From
$98 / night
Total guests, Nights

The Garden Cottage, Ubud, Bali Charming 2 bedroom – Home 3548016 Cottage

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

The Garden Cottage, Ubud, Bali Charming 2 bedroom – Home 3548016

  • Cottage
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 4
  • 3 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Swimming pool
  • Child Friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • Air conditioning
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

The Garden Cottage

Taman Kaja, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

This quaint and charming Colonial inspired 2 bedroom cottage is fully furnished and designer decorated. The two bedroom/two bathroom villa nestled on top of a river gorge with rice paddy views is only a 10 minute walk from the Royal Palace of Ubud and the famous Ubud tourist market. This beautiful comfortable home is ideal for a 2 couples on holiday, a family or singles on retreat. Conveniently located to great shopping, fabulous restaurants, spas and yoga classes, the villa is only minutes away. With rice paddy and jungle views, an enclosed tropical garden and shared saltwater pool, the villa is a cozy and comfortable exotic home away from home.

For a different type of holiday away from the big hotels, in a beautiful Balinese village with rice paddy views, stay in your own place with a complete kitchen and friendly Balinese staff to take care of you. Take walks through the rice paddies and village down to town only 10 minutes away.

We can also help arrange additional specialty guided tours with a neighbor driver to visit the local healers and spiritual teachers. The villa is also very close to all types of yoga classes and retreats, Tai Chi, Chi Kung classes and/or Ubud Fitness Gym, as well as some incredible spa experiences. We can even arrange for in house massages by some of the best massage therapists in Ubud, as well as hair treatments, foot reflexology, manicures, pedicures, and facials. Famous Iman Spa is located just a 2 minute walk up the road.

Our staff, Made and Wayan, will help make your holiday special and relaxing. They will clean the house, make the beds, and make your holiday comfortable and efficient. Many of the local restaurants have home delivery if you want to eat in. Wayan will shop for you at the organic vegetable market and local supermarket to supply the house with your requested foods and drink. We will also be happy to give you any tips on where to have the best experience for you to tour the island, go shopping, visit the spas, local dances, visit the temples, etc. etc.

Fall asleep to the sound of crickets and frogs, and from your bedroom verandah watch the working ducks and flying cranes each sunset in the rice fields, and observe the Balinese children flying their kites. But, there is also fiber optic WIFI if you feel you must be connected to the outside world.

This lovely 2 story home away from home, which sleeps up to 5, has 2 AC bedrooms with overhead fans. Each bedroom has a lovely verandah perched over the jungle river gorge and tranquil rice paddy views.

The downstairs air conditioned master bedroom has a queen size 4 poster bed with mosquito net and over head fan. The jungle view verandah, off the master bedroom, has an outdoor expandable dining table and 4 chairs for morning breakfast with great views and relaxing. This bedroom also has a TV/DVD player with lots of DVDs, cable TV and books to relax and enjoy after a busy day of Bali site seeing. There is a large Bali style walled in outdoor garden bathroom with a shower open to the sky.

The upstairs air conditioned bedroom with an overhead fan has it's own ensuite bathroom with shower, covered verandah with 2 single beds and with a lounge sofa area for relaxing. The upstairs verandah has a set of wicker chairs and table for reading, meditation, or just enjoying the view.

The main living area has a round antique pedestal teak table with 6 upholstered chairs, antique wedding chest and fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, and 4 burner stove with oven.

The pool is a shared pool with 2 villas, but is easily accessed by both. Pool towels are available.

We live nearby and are happy to help with any travel/site seeing arrangements and/or advice. The staff is available to make bookings for car and driver, motorbikes, bicycles, and adventure tours.

Our neighbor is a driver with a comfortable car, and for a very reasonable charge, can take you around for the day site seeing. He can also pick you up from the airport or your previous destination, and bring you directly to the villa.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King bed
    Bedroom 2: 3 Twin beds
    Beds in other rooms: Twin bed
  • 1 Shower, 1 Attached (ensuite)

Amenities

  • Wireless Internet
  • Air conditioning
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Mountain Views
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Safe
  • Staffed property
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Toaster
  • Iron
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • Video player
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Housekeeping Included

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

The cottage is in a great location if you are walking, using a motor bike or renting a taxi for day tours around Bali. Easy access.

Interaction with guest

Our friendly staff is available from 8AM to 6PM. They will be happy to arrange tours, motorbikes, take away food, or just give directions. If you are arriving after 4 PM we advise that you use our neighbor to pick you up and bring you to the villa. The villa may be a bit difficult to find if the driver is not from the Ubud area. We definitely recommend organizing our neighbor to pick you up after dark or late night flight arrivals.

Policies

Check in time: 14:00, Check out time: 12:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $100.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

We welcome children to the villa, but it may not be suitable for toddlers under the age of 3 if they are just crawling or newly walking as there are open balconies and steps around the house. But, we can help to arrange a service for baby equipment, and/or nannies. Please let us know in advance.

