Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 9 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1265 to as high as $2145, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 22, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 22 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Smoking allowed
– based on 9 reviews
- Very Good
The house is nice and right on the beach. The kitchen dosen't have basic things like can openers,cork screws etc. Bring plastic cups because you will not want to drink out of their glasses.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I will be sure to ask our housekeeping department to inventory the kitchen items and replace things that are needed. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to your next stay with us so please call us when you begin planning your next vacation to Emerald Isle.
“Nice home with many ammenties, but ...”
It was nice to see they had a griddle, waffle maker, blender and pretty good knives and pans. There was lots of room for dining and loved the outdoor area. I think the only thing missing was an outside grill. Even if there was a charcoal grill available that would have helped. Most places have gas grills supplied. Lower level was musty smell which permeated upstairs when walking next store. Had to keep the door closed.
“We Love the Beach”
We were very pleased with the homes layout and construction. Sadly, this home is in desperate need of a thorough, decent cleaning. We vacuumed carpets before we could even move in our suitcases. While that removed grass, lint, and loose dirt, that would not touch the dirt and stains ground into the carpets. The basement game room was so rank with musty odors (mildew), none of us were able to use the games there. Fortunately, we go for the beach so we weren't upset about that. Many of the stools would nearly fall apart when used. One of the recliners, when reclined would not return to its upright position. Back to the cleaning, I had to clean handrails of the staircases because hands stuck to them when used because of the buildup of residue. I operated a premier cleaning service in the Buffalo,NY area and in a rising corporate town in Pennsylvania for over 15 years. From personal experience, baseboards and moldings in this home have not even been dusted in months, and obviously not cleaned in a much longer time. Sadly, this has become an obvious problem with the cleaning service used by Emerald Isle Realty because we have watched this issue continue to worsen for some years now. Unfortunately, we are considering going to another realty firm that may pay closer attention to the conditions of their rental properties. Now, lets discuss the number of burnt out light bulbs and batterites we replaced in remotes. Shall I go on??
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at San Kat West. It pleases me to know that you did enjoy the layout of this duplex. I am sorry to hear of your disappointments and frustrations with the lack of cleanliness you arrived to find. Please let us know of such things when you arrive to the property as we'll gladly send housekeeping out to resolve the issue. I have forwarded your review to our housekeeping department so this can be looked into a perhaps a deep clean done on this home. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will choose to return to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty in 2012 so you can see how your feedback has helped us to improve the services which we provide. We are making advanced reservations for 2012 so please call us if you'd like to book yours, 1-888-832-0140.
“Unacceptable Conditions Upon arrival”
San Kat West had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The oven and microwave doors were broken. Water pooled inside refrigerator (leak?) Carpet was stained throughout. We called Maintenance. A woman (presumably a supervisor) did come promptly and got housekeeping to come and clean. We were told the duplex was not on the cleaning schedule. No one ever came to look at the appliances. We turned in a list of these problems to the Reservation desk in the office. One of the owners of San Kat was staying in the East side of the duplex. He and his wife came to look at the problems. They were apologetic. He screwed the oven door back on and lowered the freezer temperature in the refrigerator. We still had to keep a towel in the bottom of the refrigerator and periodically wring it out. We think this duplex is overrated in your rental guide.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at San Kat West. I do apologize that you arrived to such disappointing conditions. This is not the standard for which Emerald Isle Realty strives. It does please me to know that the owner of this property, as well as Emerald Isle Realty's maintenance and housekeeping departments were able to remedy most of the issues you experienced. I am happy to let you know that because you promptly reported these issues, the carpet has been cleaned, the refrigerator was repaired, and the microwave has been replaced. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. We hope you'll vacation with us again and trust that your next experience will be more pleasurable. Please call us when you're ready to make another trip to the Crystal Coast, 1-888-832-0140.
“Great weather and gret time”
Need to review kitchen ware, No can opener and other major cooking pots and pans
Response from the manager Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you had good weather which made for a nice vacation. I have forwarded your suggestions on to the owner. We do keep some kitchen items on hand. While staying with us, please let us know if you need additional cookware, silverware, etc. We're happy to loan these items to our guests. I hope you'll choose Emerald Isle Realty when planning your next vacation. UPDATE: We received a response from the owner of San Kat West who is sorry that you were inconvenienced by not having adequate cookware. I was told that San Kat West does have a nice set of pots and pans but they were apparently taken to the East side during a stay, prior to yours, where the guest's rented both sides. I am very sorry that this happened and again encourage you to let us know if/when you feel one of our properties is lacking in kitchen equipment and such. This will make us aware if items have been carried off or misplaced and, again, we do have some items which we're happy to loan to our guest's to make their stay more enjoyable.
“Henderson's and friends spend week in relaxation.”
Dale and Sandy Henderson along with several friends spent a week in sun and relaxation recently at Emerald Isle, NC. This visit represents the 20th year the Henderson's have been on vacation at the beaches of North and South Carolina. "The accommodations were wonderful!" stated Sandy, the matriarch of the Henderson family, "I wish we could have spent two weeks at San Kat West." Dale, the husband of Sandy, comments "Next year we are thinking about returning to the same house, because it met all of our needs. Being a Christian family, we appreciated being able to talk to the owners, who were also Christians." Well it seems as though the Henderson group was well pleased with there vacation in N.C. this year and hopefully will return for many years to come.
“The location was great, but the house was dirty and in disrepair”
The home is situated right on the beach and has ample room. However, the carpeting was stained and dirty, and the ceiling in the master bedroom was partially caved in by the doorway. For the price that we paid (about $3,000), our expectation was that the standards for maintenance would be higher. Our vacation money is precious to us, and we feel that our $3,000 would be better spent next year in a home that has been better maintained.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at San Kat West. It pleases me to know that you found the location of this duplex to be appealing as it is convenient and wonderful views are boasted from the Oceanfront rooms and decks. We, too, realize that a vacation is a large investment for families and I'm sorry to hear that you felt you didn't get what you paid for. Please contact our maintenance and housekeeping departments to report issues such as you experienced so we can work to resolve them for you. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“Home away from home”
We have stayed on EI for 26 years and have stayed on several properties, this was our first time at San Kat E and W. We love the connecting doors, and the fewest steps to the beach, ever! We also liked the nicest bedroom on the first level for the ones who no longer can climb the stairs with ease. It was a well furnished, lovely home that made us feel very comfortable.
“san kat west”
my family stayed there twice in in 2005 and 2006 and we had a wonderful time- the house was clean and large. the deck and walkway to the beach were very nice. the beach area was perfect for our family. i would recommend it..