Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 22 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $950 to as high as $1500, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 21, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Smoking allowed
– based on 22 reviews
- Very Good
“Nice beachfront property”
The house was a great location for seeing the ocean and the sound views. For families of more then 6 would not recommend it but smaller families it's perfect
“Rental Company: No Customer Service”
The cottage on the beach at Emerald Isle was clean and accommodating. It sleeps 10, we had 7. and that was too many. There are only 3 chairs, other than dining table chairs to sit in in the entire house. No place to sit and talk or lounge. Back porch isn't large enough to do that either, only 3 chairs there. We made do and had a nice time at the beach because the weather was great all week. The worse part was the rental company, Emerald Isle Realty. When we arrived on Saturday there were 5 things we needed taken corrected, the worse of which was ants in the bathroom and kitchen. Emerald Isle Realty was a no show / no call on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, even though we called them every day. On Wednesday we finally drove down to their office (about 5 miles) to provide our list in person. Later that day an exterminator came and sprayed for ants. The ants were back by Friday and no one came to fix our other issues. I would not recommend renting a house from Emerald Isle Realty. They have no sense of customer service. They couldn't even call us to acknowledge our reported issues and apologize for not coming to repair the problems. One of the requests was to replace a burned out light in the kitchen. They couldn't even do that. Worst customer service I have ever had with any beach realty company and we have been renting on various NC islands for over 20 years.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 If By Sea West. This is a four bedroom duplex so it sleeps just eight people as defined by the county health department. Still, you should have had more chairs and I'm sorry to hear that you did not. I am also sorry to hear of the lack of response you received when reporting issues. We do strive to address all reported issues within twenty-four hours and I am sorry that we failed to do so for you and your family. I am happy to know that you enjoyed a nice time together at the beach and had nice weather to do so. Thank you again for your feedback.
Loved it! Porch is awesome, ocean views from both upstairs and downstairs are great. Especially liked looking at the lightening way out over the ocean from my bed - no noise just great light effects. Kitchen was well equipped and very functional as we always cook in. our 2nd year and we will be back.
“September annual Vacation”
Our vacation was wonderful as always-the weather was fabulous! The house was nice, had a few minor issues. I agree with previous commenters that the house does need some attention to the peeling interior paint walls/ceiling and updating plumbing fixtures (showerheads and toilets). Also there was a terrible bug problem at night both inside and on the decks that need attn. as well as the drainage of the upstairs tub. The comforters on the bed were kind of dirty (had this problem last year in the house we rented)-next year we are going to start bringing our own. Otherwise beds/other furniture were pretty comfortable, kitchen well stocked. View is beautiful. The house was ready for our early arrival check-in.
“First family vacation to The Crystal Coast.”
Greetings, This was our first family vacation to Emerald Isle and our first rental through Emerald Isle Realty. Both were very satisfying experiences. I gave a very good raiting based on the fact that I feel that this was a very clean, comfortable property that would suit the needs of most families looking for an overall enjoyable vacation. Other than a few cosmetic flaws; the property was very clean and well stocked in a very good state of repair. Everything worked as it should with no surprise malfunctions. I would like to suggest spending some time and money in making a few aesthetic repairs/upgrades and to upgrade the bathroom fixtures. Repairs to the ceiling plaster and peeling paint would visually enhance the overall comfort feel of the property. Replacing/upgrading to oval bowl toilets and adjustable flow/pattern shower heads would make the facilities more user friendly. Two other suggestions that I feel would make a major improvement to the overall property comfort and quality plus create a big hit with future renters would be to add gutters and to make the covered area of the bottom deck more useful during rain events. Gutters, especially above the front/main entrance and laundry room would divert the roof runoff and allow renters to enter and exit these doors without getting soaked in even slight rain events. The covered area of the bottom deck is a great feature of this property unless it rains. Rain makes this space useless. Renters are stuck inside and unable to sit and enjoy the outdoors or leave anything out that could be affected by the rain. No hanging towels or clothing out to dry. Making this area rainproof would be a great improvement. All of my suggestions are just that. Suggestions. Based on my visit and opinion. None of my suggestions are on a need to basis and in no way affect the overall quality of this property. I do and would recomend this property to friends and family. Thank You, Bradley
Response from the manager I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your first Emerald Isle vacation. Thank you for sharing your experience and for your suggestions. We'd love to have you as our guest again so let us know when we can plan your next vacation to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.
“Like the area not the house...”