More

About the owner

Wayan S.
Calendar last updated:
01 Dec 2021
Years listed:
10
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Map

Reviews

Very Good
28 reviews

Excellent
22
Very Good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Peaceful Paradise”

Reviewed 13 Oct 2019

My daughter and I stayed at the Garden Cottage for a week and loved it! From the first contacts, communication was clear and reliable. We were so well looked after by the amazing Wayan, who followed u… More

“Absolutely gorgeous !”

Reviewed 20 Jul 2019

Have just spent two wonderful weeks at The Garden Cottage with my family. The villa is so beautiful it was hard to say goodbye. Everything is so clean and tastefully decorated. It is situated at the e… More

Response from the owner It is always a delight to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for being such great guests.

“Always so magical ..”

Reviewed 1 Jul 2019

My mumma found this absolute gem quite a few years back, and we have stayed here ever since. We try to come to Bali annually, and have always had the most relaxing and enchanting time whilst here. Th… More

Response from the owner Thank you so much for your lovely review of the villa. We always enjoy when you come for a visit and look forward to your next stay. Cheers.

“Absoulute paradise !!!!”

Reviewed 18 Jun 2018

We have just returned home after an amazing holiday in Ubad. As usual we stayed at Mary's little piece of paradise Garden Cottage. I can not rave enough about the kindness and hospitality given t… More

Response from the owner We love having Andrea and her lovely daughters stay with us. Always great guest. Easy and happy. Very kind to the staff and take good care of the house. We hope they will return again soon.

“Beautiful cottage accommodation in the perfect location!”

Reviewed 30 Mar 2018

We stayed in the Garden Cottage Ubud for a two week period and loved everything about it (March 2018). The cottage is a very beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bathroom stylish home located off Jl. Sri Waderi an… More

Response from the owner Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Lots of great information for our next guests. You are a great guest both here and there. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Cheers,

“Tranquil Garden Cottage”

Reviewed 25 Feb 2018

I recently spent a week in the beautiful garden cottage...such a special place to stay in Ubud! I definitely found paradise here. I was taken care of so well by the owner and amazing staff. Mary wa… More

Response from the owner Thank you so much for your kind and glowing review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope you will return again soon. You are a great and welcome guest.

“Overpriced and disappointing”

Reviewed 4 Jan 2018

We were disappointed with our stay at the garden cottage. It’s okay if you want some rustic Balinese charm, but you can get that much more cheaply and authentically at a local homestay. At this … More

