By The Sea East
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Duplex, 2 BR, 2 B. Q * 2D. Dishwasher, washer/dryer (shared), HDTV with DVD player and expanded cable in living area, HDTVs in each bedroom, stereo with CD player, iPod docking station, free long distance in the US, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans, connecting doors. Deck with porch rockers, charcoal grill, outside shower (shared). Weekly only. No smoking. No pets. 601 Ocean DriveDishwasher, washer/dryer (shared), HDTV with DVD player and expanded cable in living area, HDTVs in each bedroom, stereo with CD player, iPod docking station, free long distance in the US, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans, connecting...Read more
By The Sea East
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$840 - $1,540||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - May. 24 2013||-||$985||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||-||$840||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$985||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$1,385||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$1,540||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$1,385||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$985||-||7 nights|
|View all 7 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
This was the first time going to Emerald Isle, and I can't wait to go back. One of the Best vacation i have had.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/09/2013
We were happy to have you and hope you will come back soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.
Beautiful view and beach, but a bit of a gamble with unknown nei
Our neighbors were nice people, but noisy. They kept us awake one night with their all night 15+ people party. On another night, they kept us awake until 2 am with their loud swearing and arguing. That was a little scary!
However, a beautiful awesome view and beach location. excellent swimming too.
The plumbing does not work in the master bath, causing the shower to not drain, and the toilet to not flush. Eww.
I liked the casual decor, not fussy or overdone. We loved the porch and the rocking chairs.
This place would be fine for people who know each other, four to six on each side of the duplex!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/19/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. I'm very glad to know that you found the decor of the home to be appealing and the views and location excellent.
I am sorry to hear of the situation you experienced with the folks on the other side of this duplex. Please let us know of such things as we're happy to assist in handling such a situation so you aren't disturbed throughout your vacation. Also, our maintenance department would have gladly come out to take a look at the master bath plumbing situation. I have asked that they do this now.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle for your next family vacation. Please call us when you begin making plans - 1-888-832-0140.
A Wonderful Week
We really enjoyed our stay at By the Sea East. The cottage was the perfect size for the two of us. It was cozy, had the most incredidibly comfortable blankets, the ocean view was out of this world! The kitchen could use a few more utensils and a bigger frying pan and the Tv's could be a little bigger but other than that we felt that our entire experience was great!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/07/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time at this duplex and found all you needed to enjoy a comfortable vacation. Thank you also for your suggestions. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily reserve By The Sea East for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
No Frills Duplex In Need of Updates But Can't Beat the View
The good: You can see the ocean from almost every window; You can't get closer to the ocean-it's right there out your back door. The price is great for of! Husband caught a huge black drum surf fishing!
The bad: Thin walls if the other side is rented and we heard lots of cursing from the tenants on other side; Not within walking or biking distance to anything other than ocean;
The ugly: The shower needs cleaning and mildew removed; needs new carpet at least and a little TLC in the decor area would cost so little.
Final: We enjoyed the view and appreciated the price.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/19/2013
I'm pleased to let you know that the owner of this duplex will be replacing the carpet for our 2013 vacation season.
Original Response May 2, 2012:
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. It pleases me to know that you and your family did enjoy your time at the beach and I agree, the views are wonderful at this duplex and you can't get any closer to the beach.
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in some of the features of the home. Yours is not the typical response of guests of By The Sea East. Certainly, we'll be checking this property out and will make suggestions for improvements to the owner once we do.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle again soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Edgecombe county nc
Just a few step to beach
Beds were comfortable Small bathroom shower in need of repair...den sofas omg...water bugs, now and then...sounds like my brother and didn't enjoy our stay, but we did ... And come back again ... Over all it was a good value...
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. I am pleased to know that you and your brother did enjoy your stay at this duplex.
I am sorry to hear of the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced, but I don't have any record of these items being reported. We're happy to work to resolve issues during your stay so please report such things as you experience them.
Thank you again for your feedback. We're looking forward to your return. Please let us know if we can be of assistance as you plan your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Oak Ridge, TN
An outstanding week at the beach
Great weather. Comfortable house. Good neighbors in the other half of the duplex.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/26/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a comfortable stay in this home and the weather cooperated with your time in Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation and we'll happily reserve this duplex for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
A Family Tradition
We enjoyed our 8th summer vacation at By the Sea, East. Imagine how pleased we were to arrive and find that the decking had been repaired, the ceiling had been replaced and the bedrooms had been freshened up.
We were disappointed in the tiny tv in the living room and that the second bathroom shower stall remains in disrepair. We will keep our fingers crossed for more updates for next year.
The beach and the island are still beautiful and we look forward to our return to By The Sea East next summer.
Sharon & Bill
An unforgetable Week.
I would have to say "The best week we ever had at Emerald Isle and that includes the weather."
Relaxing and pleasant
We liked our rental and loved it's location. As always the check-in and check-out is the best I have ever experienced. Thanks for a fun and rewarding trip for our family.
As always, the most relaxing vacation possible
We have stayed at a total of 4 Emerald Isle houses and this is the best yet. Nothing beats being able to walk out the door and taking 100 steps or less to the ocean. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and the 3 tv's helped with 2 teenagers around. The new washer and dryer downstairs were a pleasant surprise. It is nice to be able to keep clean towels around with so many trips to the beach. We'll be back!
