|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Oceanfront Cottage, 6 BR, 7 B. K * K * Q * Q * 2S * 2S. Sand Castle Club linen service with beds made. Maximum of 12 occupants at all times. Complimentary bowling at Mac Daddyβs for each guest in your group. Oceanfront 13β x 28β swimming pool with table, chairs and chaise lounges. Large living area has hardwood floors, 52β screen high definition plasma TV with premium channels, DVD player, stereo with CD player, caller ID, free unlimited long distance in the US, portable iPod stereo dock, portable CD player/radio, answering machine, wireless high speed Internet access and gas fireplace. Well equipped kitchen, 2 dishwashers, 2 refrige...Read more
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$4,560 - $7,950||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$4,560||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$7,250||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$7,950||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$7,350||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$4,660||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Tremendously relaxing time
Loved the house and location, the added benefit of the handicap facilities were great and put to use. The house was clean; the bedrooms were bigger than other vacation homes I've rented. The owner left a small gift for us it was a nice touch; however I did not like that the owner was there when we arrived and that we received a surprise visit from her mid-week
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 09/05/2012
We are so glad you loved Shell Cove and it is indeed a beautiful oceanfront location in one of our quietest neighborhoods. It is a superbly equipped home for families with special needs so we are especially glad the handicap facilities worked well for your family member. The homeowner is a lovely Southern lady who truly enjoys providing old fashioned Southern hospitality to her guests including fresh flowers in every bedroom, fresh produce, a nice Whitmanβs Sampler of chocolates and other gifts of appreciation. Our families have known each other on our island for over 50 years. It is her hands on approach to the TLC she provides for Shell Cove that makes this such a wonderful beach rental home. We sincerely wish more of our homeowners were able to make weekly visits between departure and arrival to ensure their homes were perfect for each arriving guest. We hope you will make plans for a return trip to Emerald Isle in the near future.
Shell Cove was perfect for our large family at Christmas. We loved the well-equipped kitchen and the comfortable great room area. The weather was awesome so we enjoyed the decks with the rocking chairs especially at sunset. The cushioned chairs on the second floor deck were excellent for our avid readers in the family. The kids enjoyed putting together puzzles and playing various games. We were blessed with terrific weather so alot of our family members walked the beach and even went for a dip in the ocean.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/31/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Shell Cove. I agree, this home does have all one needs to enjoy a lavish, Emerald Isle vacation. Wow, swimming in the Ocean in December must have been cold! I'm glad you were able to enjoy all our island has to offer. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.
Restful. I don't see why it has to be longer than 50 characters...
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Shell Cove. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a restful week at the beach. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay at Shell Cove - 1-888-832-0140.
Marvelous house and owner!
We had a terrific experience with the house and the owner, who went well out of her way to make the week comfortable. We hope to return in the future.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Had something for everyone!
Shell Cove was very roomy! Bedrooms were big. Kitchen had anything you needed to cook. Plenty of dishes and glasses. Openness of the kitchen - eating area - living room made it easy for everyone to visit all the time. The wrap porch with all the chairs gave a place for you to sit and watch the waves plus the pool. The location was close to grocery stores, shops and resturants. We had a memorable vacation. Thank you Shell Cove owners and EI Realty.
wonderful time by all - good memories
This vacation home was an excellent place for a large family or group to spend their vacation. the ocean view could not have been any better. The porch was large and the rocking chairs was enjoyed by all.It was great to have extra appliances and the amount of eating and cooking utensils was excellent. The only thing that could have been better is the frying pans. But it so happens I took one of my lage pans, since I"m use to cooking for a large group. We had a great time.
Rested and Relaxed
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Overall a good experience. However, the aC and TV did not work when arrived. Also, the TV is difficult to operate. Only one half of the gas grill worked. Need some beach chairs.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/25/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Shell Cove. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation.
I am sorry you arrived to a broken A/C and TV. I am pleased to know that both of these items were repaired shortly after your arrival. The grill at Shell Cove is new and I'm sorry to hear that you had an issue with one side not heating.
Thank you again for your review. Please call us when you're ready to start planning your next Emerald Isle vacation, 1-888-832-0140.
The Conkle and Rosenbaum Families
Cuyahoga Falls and Amherst, OH
This beautiful home was exactly what we were looking for!
We wanted to find a beach house that was wheelchair accessible. Not just 'wheelchair friendly' but truly accessible. This house was probably the best one can hope to find in a rental.
Toms River NJ
Shell Cove is a pearl
Our family has been visiting EI for 6 years now. Our first two were at Shell Cove however due to timing the house was unavailable. The homeowner makes you feel very welcome with arrival gifts and flowers. The home is well equipped and rarely does not contain items you need. Unfortunately I cannot say this for some of our other rentals
This vacation home was great for handicap accommodations.
We spent the week with family and friends. It was a very diverse group with adults, children, teenagers, and a woman with handicap needs. Every one enjoyed their stay both at the home and on Emerald Isle. The covered dune deck, the pool with walk-in entrance, the outside shower, the dozen rockers on the porch, the chair to access the beach for handicap use ...all added up to a "great vacation" for everyone!
Lots of stuff, mostly good
Great welcoming with the fruit, flowers, candy, and wine. Very attractive and functional layout. Whereas the special features desirable for a physically challenged person were admirable, they an "attractive nuisance" for a family with a wide range of children. These include the elevator for one floor, the electric lift in one of the bedrooms, the oversized tire three wheel vechile for rolling a person in the swimming pool, etc.
New Bremen, Ohio
The house was outstanding and filled with anything one could need. The two dish washers, two refrigerators, and two coffee pots were really appreciated. The decor for the entire house is tasteful and relaxing. I was simply stunned to be greeted by the owner, to find fresh cut flowers in numerous rooms through out the house (including the bedrooms), a box of chocolates, as well as the bottles of wine. Our group has been going to Emerald Isle for 15 plus yeas and have never been treated so well by the homeowner!
