Experience Gentle Winds in this magnificent, professionally decorated, waterfront home.BRAND NEW ADDITION OF MASTER BEDROOM AND ELEVATOR. COMPLETE MAKE OVER OF OUTSIDE & INSIDE OF HOUSE WITH ADDED CARPORT AND DECKING.. 3 King Master Bedrooms, all with waterfront views and each with its own private whilrpool.Beautiful kitchen with granite countertops, tile floors, double oven and 2 dishwashers - all overlooking spectacular sunsets over the water! . A romantic, secluded private pier gazebo and hot tub inside the gazebo overlooks a private mooring for sailboat, windsurfer, or kayak. This home is one of the closest homes to the water with specta...cular waterfront views on the Outer Banks! This house is located in Monteray Shores in the Corolla area, very close to community pool, fitness center, and tennis courts. Top Level: Luxurious New King Master Bedroom. Plasma Flat Screen HDTV with walk in upscale 7 head shower with bench and 4 jet whirlpool tub with georgeous water views. Sliding glass doors go out to decking that overlooks the sound. Gas fireplace in Master Bedroom and Living room area. A spacious living area w/spectacular panoramic water views, stereo w/CD, TV/VCR/DVD player,Plasma flat screen in great room with surround sound... observation area/reading nook, bath, waterfront sunroom w/seating, alcove w/wet bar, ice maker and refrigerator, private dining room , kitchen with 2 dishwashers and 2 ovens, New luxurious Master Bedroom, upscale walk in shower and whirlpool tub.....Gas Fireplace....Flat screen TV. And sliders that go out on deck overlooking the sound.Mid Level: Offers 2 King MBRs each W/ flat screen TV, whirlpools and great waterfront views, a room with a Duo Bunk and flat screen TV, a room w/2 Singles & Double Futon w/TV/VCR and a full bath. Ground Level: Has a den/bedroom w/ a flat screen TV/VCR/DVD, Stereo, a Duobunk & Trundle , a full bath and separate entrances to deck, gazebo, hot tub, bath and 2 car garage.Click here to view more information about Monteray Shores" ELEVATOR, High Speed Internet Access, , Private pier with gazebo w/Hot tub (6), 6 TVs, , 4 DVD players, gas burning fireplaces, wet bar, games, books, 2 single and 1 double relaxing Nags Head Hammock chair swings, 1 double tree hammock overlooking the water, very close to community pool and tennis..... No Pets. ..No SmokingClick here to see some virtual tours of Gentle Winds ! Outer Banks Blue homes are equipped with: beds made prior to your arrival linens provided at no extra charge one set of towels per advertised occupant hand towels in each bathroom kitchen linens starter supplies of: toilet paper in every bathroom soap in each bathroom paper towels sample size dishwasher detergent and clothes detergentRead more
Left on 08/10/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Debra
We had a great time. The house was comfortable and spacious.The view was wonderful. We were glad to see a wonderfully organized and stocked kitchen- ready for any kind of meal. My only wish would have been sharper knives. It was a perfect visit.
Left on 06/01/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | WorldTraveler
We loved renting from Outer Banks Blue. It was very easy. No check in or visits to a rental office. The view from the back of the house is beautiful. The master suite, kitchen and living room areas are very nice and have some more modern updates. The lower two floors however are in need of updates. The comforters and curtains were stained and smelled of mildew. I don't know if we were the first renters of the season and it had been closed up for the winter but we had to buy air freshener just to sleep in those rooms.
Left on 08/29/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Family 7
Beautiful home with wonderful views. Had lots of ammenities including a canoe and crab cages! Many things to do on the sound just steps from the back yard. Hot tub on the sound was one of my favorite features...just lovely. Decor of the bedrooms/bathrooms, and washer and dryer could be updated/renovated, but overall a nice home. We would definitely stay there again.
Left on 07/31/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Barbara
We loved our stay at Gentle Winds. The location was perfect. We walked to tennis and the clubhouse (the kids enjoyed the craft projects). Parking to get to the ocean was nearby. We rented a kayak and kept it at our dock. We crabbed on the dock (crab pots were in the garage!) and fished every day. The outside shower was great for washing the kids. We prepared all of our meals in the large kitchen (w/2 dishwashers!). The kids ate at the bar and the adults ate at the table (13 people sitting down!). The gas grill was an added bonus (but trekking up and down the stairs to get to it was not!). The views of the sound were beautiful.
Left on 07/31/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | No screen name
Location - amenities OK
Overall cleanliness was poor. Daughter had allergic reaction to dust in the bedrooms on 2nd floor - we cleaned screens and vacuumed under the beds. Light in dining room very dirty.
Outside shower was dirty - had to sweep with broom found that had no handle.
Picnic table outside had one seat on the ground.
Gazebo - screens in windows and doors were hanging in disarray. However, the hot tub was well maintained.
Kitchen - safety concern - Teflon coated pots and pans were scrapped. Recollection from past experience is that if Teflon is scrapped like that the item should not be used. Blender container was cracked from overtightening (as was condition).
Dining room - back of one chair was broken.
Outside deck (upper)- nails protruding from deck and chairs - initially scratched a couple of us until hammered down.
Garage - stuff laying around. Would have been nice to have a hose to rise off kayaks, etc after use.
Overall, though a nice location and amenities offered by community - short walk to the beach, tennis, bikes, etc. the condition of the house was not consistent with the price charged. We should have called upon arrival for you to visit and observe. Our mistake but these are valid findings.
Thanks for taking the time to review this property on Trip Advisor. I apologize that Gentle Winds did not meet your expectations. I note that we did not hear from you about any of these items during your stay so we were unable to rectify any of these issues for you. We would have been happy to do what we can to repair or replace what was needed. Many times things like what you mention occur during a stay and our cleaners, with limited time in the property each week, simply don't pick up on these things and they go unrepaired. The good news is based on your review we have followed up on these items and rectified what we can for future renters.