I have come to Emerald Isle for the past 4 years and this was the worse house that we have stayed in... - kitchen not equipet very well - the kitchen chairs kept falling apart on use - no water came out of the downstairs showerhead - upstairs shower curtain cover in mold an mold on painted walls ! - we did not like going out side to get to the laundry room - I'm a small person and the space where the toilet is located is extremly small, we all have bruises on our arms from the trim! - only 1 lawn chair and 1 rocking chair on lower deck - we had ants every where, along the patio doors, crawling on the walls by the window by kitchen table. We called and the bug man came on sunday afternoon and sprayed, but they did come back the next day. Thank you for the quick response. House keeping must of been rushed, we had to sweep up the sand in the livingroom / kitchen. We had no problems with the linen company its nice not having to bring them from home. Steps going up stairs are very narrow, easy to trip on them coming down. I hope next year will be better for use...
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 If By Sea West. I will certainly let our maintenance department know of the issues which you experienced during your stay. We would have happily sent someone to take care of these for you, had you called us during your stay. Thank you for your feedback and please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“Call in Mr. Clean”
Just the two of us stayed here. Upon arriving we were greeted with a moldy smell that lingered the whole week. The house location was excellent though, right on the beach. The views were spectacular and access to the beach is right outside your front door. Inside the house - the bathroom fixtures were rusted and the outlet in bath-down tripped when it rained and could not be reset. The appliances in the kitchen were in good shape, except the petrified toaster oven. The loveseat had holes and stains, the carpet on the main floor was stained and the whole house smelled. All in all, we didn't think that this house was worth the money, If it were updated, walls repaired, electrical repairs and thorough cleaning, it would be a great place to rent and well worth the money. The silver rating it was given, we felt, was overrated. We left early, due to allergies from the mold. We were very dissapointed in this rental.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 If By Sea West. I agree, the location of and views from this duplex are excellent - you can't get much closer to the beach. I have forwarded your review on to our housekeeping department and will let you know that more often than not, mold is actually mildew and can easily be cleaned. I trust our housekeeping department will take care of this. I wish you had let us know your concerns while you were here or when you were checking out. We certainly would have taken care of this for you. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“fun with family”
We were a little upset when booking, we were told you would look into getting larger tables in the dining area. However when we called a week before leaving for the beach we were told you couldn't have looked into it because someone was in there, which made no sense but whatever! The duplex was very nice and we had a lot of fun as we only get together once a year. The only other complaint is the air did not work well in the one bedroom that had no ceiling fan. I called the night we arrived to maintenance for a regular fan for that room and was told that was not allowed. I then said that the air needs fixed in that room because it was hot on the 2nd floor. He then said they would bring a fan, obviously it never came all week. Luckily someone of our own family had enough sense to bring one.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 If By Sea East. It pleases me to know that you and your family had an enjoyable time in Emerald Isle while renting the 2 If By Sea duplex. I apologize for your confusion with booking and maintenance issues. We did check to see if there were additional chairs so you would be able to seat more than 6 at the existing table. I'm sorry if you never received this information. Our maintenance records don't indicate any issue being found with the air conditioning or duct work leading the the bedroom which you mentioned. We did experience quite a heat wave this Summer and a lot of air conditioning units had a difficult time keeping up with the high humidity and hot temperatures. It did provide for some wonderful beach weather though. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you'll vacation with Emerald Isle Realty, on the Crystal Coast again. Please call us when you begin to make your 2012 vacation plans, 1-888-832-0140.
“comfortable and pleasant”
We were long term renters and thought that this place was very good. Good space, for the most part, but would have liked to have had more storage. Felt very home like and comfortable. Loved the location on the beach. Saw many dolphins during our stay and that was awesome. Deck was nice and big and our son loved playing on it. Does need a few upgrades, in my opinion. The shower fixtures could be upgraded b/c they were a bit worn and rusty. The "chair rail" in the bathrooms had a corner near the toilet that sticks out and I was always bumping into it w/ my arms and that hurt. Other then that we enjoyed our stay and would def. stay there again. Very well priced!
“Lost in Time”
We love the west side of this duplex. It is just a wondrful little beach house. We love that it is on the beach. We have been staying at this house off and on for many years. We figured about 26yrs., off and on. The kitchen is well-equipped, and the layout is open and friendly. There is nothing fancy about the place. it is just a beach house where we can go, and just hangout with our families and close friends. It is our piece of paradise. We do wish the fishing had been better. The shallow water in front of the house is a hinderance for the "big fish" all the men hope to catch. The sunrises are exquisit!!!... as are the sunsets.