Yadkin Co., NC
Family Fun For All
I say "family fun for all," because as a person with physical challenges, it's
often difficult to feel secure in houses that don't have grab bars in the
bathroom. I didn't necessarily need the shower for a wheelchair, but it
worked and I felt safe, and I'm glad the house is equipped for a wheelchair.
I've never understood why homeowners would spend so much money on a
beautiful beach house and not think of putting a grab bar next to the
commode and in the showers. There should be grab bars in every bath, but
I'm speaking from experience.
The access to the beach was a blessing. Not too difficult for a person with
mobility problems, and I think the beach chair to wheel someone is a
wonder gesture. Thanks a million!
I did tumble off the bed one night...Oops! It would be nice to have a larger
bed in the handicapped room, if possible. It was a little small for my
husband and me. But all in all, it worked.
I love the layout of the house. The elevator had a mind of it's on, but I
would have been hard pressed without it. My mom was able to have a room
on the main level and at 79 that was a good thing.
The covered porch gave us a terrific view. And I can't say enough about the
special things we enjoyed as gifts from the owners. Candy, fresh flowers
throughout the house, and fruit galore! We left the wine for the cleaners.
It was a wonderful experience for my son's family of 5, his in-laws, my
mom, a special friend and Jerry and me. There was plenty of room for
everyone and lots to enjoy. I highly recommend Shell Cove!
Best wishes to all who go there,
Sandra Miller and family
I recommend the house based on the house itself, not Emerald Isle Realty's service. This was my 10th yr in Shellcove. It has every amenity that I could ask for & some I don't take advantage of. My interaction with EI has been limited over the yrs. I sign the contract, send them checks, pick up the keys, renew for the following yr, drop off the keys. I have had more interaction with the owner who is a business woman. She has built, furnished, refurbished after hurricanes, re-fitted for handicap accessiblity due to unforseen circumstances, & generally tries to see in to the future (this yr, she replaced the AC units prior to their breakdown. She did not want someone's vacation to be ruined by no AC in the dead of summer.) For three yrs, we have written on EI's paper evaluation that a dishwasher needs to be reconnected back to the kitchen counter (undermounted), but it has never been done. I don't feel that EI ever read the evaluations, so I find it amusing that the evaluation has completely changed & there is no space to write specific recommendations. My group this yr all questioned the validity of the housekeeping services prior to checking into Shellcove: my bathroom floor had long brown hair all over it (I don't believe it was ever swept or mopped.) There was "grit" all over my bedroom carpet (I don't believe a vacuum was used.) Another bathroom had yellow spots around the toilet (again, we don't believe it was swept or mopped.) The kitchen had crumbs on the floor (again, we don't believe it was swept or mopped.) Glass top tables in the great room were not wiped down (the glass rings from the previous tenants were still there.) So, we did our own cleaning to make it right for us! We had a mid-stay housekeeping service, which was EXCELLENT. Clea & her husband did a wonderful job: this is the way Shellcove should have been presented to us on check in. Would I recommend Shellcove: aboslutely! Would I recommend Emerald Isle Realty: questionable.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/20/2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. And thank you for your loyalty to Shell Cove. Yes, the owner is a wonderful business woman and cares deeply for her home and her guests! Weβre proud to represent her home.
Weβre sorry that the home was not in the condition that you have been accustom to in years past. This owner has her own cleaner who was absent this week due to a family illness, she had a substitute cleaning team in that week. In this instance the cleaning may have suffered. If you had called EIR upon check in after finding the housekeeping unsatisfactory- we would have sent someone to correct the issues and made you happy. We donβt want our guests to clean on vacation and weβre glad that Clea did a terrific job for you!
We look forward to seeing you in 2011!
Oma & Joe
our week at beach
It was our first experience being oceanfront and we really enjoyed that. I was disappointed that there was no hot tub. Also three of the bedrooms did not have private bath. The elevator was not used because we were afraid some of the children would go under and get hurt. I enjoyed the fruit, wine and flowers. I especially loved the porch and rockers. I was impressed with the quality of the matresses on the beds, it was exceptionally good. The stove needs to be updated. Other than that everything else was fine. I hated having to call the rental company because you stay on hold forever. It is the worst service for a business I have ever encountered. I have been renting beach homes for over 30 years.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/18/2010
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shell Cove! It is a beautiful home and the welcome gifts that the owner provides is one of a kind!
Any time you would like more specific details on any of our homes please give us a call. We can tell you how many bedrooms have private baths before you reserve the home.
We've changed our phone system so you shouldn't have to wait anymore than 3 minutes at the very most for a reservationist.
I've passed your recommendation about the stove on to the homeowner.
We hope that you choose Shell Cove again for a future vacation with your family!
Warmer than the Weather Would Tell
Shell Cove, as a house, is fully equipped with everything a group of
modest size would need to feel happy and comfortable for a week
away; however, Shell Cove exceeds not in being a house, but in being
a home. The owning family is hospitable in the most accommodating
of ways and only a short drive away, ensuring that the home is well
maintained and furnished/equipped. Our group was pleasantly
greeted with wine, flowers and chocolate upon our arrival and a polite
note left by the Holz family detailing previous experiences with the
home and regional possibilities. Even with a large group, the house
never felt small and everyone was presented with the opportunity to
find their own space alone or share the large common spaces with the
group. The beach, even in March weather, was beautiful and its
proximity to the home allowed you to be as involved with the
environment as you so choose. This is the third such property I have
rented along the NC coast and is certainly the best. We will be back!