From
$540 / night
Estimated Price for guests, Nights

Rum Runner | 475 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Southern Shores – Home 2243016 House

  • 10 bedrooms
  • 21 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Rum Runner | 475 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Southern Shores – Home 2243016

  • House
  • 10 bedrooms
  • sleeps 21
  •  min stay varies

Key Info

  • Swimming pool
  • Child Friendly
  • Air conditioning
  • No pets allowed

Description from manager

Description

New for 2021: Expanded pool area, new fencing and lighting, new sodded fenced-in play area, new washer and dryer, electric range and outdoor grill, new mattress and box spring in the Tropical Dream room (on top-level) and in the Dark & Stormy room (on mid-level)

Almost Oceanfront (475 feet to the beach), this MAGNIFICENT 10 bedroom, 10 full baths, 2 half bath beach home is spectacular from top to bottom. Enjoy pool heat (fee, seasonal), 42" Outdoor TV. You will need only one word to describe this home and that is WOW!!!! Talk about location, "Rum Runner" is conveniently located in Southern Shores near the Kitty Hawk Pier so you can start your vacation as soon as you cross the bridge. Enjoy the wooden walkway to the beach with no roads or driveways to cross or sit back and relax by the private pool and hot tub to make this a vacation to remember! Enjoy the views of the ocean from the two decks that overlook the private pool, hot tub, and grilling area. Once inside "Rum Runner" you will never want to leave! Just wait until you see the stunning kitchen. The kitchen has granite countertops, Stainless Steel appliances, and plenty of seating. You will find it well stocked with everything you could need to make dinner time memorable. The kitchen has 2 full-size refrigerators, 2 dishwashers, microwave, oven, plenty of pots and pans, blender, coffee makers, waffle maker, and a Keurig Machine. Everyone will love gathering in the spacious living room, with a 70" 4K TV with surround sound. There is access to a front and back deck, making this a great spot to admire the stunning views of the sunrise over the ocean. For those cool, off-season nights try the gas fireplace that ignites with a flip of a switch. 

This home features gathering areas on all levels so you will never feel cramped or crowded. The top-level has a 70" 4K TV. The mid-level area has a Poker table for game playing and a TV viewing area that has a 65" smart TV with Netflix and a Blu-Ray player. There is access to a covered deck from this level, which overlooks the heated private pool and has views of the ocean. The lower level has a full-size pool table for friendly competition with a 50" TV with a DVD player. There is also a kitchenette with a microwave, sink, and full-size refrigerator. A sliding glass door to the pool, hot tub, and outdoor TV area allow easy access to drinks and snacks for the beach or poolside lounging!

The outdoor area has a 42" outdoor TV, great for viewing from the hot tub or the swimming pool (perfect for kid's movie night under the stars). All bedrooms are beautifully decorated; all have LCD TVs. The ELEVATOR makes getting around "Rum Runner" easy for everyone and getting groceries to the beautiful kitchen a snap. "Rum Runner" is centrally located near groceries, shopping, and restaurants. This stunning house is located on a cul-de-sac shared by two other 10 bedroom homes, great for large gatherings and reunions. 

Top-Level: Living room with a 70" 4K TV. fireplace and deck access, Kitchen with Island seats 8, 2 full-size refrigerators and 2 dishwashers, Dining Table seats 10, Additional Dining Table seats 6, King Master Bedroom with a TV; King Master Bedroom with a TV; Elevator access, Half Bathroom on Landing

Mid-Level: Gathering area with poker table, mini-fridge, 65” Smart TV, stereo, Blu-Ray player, and a Half Bathroom. Access to covered deck, King Master Bedroom with a TV; King Master Bedroom with a TV; Queen Master Bedroom with a TV; Queen Master Bedroom with a TV; Queen Master Bedroom with a TV; Elevator access.

Ground-Level: Rec Room with full-size pool table, kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, 50” TV. Washer & Dryer, Access to the private heated pool area, and hot tub. Elevator access, King Master Bedroom with TV; Queen Master Bedroom with TV; Master Bedroom with one Full and one Twin with TV.

Outside: Private Pool (28x11) Heat Optional Seasonally, 42” outdoor TV (available from 3/11/19 - 11/18/19), hot tub, two outside showers (one enclosed), gas grilling area, seating around pool, yard, wooden walkway to beach.

Extras: Private Pool (Heat Optional Seasonally) (28x11), Hot Tub, Elevator, Wireless Internet Access, Full-Size Pool Table, Blu-Ray players, Stereo, 3 Refrigerators, 2 Dishwashers, 2 Microwaves, Mini Fridge, Gas Grill, outside showers, 1 covered parking area, No Smoking, PETS NOT ALLOWED, Parking: 6 cars. Distance to the Beach: 475 ft.

Additional amenity details: 

Private Pools are open from April 29, 2022 until October 7, 2022. (May 1, 2021 until October 9, 2021). Pool heat is an available option in this property, for a fee of $300 plus tax. Hot tubs are available year-round. Gas fireplaces are shut down from May 15 until September 15. 

