanliness of the house. The garage was also a big plus.
4th year at Dolphin Run
This was our 4th year renting Dolphin Run. Obviously we like the house enough to keep coming back. This year we were impressed with the new hardwood floors and the house seemed to be overall cleaner, maybe freshly painted and new bedding in some of the rooms was nice. We would continue to return to Dolphin Run if our family wasn't growing - we will need a bigger house next year.
Several of us friends go to Emerald Isle for fishing, food & fellowship every year. Dolphin Run was just what we needed to make our trip a positive experience. Large areas made it easy to set around and talk. Love the wireless for my laptop, even though it wasn't advertised. TV's need to be updated and we would have loved to have cable access in the bedrooms, but overall, it was a great place to stay.
Beach lovers from Connecticut.
We have been coming to the Crystal Coast for over 20 years. We love it! Emerald Isle Realty was a pleasure to work with. They were very responsive to any and all requests. The house was in a fabulous location and met our needs for bedrooms and bathrooms however, we found it to be not quite up to standards compared to other properties we have rented for the same amount of money. The carpets were really disgusting, many of the lights didn't work (though Emerald Isle immediately sent someone which got some of them working) furniture was in disrepair, and the outdoor furniture was bare bones. We spend a lot of time sitting on the deck and enjoying the view and we had to use our beach chairs to do so comfortably. The kitchen was great, beach access fabulous, and having two sitting areas a pleasure with family members. With a few minor improvements, we'd rent again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/19/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. It pleases me to know this home accommodated your family so well. I agree, the views are great and the layout of the home is ideal.
I'm sorry you were disappointed in the cleanliness of the carpets and furnishings. Please let us know of such disappointments while you're here so we can work to remedy them for you. We're happy to send someone to inspect the carpets and furnishings and we can have them cleaned, during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you begin planning your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The Ayers Family
My family has been visiting Emerald Isle For forty years. Emerald Isle Reality Is by far the best agency to rent from. We have used them for the past 8 years. This trip we stayed at the Dolphin Song. It met our needs and was very clean. A few repairs need to be made to the deck. It is old, with a few boards that were very weak. Our grandchildren managed to atract quite a few splinters because of the age of the hand rails. It is unfortunate that the view from the deck does not allow you see the Beach because of the growth in front of the deck although their is a nice sitting area at the end of the walkway to the Beach. Even with the repairs needed, it was a wonderful trip and Emerald Isle Reality is just wonderful to work with. We will continue to use them as our agency.
Would go back again
Dolphin Run has a great set up if you are looking for a home to divide the family. Two living areas
make it great for the adults and children to have their own space. The home has a great view of the ocean and easy access to the beach. The location in Emerald Isle is very convenient to shopping. The kitchen and the mini bar were stocked well, but could use some pot holders. The only thing that was discouraging was that we did encounter alot of dead by a doorway upon arrival that we would have expected the cleaning service to have taken care. There were miscellaneous other creatures we came across that we did not encounter
at previous locations rented on Emerald Isle.
cable guy grampa
West Chester, PA
A thoroughly enjoyable week at the beach!
The home was clean & ready on time. It had plenty of space and the layout was perfect for our family. The two-section layout helped our children's children get to sleep more easily. Location was great and area had a lot of attractive homes. Close enough to the local shopping area but this portion had a definite non-commercial feel. It was peaceful enough to enjoy the time on the porch and the beach wasn't crowded (3-day holiday weekend at end of our stay had above average turn-out but still room to walk along the beach without veering off course much). Amazing early morning walks!
Our third year here....
This was our third year in this house and we will return next year. The house used to be a duplex and was converted to a single home. Luckily the owners that converted the home kept the two seperate living areas which is nice when you are staying with a larger group or with kids. The two areas can be completely seperated by a door if wanted. There are also two eating tables which seat 6 each and two picnic tables on the deck. The kitchen is VERY well stocked - the only thing missing this year was cookie sheets. We have 10 family members that stay together and there are plenty of plates, silverware, etc.. and all of the cooking tools you need - even sharp knives! The kitchen seems to be more updated than the bathrooms, maybe it was redone when the house was converted. The bathrooms are functional and clean but not at all updated. However, there is plenty of hot water and they are fine for a beach vacation. The bedrooms are all comfortable and clean with working, quiet ceiling fans. We love the view from the deck - you can see up and down the beach, however there is no covered area. Late afternoon the sun is low enough behind the house that you do get some shade but there is none miday. There was a charcoal grill there this year but the top wouldn't close. There are a few beach chairs and toys in the double garage but we always bring our own. We leave the chairs and toys at the bottom of the steps in the sand and have never had a problem. The house does sit high on the dunes so there are a bunch of steps down to the beach but it is a small price to pay for the beautiful views. This home is a great value for a 5 bedroom oceanfront home as long as you don't mind it being a little older and smaller than some of the mansions that are being built on the island now.
new bern nc
Fun was had by all.
Buffalo, New york
Fun in the sun
We had a great time here. Great value for a beachfront property.
The house is wonderful for the size of my family but it was clean like
we had found it in years before.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/19/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Run. It pleases me to know this home suits you and your family so well. Please call us if you ever arrive and are disappointed in the cleanliness of the property you've rented. Our housekeeping department will gladly send someone to the property to clean more efficiently.
Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Annual Thanksgiving trip
Great views and floorplan. Like the seperation of the house, kids on one side with their own TV, bedrooms, baths, etc. Parents on the other side.
My favorite feature of the house is the double car garage.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Great views of the ocean.
My family and I had a great time at the Dolphin Run. Their was six of us who went on vacation, and their was plenty of room. The oceanfront home had wonderful views of the ocean, with two great big living rooms facing the ocean. The bedrooms had plenty of space, if you have children you should be happy with this place. The deck looking out at the beach is huge and great for those relaxing evenings. Staying in a beach house is the way to go, we sure had fun. Take care.