I recently stayed at this property and enjoyed everything about it. Would reccommend this property to others along with Emerals Isle Realty! The curb-side check in and out was so easy and a pleasant surprise.
Oceanfront but Needs Updating
The best thing about the house is the proximity to the beach and the fact that you can see the beach from the porch and the living room. However, the electronics in the house are ancient; the tv in the main room is maybe 19". If you have a mold/mildew allergy you probably want to avoid this house. The carpet had obviously gotten wet many times and needs to be replaced with something that won't mildew. We had no problems with any of the appliances in the kitchen, they seemed newer and worked properly. The beds were not bad, and all the windows had blinds.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/09/2010
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. I'm happy to hear that you had a nice vacation. By The Sea East is right on the beach.
Wet bathing suits and sandy feet are things which are inevitable when vacationing at the beach. These things can cause carpet and such to age prematurely if allowed to soak into soft surfaces. I've forwarded your review to our housekeeping department and homeowner team so they can look into cleaning/replacing the carpet. The owners will also be presented with the suggestion of upgrading their TVs. I'm happy you enjoyed the appliances and beds which are recently updated.
By the Sea Duplex was great
By the Sea is an awesome duplex that has beautiful views of the beach and ocean. While staying in there, I had problems with the air conditioner. I called the maintenance department and they were out there within the hour and fixed the problem. The dishwasher did not wash the dishes very well and the dryer did not dry the clothes. The televisions were all small.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/11/2010
We strive for a very quick response time, we’re pleased to hear that it was so quick, we expect nothing less!
I've reported the other two issues to our maintenance department for you. I'm sure they will be fixed just as quickly!
I've also let the owner know about your thoughts on the TV's. Thank you for your review.
Beaver Dam, WI
Our week by the sea
Our duplex "By The Sea East" was an older home, nothing fancy but clean and well maintained. It is right on the ocean, which was what we really wanted. The area is beautiful and we had a great time. We felt right at home there. The beach was not filled with people, so it was quiet and relaxing. We would rent it again in a heartbeat!
You can't beat the location! The interior is dated and the oven and cookware
left much to be desired, but it really is a great value for a beach front property!
We had a lovely, restful week!
This property needs attention
We have enjoyed our stay at "By the Sea-East" for six years. Its a wonderful little place with an outstanding location.
However, it is apparent that the owners are not interested in maintaining this cottage by the sea. The bathroom floor in the master bedroom has been severely cracked for years and has been covered by a bathmat. The oven dials are melted and unreadable...and have also been this way for several years. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable; most especially in the master bedroom.
Blinds and curtains are old and dirty...some are nearly non-functional. The grill that is advertised does not exist. Rats were spotted in the brush next to the home.
Old Home Needs Love and Attention
Nice size home, good location, needs an owner who will replace oven/range, do other more major repairs. Realty did beautiful job of working with us for several minor issues. Have complained about oven in previous years, will not rent this home again until oven is replaced. Don't expect luxury, but do expect working appliances and decent furniture for a vacation home. Realty work crew were personable, knowledgable and prompt. Really like the beach in that part of the island, is far enough away from the "tourist" spots to provide a pleasant week away from home. Have always enjoyed staying in this home in several previous island visits. Have recommended it in the past. Hope the owner will make it possible for us to do so in the future.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/17/2011
Good news, since you provided your review, the owners of By The Sea East have made some renovations and replacements within the home. The oven has been replaced! I hope you'll revisit By The Sea East when you vacation in Emerald Isle again.
Nice Family Place, Not Fancy
We had a nice time there. The unit is dated and has a feeling of being well used, or broken in. I have two kids, so I wasnt too worried that they would mess anything up. When we got there the AC was broken, we had to wait about a day till they came and fixed it. Also, the charcoal grill was broken. Otherwise our vacation was great. The back porch on the beach is wonderful. You get what you pay for and this place was affordable, so I wasnt expecting the Taj MaHal. BEACH was Beautiful, GREAT Location. Good Cheap Place, Not very fancy or posh, but I would go again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/11/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea East. I'm pleased to let you know that this property has been renovated and refreshed since your stay. New carpet was installed, mattresses, bedspreads, lamps, window treatments, pots and pans, and the oven have all been replaced. Please call us to reserve this duplex for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Kichens Needs a Facelift
We rented both sides of this unit for our entire family. Took it for the location. We love Emerald Isle and wanted to be on the beach but in the Indian Beach area with few multiple houses behind us (less people on beach). The West side kitchen was in pretty bad shape. The stove was virtually unusable. Both kitchens needed to be re-stocked with cooking pans, drinking glasses, etc. Sometimes when you walked out to the front porch, roaches would scatter. Didn't feel it was really clean. Like the location but not the house.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/13/2009
Thank you for your comments. I too love the Indian Beach area! Anytime you need kitchen items or repairs when staying as our guests, please feel free to call. We keep a wide range of new, unboxed kitchen items and appliances in our office for just such a need. The bugs outside are a reality of life on our Island. Happily they weren't inside the house. Please email me for a special offer on your next stay with us. firstname.lastname@example.org