Description from manager
Description from manager
5 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 6 bedroom house in Corolla today! A total of 16 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 15 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1550 to as high as $4345, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 20, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
Outer Banks Blue
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Corolla Attractions
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Smoking allowed
- 5 Unknown types
– based on 15 reviews
- Very Good
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Location is nice. Sunsets are beautiful. That's as good as it gets. The pics are very deceiving! We had to scrub deck & furniture before we could use them. Half of the lights either stayed on or flickered. Two showers are so small you have no place for soap or shampoo. Ice maker didn't work. TV's had to be messed with for awhile before the cable would work. Garage filthy. Bottom floor needed swept before we could use it. The gazebo was missing screens on windows & both doors. This could be a nice place if they cleaned it & did upkeep. The price was EXTREMELY too much for what we got! We felt very mislead & cheated. All concerns brought to realtor with no reply!
Response from the manager Thanks for taking the time to let us know your feelings. We love to hear from our guests even when they don't have good news for us. Gentle Winds is a very popular property in Corolla that has enjoyed a repeat clientele for years. Your experience with this house is not what others have reported and we regret that. The house is located directly on the soundside of the Outer Banks. An effect of being on the sound is that bugs are attracted to the lights and if caution and awareness is not used it is a constant battle to keep the decks, furniture and porches cleaned. Since your stay the maintenance issues you identified have been reconciled, and the owner has been made aware of your feelings as well. The homeowner just did a significant renovation to the property last year which added a beautiful master bathroom and bedroom to the top floor of the house and expanded the kitchen area too. We hope you return to Gentle Winds and give it another chance. All the best from the beach!
“A Fab Family Gathering”
We had a great time. The house was comfortable and spacious.The view was wonderful. We were glad to see a wonderfully organized and stocked kitchen- ready for any kind of meal. My only wish would have been sharper knives. It was a perfect visit.
“Fun week with Family and Friends”
We loved renting from Outer Banks Blue. It was very easy. No check in or visits to a rental office. The view from the back of the house is beautiful. The master suite, kitchen and living room areas are very nice and have some more modern updates. The lower two floors however are in need of updates. The comforters and curtains were stained and smelled of mildew. I don't know if we were the first renters of the season and it had been closed up for the winter but we had to buy air freshener just to sleep in those rooms.
“Nice place to stay”
Beautiful home with wonderful views. Had lots of ammenities including a canoe and crab cages! Many things to do on the sound just steps from the back yard. Hot tub on the sound was one of my favorite features...just lovely. Decor of the bedrooms/bathrooms, and washer and dryer could be updated/renovated, but overall a nice home. We would definitely stay there again.
We loved our stay at Gentle Winds. The location was perfect. We walked to tennis and the clubhouse (the kids enjoyed the craft projects). Parking to get to the ocean was nearby. We rented a kayak and kept it at our dock. We crabbed on the dock (crab pots were in the garage!) and fished every day. The outside shower was great for washing the kids. We prepared all of our meals in the large kitchen (w/2 dishwashers!). The kids ate at the bar and the adults ate at the table (13 people sitting down!). The gas grill was an added bonus (but trekking up and down the stairs to get to it was not!). The views of the sound were beautiful.
“Disappointing but lots of potential”
Location - amenities OK Overall cleanliness was poor. Daughter had allergic reaction to dust in the bedrooms on 2nd floor - we cleaned screens and vacuumed under the beds. Light in dining room very dirty. Outside shower was dirty - had to sweep with broom found that had no handle. Picnic table outside had one seat on the ground. Gazebo - screens in windows and doors were hanging in disarray. However, the hot tub was well maintained. Kitchen - safety concern - Teflon coated pots and pans were scrapped. Recollection from past experience is that if Teflon is scrapped like that the item should not be used. Blender container was cracked from overtightening (as was condition). Dining room - back of one chair was broken. Outside deck (upper)- nails protruding from deck and chairs - initially scratched a couple of us until hammered down. Garage - stuff laying around. Would have been nice to have a hose to rise off kayaks, etc after use. Overall, though a nice location and amenities offered by community - short walk to the beach, tennis, bikes, etc. the condition of the house was not consistent with the price charged. We should have called upon arrival for you to visit and observe. Our mistake but these are valid findings.
Response from the manager Ms. Campbell, Thanks for taking the time to review this property on Trip Advisor. I apologize that Gentle Winds did not meet your expectations. I note that we did not hear from you about any of these items during your stay so we were unable to rectify any of these issues for you. We would have been happy to do what we can to repair or replace what was needed. Many times things like what you mention occur during a stay and our cleaners, with limited time in the property each week, simply don't pick up on these things and they go unrepaired. The good news is based on your review we have followed up on these items and rectified what we can for future renters. We hope to serve you again in the future! All the best from the beach!
House was very nice and relaxing, enjoyed sitting on the decks and catching some of the blue crabs off the pier. The house was clean and inviting we would stay there again. Very pleasant stay for our family. Thanks for the memories.
the layout of the house and the views were spectacular!! and the close proximity to the beach was really convenient! however, the house could have used a good cleaning and an exterminator. the remodeled kitchen was fabulous but there were crumbs in the drawers and the trash cans in the kitchen were not clean (had food stains, and an odor about them.) the first few days we saw a lot of ants, but my husband's daughter-in-law lined the kitchen counters with dish soap which seemed to alleviate the worst of that; but we also saw several large cockroaches. in fact we left one of them in the cabinet under the stove because it was so big we were afraid to lift the lid under which my husband trapped it. it was a glass lid so we are assuming the cleaning people will see it and discard it. one of the children woke up with a tick in her back.(she had been outside the previous day, but she had been bathed that evening and her clothes from that day were put in the washer when she got home from being outside. it is absolutely possible that it came from the outdoors, but wanted OBB to know about it given the other little critters that were running around in the house)also it appeared that there were mouse droppings in one of the bedrooms. we did vaccuum it up and nothing new appeared after that.(but that really freaked me out. we didn't see that till thurday evening, otherwise i would have called and asked to move houses.)there were dirty socks and discarded children's drawings and wrappings from a child's toy under the bed in one of the master bedrooms. also there were no sheets for the crib. (fortunately we brought our own.) lastly when i called to reserve the house i was told the children could swim in the sound. we checked with the people at the community center and they told us they actually do not recommend that people swim in the sound: there are poinsonous snakes in there as well as crabs. within 2 days of that we saw 3 snakes. in spite of it all we had a lovely time!
The home is beautiful but could use some updating. We found that the beds, the sofas and the bedding were very worn and not all that comfortable. We were also disappointed to see that the carpets were soiled and could use a good cleaning. We had some beautiful days where we would have liked to open the windows. Unfortunately we couldn't-some of them wouldn't crank open and some of those that did were very difficult to close. There were also some that appeared to be falling off their hinges when we tried to open them, so we gave up. We had a great vacation, but for the money spent had hoped that the home would have been cleaner and in better condition.
Response from the manager KMS, We are certainly sorry that you feel as you do about this home. I note that we did not hear from you during your stay about any of these issues which is unfortunate because we would have been happy to rectify the issues that we could. We have not heard this complaint before about the windows and will have one of our maintenance people stop by and address the matter. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
“Relaxing and Comfortable”
This is a lovely house on the sound with a beautiful sunset vista. The description and photos on line are completely accurate. The neighborhood is beautiful with a fine clubhouse. I'd recommend this house to anyone. Only complaint: the house needs a visit from the exterminator.There were a few too many 6 and 8 leg critters indoors.