Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 5 bedroom house in Duck today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 32 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1325 to as high as $4545, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
Outer Banks Blue
- Calendar last updated:
- 18 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Duck,-north-carolina Attractions
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Smoking allowed
– based on 32 reviews
- Very Good
“Outer Banks is the place to be!”
This is an older home in the quiet Sanderling community of Duck, NC. The location doesn't get any better -- boarded walk to the beach, great decking for watching sunrises and sunsets, and a nearly private beach. You have easy access to the running, walking path along Route 12 but since you're back in the neighborhood you have no traffic noise. The home is sturdy, open, well-furnished, and has everything you need for a week at the beach. We loved the family room on the upper level with plenty of windows, comfy seating, a large table for dinners, and an island for more casual breakfasts and snacks. There are plenty of games, puzzles, books, and movies that are great for rainy days. It suited our purposes just fine. The only criticisms are: the house was extremely dusty -- we didn't dare turn on the fans for fear the inch of dust coating them would be all over the place if we did; the bathrooms are somewhat dark; the shed light was burned out and the shed was such a mess we didn't even bother to try to get any of the bikes out to use -- couldn't find a pump anyway. We had a very large mouse running around the loft. From the size of him he's been there quite sometime enjoying some good food. As he was too big for a regular mouse trap (we tried to catch him) we told the folks at Outer Banks Blue about him. Hopefully they have ousted the critter. We did mention the dust problem to the Outer Banks Blue guy that showed up the day we checked in. He said he would have to put a service order in but that didn't happen while we were there. We had an issue with the grill and someone came out and took care of it right away. Overall, we were very happy with the experience. We know this is an older house and we're fine with that but the cleaning crew needs to do a better job.
“Worth Every Penny!”
This was an amazing experience. Couldn't have asked for a better house. Everything was almost perfect. And that upper deck!!! I could sit there for the whole day looking at the sea. It's little expensive. But as I said, it's worth every penny, specially if you are in a big group.
“Great views but several problem areas”
Good things: The views were amazing. Private beach access and Great room were wonderful. Appreciated having linens and towels provided. Pack-n-play in great shape. Kitchen counter was clean. Loved using the Sanderling pool. Problem areas: - The house is in serious need of deep cleaning. Dust build-up, grime and cobwebs abound. On the refrigerator is a list of what the cleaning people should clean - just surfaces/basic cleaning. They don't touch deck areas, which have lots of cobwebs. - Grill was extremely dirty, out of propane and had cobwebs on handles. - On the Vrbo site, there is a porch swing on lower deck and screened-in porch, neither of which are there. - Large amount of rusted out/broken beach gear on the parking level which is dangerous and should be thrown away. Outdoor shower was completely dirty, with debris covering the ground, and more cobwebs. - First morning, there were tons of small dead bugs covering everything in the Great room (holes in screens?) Safety concerns: - Upper level deck is in extremely bad shape and needs to be replaced. Specifically: 1.) rail was decaying and ready to fall off the deck, 2.) gate leading to the stairs had come off of its hinges, and 3.) stairs leading from the upper to lower deck had detached from the house making it extremely dangerous. We called OBB, who added two brackets and did a quick fix on the gate. - Upper level deck has a huge gap under the built-in seat, which is a fall hazard to any small child/small animal. I sent the above items to the owner. In short, she said that the cleaning crew has 4 hours to clean, they do their best, the owners are pleased, the house is rented constantly (with many return guests) so that says something. She would re-evaluate the stairs/porch in the off-season. My interpretation is not much will be resolved. Given this, I felt it was important to share this information with future renters.
Response from the manager Dear Ms. Milano, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this property again here on Trip Advisor. As you indicated in your review the owner did indeed get your review of the property and responded accordingly. As the rental manager of the property we too feel the need to respond. The house is of course deep cleaned prior to each rental season, and we have a list of items that are covered each and every week to ensure that all of our rental houses look like they have never been used before. As you stated we are absoloutely transparent when it comes to cleaning standards and the list of items is posted right on the refrigerator. We wish you would have contacted us with any cleaning concerns while you were here as we would have been happy to rectify anything you felt was not done properly. Regarding the safety concerns - these are serious acusations which we followed up on immediately with the appropriate people. When we did go to the property in follow up to your concerns we did not find anything in the property or outside of the property to be unsafe, dangerous, or in bad shape. This house is very well built and we believe your comments cast the property in an inappropriate bad light especially considering the fact you said nothing about any of these items while you were here as we would have been at the property in short order to ensure your safety. Sentimental Journey is the most popular rental home in our program and has been enjoyed by literally thousands of guests with zero safety concerns prior to you posting this message. We do work hard on preparing every property each week and resolving any issues that arise during our guests stay at our properties. This property has enjoyed an impeccable record with the many guests that have enjoyed it. We are glad it seems that the good did outweigh the bad on the overall of your review and trust that you enjoyed an outstanding week at the beach. All the best from the beach!