Response from the owner Dear Veronica, Although we always feel sad that any guest does not have a great Ubud holiday, we do appreciate that you took the time to detail what exactly you felt was unsatisfactory about your stay at the Garden Cottage. This really helps our team and us improve on what we currently provide in terms of services and amenities. We were not made aware of most of these points during your stay as otherwise we definitely would have rectified most of the aspects that made you feel uncomfortable. Wayan and Made, our housekeeping team, are in the villa area every day and only told us that you loved the house and were very happy there. Any one of us would have been happy to help with the issues you raised had we known before your quick departure due to your autistic son’s stomach health back home. When you left, we all had the impression that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the only reason for leaving early your family circumstances. Please allow us to clarify the points you raised about your stay from beginning to end. 1) Kitchen Appliances – We do have a toaster oven on the counter in the kitchen next to the stove, but it may have been tucked away in a cabinet as the kitchen area is quite spacious. We provide a stainless kettle that can be heated on the gas stove as this is more environmentally and economically friendly in Bali which could shortly face power shortages. We do not offer microwaves for health and safety reasons. Our Flipkey listing does not mention this as one of the amenities, but almost everything done in a microwave can be handled more safely in our large gas powered 4 burner stove and oven. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, but our eco-focus means that we will not provide this facility. Microwaves are generally also not offered by the majority of homestays and hotels in Bali, especially in our price range. 2) Value for Money – We believe that we cannot be compared to a homestay which offers much less than what we offer in terms of style and comfort. We chose the antiques you mentioned because they are from Bali and believe that they make a stay more authentic. In addition, we are investing in the local economy and promoting Balinese culture. We certainly did not cut back on the modern conveniences in order to replace them with Balinese artifacts. We try to be as eco/green focused as possible in Bali with recycling, composting, no pesticides, etc. Most people are very complimentary of the aesthetic design of the cottage as it makes them feel like they are truly in Bali. 3) Laundry Facilities – I can think of very few places that offer on-site laundry facilities unless it is for a long-term contract. There are plentiful establishments run by the Balinese who do a great job at a reasonable price. Wayan or Made will take clothes to be laundered and return them on the same day at no extra cost other than what is paid (with a receipt) to the local laundry. Although we appreciate that having kids means you have more laundry to do quickly, we do state on the listing that this is not a facility we offer other than for our staff to take it to an outside provider. We believe this a better investment in the local economy than offering a washing machine for guest use. Also other guests really do not want to see other guests laundry drying in our jungle setting. We believe it is best for all to take the laundry to a local family who always do an excellent job at a very fair price. 4) Toiletries – We provide and replenish on a daily basis toilet paper and locally made organic soaps. If for some reason you ran out of this during the day, Wayan and Made would have happily restocked them both. We do not provide shampoo or conditioner as we found most people bring their favorites with them. 5) Coffee, Tea and Water– We provide fresh organic coffee purchased directly from a coffee plantation on Mount Batu Karu, plus an assortment of teas. These, plus sugar are replenished daily. I am not sure why you advised that the coffee was well past its use-by date as it is always fresh with no packaging details as found in processed coffee. Ours’ is fresh, organic and locally sourced. We apologize about the milk, but guest feedback led us to the decision to purchase fresh milk for those who want it. The two staff offer on the first morning to go shopping for the supplies that guests will need during their stay. There is no extra charge for this service and they love doing this for guests. However, we will start providing a small carton of milk on the first day until we are more aware of guest preferences. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be appreciated by those who arrive late in the evening and really need a coffee. A large container of filtered water is always available. 6) Electricity Outage – We do apologize for this, but we did call the electrician as soon as we were aware of the problem and it was fixed by 9:30am. Unfortunately, it was the one night off for our security guard and the other staff turn off their phones until it is time to leave for work in the morning. They do not live nearby. We reacted as soon as we heard the news. This is the first time that this happened, and so sorry that it happened to you at such an awkward hour. 7) Internet – Sadly our internet connections can be slow at times. We have lived on the property for 10 years and have tried everything possible to resolve this issue as we too rely on the internet. Our immediate neighbors have the same problem and it is very frustrating at times. The problem is specific to our area as in town the connections are much more reliable. However, most people who stay with us our holiday makers, so don’t really use the internet that often and thankfully it does work most of the time. We apologize for any problems it may have caused you personally. We will continue to work on this problem as it has been frustrating to us as well. 8) Insects and animals – As the cottage is located next to a jungle and the downstairs garden bathroom is outdoors, we do have geckos and frogs. The good news is that they love to eat mosquitoes! However we do provide mosquito nets in both the downstairs and upstairs sleeping areas, plus an electric zapper, battery operated zapper bats, over head fans, etc., but we do not spray pesticides. Mosquitoes are a reality here, but we do provide every protection possible for our guests. No guest has ever contracted dengue while staying with us. 9) In your first letter to us you said you were looking forward to staying on the jungle river gorge, and rice paddies. Frogs and lizards are all part of the natural setting. As for the giant roaches, we have never had a complaint, nor have we ever seen them in the house. Our staff do a regular pest management control to ensure that this is never a problem. 10) Care for the Staff –All of our staff have earn more than the minimum wage required by law, plus we give them mid monthly bonuses and during their important holidays where they spent more than usual on ceremonies. Wayan and Made also receive 100% of the tips that guests leave them. They have been working at the villas for 8 years, and are treated with the utmost respect as everyone loves their gentle and giving nature. They enjoy working at the villas and interacting with the guests. 11) Refund – When you left we discussed a refund and I advised that if I was able to rent the Garden Cottage out that I could refund some of the money even though it is FlipKey’s policy not to give refunds. We were not able to open the calendar with Flipkey so people could see it was available. We did our best to rent it out, but as it was high season almost everyone had already booked their accommodation. After the New Year, is a slow time in Bali, made worse this year due to the threat of Mount Agung erupting ---which has yet to happen. As a gesture of goodwill we are willing to refund part of your stay. This needs to be arranged by email, so please contact me privately. Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention. Perhaps when your son is better you can return to Bali for a holiday, in which case as mentioned to before, you can rebook the villa without paying again.

“Loved the jungle cottage!!”

Reviewed 1 Oct 2017

Absolutely loved every minute of our stay here. The photographs don't do it justice. Located centrally but amazingly quiet and hidden, this place is a true gem. Owner Wayan and the house help wer… More

Response from the owner We loved having this family stay at the villa. Always a smile and a kind word. We hope they will come to stay with us again soon.

“A hidden Bali gem where you feel instantly at peace.”

Reviewed 10 Sep 2017

This place is an absolute haven. The charming, peaceful, spacious setting is a welcome, calming reprieve from the hustle and bustle of nearby Ubud Central (an easy walk of around 10 minutes down a lov… More

Response from the owner Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay at the villa and hope you will return again soon. Just let us know and we will have all ready for you. Cheers.

“Garden Cottage Ubud”

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Lovely villa at a quiet location with villas and rice fields adjacent but only a 10 minute walk to the main street. Very spacious with kitchen, dining room and and two large bedrooms. Not sure why the… More

Review 1-10 of 28

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Wayan (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Wayan (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Wayan (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Wayan the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Wayan (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Wayan (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Wayan (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Wayan (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Wayan (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Wayan (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Wayan (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Wayan (the owner) a message.

If Wayan (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Kuta District

1,897 properties

Gianyar Regency

1,227 properties

North Kuta

1,120 properties

Ubud

945 properties

Denpasar

546 properties

Nusa Dua Peninsula

396 properties

Buleleng Regency

394 properties

South Kuta

291 properties

Karangasem

156 properties

Tabanan

105 properties

Sukawati

80 properties

Nusa Lembongan

73 properties

Tegalalang

62 properties

Gianyar

54 properties

Uluwatu

47 properties

Tampaksiring

36 properties

Nusa Penida

35 properties

Blahbatuh

30 properties

Selemadeg

28 properties

Kutuh

24 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.