We hope to serve you again in the future!
All the best from the beach!
Left on 06/04/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Goldie
House was very nice and relaxing, enjoyed sitting on the decks and catching some of the blue crabs off the pier. The house was clean and inviting we would stay there again. Very pleasant stay for our family.
Left on 05/13/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Louisa
the layout of the house and the views were spectacular!! and the close proximity to the beach was really convenient! however, the house could have used a good cleaning and an exterminator. the remodeled kitchen was fabulous but there were crumbs in the drawers and the trash cans in the kitchen were not clean (had food stains, and an odor about them.) the first few days we saw a lot of ants, but my husband's daughter-in-law lined the kitchen counters with dish soap which seemed to alleviate the worst of that; but we also saw several large cockroaches. in fact we left one of them in the cabinet under the stove because it was so big we were afraid to lift the lid under which my husband trapped it. it was a glass lid so we are assuming the cleaning people will see it and discard it. one of the children woke up with a tick in her back.(she had been outside the previous day, but she had been bathed that evening and her clothes from that day were put in the washer when she got home from being outside. it is absolutely possible that it came from the outdoors, but wanted OBB to know about it given the other little critters that were running around in the house)also it appeared that there were mouse droppings in one of the bedrooms. we did vaccuum it up and nothing new appeared after that.(but that really freaked me out. we didn't see that till thurday evening, otherwise i would have called and asked to move houses.)there were dirty socks and discarded children's drawings and wrappings from a child's toy under the bed in one of the master bedrooms. also there were no sheets for the crib. (fortunately we brought our own.) lastly when i called to reserve the house i was told the children could swim in the sound. we checked with the people at the community center and they told us they actually do not recommend that people swim in the sound: there are poinsonous snakes in there as well as crabs. within 2 days of that we saw 3 snakes.
in spite of it all we had a lovely time!
Left on 11/11/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | kms
The home is beautiful but could use some updating. We found that the beds, the sofas and the bedding were very worn and not all that comfortable. We were also disappointed to see that the carpets were soiled and could use a good cleaning. We had some beautiful days where we would have liked to open the windows. Unfortunately we couldn't-some of them wouldn't crank open and some of those that did were very difficult to close. There were also some that appeared to be falling off their hinges when we tried to open them, so we gave up.
We had a great vacation, but for the money spent had hoped that the home would have been cleaner and in better condition. Read more
We are certainly sorry that you feel as you do about this home. I note that we did not hear from you during your stay about any of these issues which is unfortunate because we would have been happy to rectify the issues that we could. We have not heard this complaint before about the windows and will have one of our maintenance people stop by and address the matter.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Relaxing and Comfortable
Left on 10/18/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | Bob H
This is a lovely house on the sound with a beautiful sunset vista. The description and photos on line are completely accurate. The neighborhood is beautiful with a fine clubhouse. I'd recommend this house to anyone. Only complaint: the house needs a visit from the exterminator.There were a few too many 6 and 8 leg critters indoors.
Left on 10/05/2008 for a stay in September 2007 | Total relaxation
The home was better than we expected. The ammenities exceeded our needs. The view from the back of the house was very comforting. There was one stipulation for enjoyment of the view, the resident squirrel. He (the squirrel) obviously calls home the upper level back deck. He makes his presence when he's hungry or just wants to mingle with the tenants. He likes peanuts but beware, if you feed him, he may wear out his welcome. I would definitely recommend this property. Our stay was very pleasant.
Left on 10/01/2008 for a stay in September 2007 | Jim H
Loved the house and the bay view. Very nice neighborhood. Only disappointment at the property was the quality of the water from the shore line out to beyond the pier-lots of underwater vegetation and occassionally snakes. Not suitable for swimming. Next time I vacation in this area I will look for something on the ocean side.
Left on 09/23/2008 for a stay in April 2007 | Andrea & Rick Japinga
We are not new to renting on OBX however, this was our first time at Gentle Winds. The property is lovely and after a few initial internal/external housekeeping issues were taken care of we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
I would definitely recommend it to others and will most likely rebook for another vacation this year and hopefully in the future.
The sound view & sunsets are spectacular as well as the decks and amenities.
We think of OBXand whatever properties we rent as our home away from home. Thank you OBX Blue.
Left on 09/20/2008 for a stay in March 2008 | Doug
Our stay at Gentle Winds was a last minute decision to "get away from it all". We usually rent a property on the Outer Banks in June, so this would be our first experience in March, and our first stay on the sound side.
The house was well appointed, but greater attention to detail could have been given to it's maintenance. Things like none of the outside lights had working bulbs...the door to the screen house was broken and without screen...some trash was left by the cleaning staff...and a few dead bugs. Outside furniture was very worn and rickety, unusable actually, but I understand that would have been an owner issue. These things did not effect the quality of our stay, but did make me wonder about the care of OBX Blue Properties.
Now, on the positive side, OBX Blue personnel made the rental process very easy....check in/check out was about the easiest I've experienced. The newly remodeled kitchen was very enjoyable, and the view of the sound each day was incredible. Overall, considering ease of rental, price, and other positive experiences, I'd probably rent the same property again. It would take little effort to correct any deficiency noted here. Read more
Thanks for your review on "Gentle Winds." We appreciate the candid feedback.
As I'm sure you can imagine by now we have taken care of the items you outlined from your stay at the beginning of the season. We respond to every call we get regarding maintenance and would have been happy to rectify all of these had we heard from you during your stay. I know it is disappointing to find these issues, but we are eager to solve them if we are made aware.
We look forward to serving you better next time!
All the best from the beach!
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.