“Beautiful View, Average Home”
So before I begin, I am noting that FlipKey only allows 2000 characters and this review exceeds that. I am giving an honest review so if you'd like more information, please contact me. Our vacation to Duck this year was one we had looked forward to for a long time. Arrangements through Outer Banks Blue were handled professionally. We rent yearly and this was our first "house" rental. Upon arrival, we noticed that the house had not been cleaned well. Dirt and crumbs were in the kitchen and also swept under the kitchen carpet. Ants were in the upstairs bathroom and the house just in general did not feel clean. The advertised screened in porch was not at all screened in as all of the screens were gone from the side porch. All of the sliding screens were broken and not sliding well but I was able to reattach as a temporary fix. My niece did not have a place to sleep. It is very clearly stated on the website that there is a pack n play and a port a crib. We even called a few weeks prior to make sure that a crib was at the house. The house did have a pack and play. I had to end up renting a crib for her to sleep in...an unexpected cost at arrival. Our biggest problem came 2 days into our stay when the refrigerator stopped working. Outer Banks Blue was quick to fix and were extremely kind in replacing some of our food and providing a cooler. I do wish that they would have provided ice so that we didn't have to keep running to the store but this was a minor problem since we were out anyway. The beds were ok but most of the lamps/ceiling fans were broken or noisy which was a little frustrating. The sliders in the house are hard for the children to open. We really could have used the tv in the downstairs bedroom for the children. On the good side, this house has a great view! The floor plan is very nice for large family gatherings. There are so many toys below the house that we really didn't need to bring anything with us...there were even bikes!
Response from the manager Ms. Curcio, Thank you for your comments about Sentimental Journey. We are glad that you took the time to let us know of your experience, and while we are disappointed you had some issues come up during your stay we are glad that you know that we worked hard to resolve the issues as you made us aware of them. We actually do not advertise a screened porch on this property, but rather a covered porch so we apologize for the misunderstanding. Likewise we do have a pack n play in our marketing info, but we don't have anything regarding a porta crib. We will check with the homeowner to be sure all of their marketing is on the same page with us on this as neither of us wants disappointed renters. As we state in the advertisment, if it is great views you are seeking Sentimental Journey is the place to be in Duck. It is a reasonably priced oceanfront home with a great location, and the house stays very full for that reason. Thanks again for your positive comments, and we look forward to serving you better next time around. All the best from the beach!
“This should be torn down”
This house is in bad need of repair and updating, but the worst thing was that it was filthy dirty. The adirondack chairs on the deck were covered with mold,the vents were thick with dust, there were nails sticking up on the walk to the beach, the barbeque pit was on the top deck (a fire hazard), the yard was overgrown in weeds and bushes. But--the location was perfect. Tear it down and build a nice house on this fabulous location.
Response from the manager Ms. O'Brien, Thank you for taking the time to send in a review on this property. Sentimental Journey is the most popular rental property in our program due to the economical price and great location. It has rented on average 30 weeks each year from guests that typically return every year. It would seem that you were not aware of the basic nature of this property and that there was a misunderstanding regarding expectations. Sentimental Journey is known as a very clean and comfortable property, but not equipped with the high end amenities that other Oceanfront homes that rent for many thousands more per week. Regarding the BBQ grill on the top deck we agree that should not be there, and indeed it is a violation of local ordinances. It has since been removed as we do not condone this. It would seem someone relocated the grill to the top deck. Also it should be noted that Sanderling (the subdivision where this proeperty is located) was developed by one of the board members of the Audobon Society, and the yards of the properties there are meant to be kept in a very natural state. It should not be overgrown, but indeed the bushes and trees are not trimmed back on a regular basis. We hope that your experience with our service at Outer Banks Blue was satisfactory as we trust you enjoyed our exclusive check in by mail program and the fact all sheets and towels were included at no extra charge (beds made too!) and we look forward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!
Although the weather didn't cooperate, we had a great time during our stay at Sentimental Journey. The house was perfect, it had the feeling of a home, not a vacation rental. The keyless entry system was also a plus so we didn't have to keep track of keys between 2 families. We ended up leaving early since the weather dropped to about 55 degrees on Thursday. The only problem was that the internet stopped working on Tuesday. We contacted the management office but it was not corrected as of Thursday at noon when we left. While I can live without email--we were counting on the internet to check out restaurants and other attractions in the OBX. Otherwise, it was a perfect week.
Service is consistently outstanding. I'm always amazed at the quick, personalized and caring service. The property is the most charming in Duck.
“One word describes my experience--awesome!”
My stay was fantastic and my service was fantasic. Everything was great. My experience with Outer Bank Blue employees has been the best that I have ever had with a rental company. This added to making my vacation great. If I were to choose one thing I liked best it would be the ocean veiw from the house! Thanks to all of you !
“Beautiful Ocean View”
I thought the house was all that it advertised. The porch was right on the ocean. We had 10 adults and the house accommodated us just fine. The walking paths in the nature trails are wonderful too. I don't think many people knew what the markers meant. One problem with a shower not working for three days. I left a message for the supervisor at Outer Banks and have not heard back from him in over a week. I think that is poor customer service. The shower not working was a huge inconvenience for a group of 10.
“greatest oceanfront home ever”
we have been to Sentimental journey over 10 weeks in our 12 years in NC...cannot stay away! However my really bad back suffers from the hard as rock mattresses