All Outer Banks Blue properties provide bed linens. We also provide 1 bath towel and wash cloth per advertised occupant, 2 hand towels per bathroom, kitchen towels, and hot pads. Beds made prior to your arrival, and a starter supply of:

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Bed & bathroom

  • 10 Full baths

Amenities

  • Wireless Internet
  • Air conditioning
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Private outdoor pool (heated)
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Grill
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Elevator access
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property

About the manager

Outer Banks Blue
Calendar last updated:
09 May 2021
Years listed:
11
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Very Good
18 reviews

Excellent
8
Very Good
6
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
1

“best house we ever stayed at well stocked and spacious”

Reviewed 25 Jun 2017

this by far was one of the best houses we have ever stayed at spacious, lots of cooking utensils pots and pans pool hot tub and lots more close to the street but you would not know it, windows get the… More

“Rum Runner, Outer Banks.”

Reviewed 3 Aug 2014

We have stayed in this house for three consecutive summers and plan to return next year. A clean, well equipped, family friendly home that has updates each year. Elevator. Lots of room for everyone on… More

“Favorite house in OBX!”

Reviewed 3 Aug 2014

We have stayed at Rum Runner for two years and will continue to rent this house every summer! It is simply amazing! After a long drive from Ohio, this was the PERFECT location for our large group! … More

“The perfect house for a crowd...”

Reviewed 1 Dec 2013

This house is so accommodating. Great gathering spaces and great quiet spaces (for when your sibling gets on your last nerve). The outdoor spaces are inclusive; you can feel part of things from the p… More

“Absolutely Terrible”

Reviewed 18 Nov 2013

Very dirty, bugs in one bathroom, standing water in another. Carpet was dirty and reeked of dog. The house is directly on the highway. It was very noisy.

Response from the manager Dear Margaret, We are disappointed to read your review of Rum Runner and apologize for your disappointment. Your review is especially disappointing given the fact your group drove to the Outer Banks to view this property and took an extended tour of the property with our rental manager before making a reservation and ultimately making payment. There should have been no confusion regarding this property's location or amenities as a result. Mrs. Beverly Black who was the leaseholder on this reservation indicated she was satisfied with the rental of this property and the home was as expected. We wish you would have contacted us durign your visit with Mrs. Black so we could have corrected any deficiencies you found. As you can see by the other reviews of this property your experience is not the common takeaway from this home. All the best from the beach!

“Very nice home.”

Reviewed 31 Aug 2012

Loved the home and the close beach access. Was a little disappointed that it was not shown in pics or stated that it sits right by main road since we had young children that could not ride bikes that … More

“4 Gneration Family Vacation”

Reviewed 2 Aug 2012

The house was ok ---nothing like the last house we rented through Outer Banks Blue --which was great (Jones Beach House) --- little disappointed that when we arrived we found broken glass around the p… More

Response from the manager Dear Ms. Moyer, Thanks for posting your review of "Rum Runner." We are glad that you have had good experiences with Outer Banks Blue in the past, and we are sorry to hear that Rum Runner wasn't up to your expectation. We are frankly very surprised to hear this, because this is one of our most popular properties. We have called attention to your comments by the pool and spa vendor. He typically is very good about policing the pool area and ensuring that everything is just right. Likewise we are sensitive to being sure everything is working as good as it can during a guests stay so we do replace all a/c filters and blubs on a monthly basis. The a/c was actually working properly, and the a/c vendor that was dispatched to the property confirmed that it was cooling properly during your stay. We are sorry it was not to your satisfaction. As you are aware we actually replaced the washing machine during your stay which we know was disconcerting since you had a sick child staying with you that week. Please know we tried to get the replacement of the machine done as quickly as possible and with as little interruption to your stay as possible. We do hope your next stay with us will be less eventful, and you enjoyed your week at Rum Runner otherwise. All the best from Outer Banks Blue!

“awesome”

Reviewed 30 May 2011

awesome home there was 20 of us from 70 to 6 and there was something for all we had such a great time. all of us are planning a trip again next year.

“The locaton and layout of house was great.”

Reviewed 13 Jan 2011

This was largest hose we have rented. I have been renting beach homes since '94. We have family nearby so give us a chance to visit and have beach-time.

“Good and fun for all.”

Reviewed 12 Jul 2010

Pathway to ocean needs some warped boards replace for safety and over growth cut back. Phone in elevator was replaced and knob on elevator door was replaced. Service was prompt on indoor issues but … More

Review 1-10 of 18

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with the property manager through the contact form on this page.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send the property manager an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact the property manager?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I know my booking is safe?

You'll need to send the property manager an inquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.

If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.

Or you can send the property manager an inquiry through the contact form to request a quote. The property manager will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Send the property manager an inquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your dates. The property manager will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

Please note: only bookings paid for through our site are covered by Payment Protection.
Find out more about booking safely.

How do damage deposits work?

The property manager of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if the property manager supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact the property manager directly if you have any questions.

How do I cancel my booking?

You'll need to contact the property manager to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You'll need to contact the property manager to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & TripAdvisor

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Outer Banks

871 properties

Topsail Island

795 properties

Hatteras Island

384 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

272 properties

Calabash

198 properties

Holden Beach

165 properties

Carolina Beach

147 properties

Wrightsville Beach

142 properties

Corolla

129 properties

Duck

117 properties

Nags Head

93 properties

Sunset Beach

75 properties

Emerald Isle

70 properties

Wilmington

68 properties

Sneads Ferry

67 properties

Kure Beach

65 properties

Kitty Hawk

46 properties

Kill Devil Hills

42 properties

Oak Island

40 properties

Atlantic Beach

26 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.