Need more information about booking Property 3677412 ?
Very Good

1 / 37 735 Touro Street

From $400 / night help
Total guests,

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedrooms 3 / Bathrooms 3 / Sleeps 7 / House
Bedrooms: 3  Bathrooms: 3   Sleeps: 7  Type: House

2 Full baths, 1 Shower

Boheme de Marigny - Creole Cottage in the Historically Rich Marigny Triangle
TripAdvisor property ID 3677412

More Property Details

Book this 3 bedroom house in New Orleans today! A total of 7 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 53 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2000, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 15, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Dayna E.

Tourist License: 137228

Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, Spanish, Portuguese



This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top New-orleans Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Clothes dryer
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Safe
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet

Property Features

  • Parking
  • Wheelchair accessible


  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • CD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Patio
  • Private garden
  • Shared garden


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 2 Full baths
  • 1 Shower


Reviews (53)

Very Good – based on 53 reviews Very Good
53 reviews

Very Good

“Live like a local in the heart of New Orleans”

Reviewed 22 Oct 2017

Location, Location, Location! This 200+ yr. old Creole cottage (with the charm & quirks of an old building) in quiet neighborhood is a short walk to the food, music, & art scene loved by locals & tourists. Walk a couple blocks further & you are in the heart of the French Quarter. With a trolly pass you have access to much of the older parts of the city. Enjoyed having a kitchen with full refrig. with freezer & stove with oven. Do not plan a loud party or you will disturb your neighbors. A + & - is the filming in this area; parking tight, but you walk past production set up & catch beads thrown by Lionel Richie & Katy Perry during a photo shoot.

“Sweet and stylish cottage in great location”

Reviewed 15 Apr 2017

Our stay at La Boheme de Marigny was relaxing and exciting all at the same time. The area immediately surrounding this cottage was quaint and quiet with small restaurants, shops, and a lovely park nearby. Within less than a 5 minute walk we were on Frenchman street, and a little further is the French Market filled with authentic merchandise from local artists. The cottage itself worked well for the 6 of us, and had plenty of room for outdoor gatherings to sit and refresh, and then plan out next outing! Kitchenettes and bathrooms were fully supplied. All we needed was our clothes and a toothbrush! Dayna was truly an awesome host, and answered all of out numerous questions. She made sure that we were all comfortable. Thank you Dayna, from all 6 of us, for a wonderful experience in New Orleans!!

Response from the owner I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed hosting you all -- I could not get over how much fun you had with each other, the neighborhood and the city that I call home. Thank you again and come again soon!

“Excellent Location”

Reviewed 23 Feb 2015

6 adults stayed in the entire complex over Mardi Gras 2015. The location of the place is absolutely the best - far enough from the craziness of the French Quarter, but close enough to experience it....and being 2 blocks from Frenchman St is awesome. We had great food, drinks and music all around us 24/7. All 3 units fit our party of 6. The building itself is a bit old and has old pipes, wiring,etc, but at the same time, it's very charming. We didn't have the hottest of water in our unit, but it wasn't so cold that no one couldn't shower. Dayna's daughter was so thoughtful and always looked out for us. Thank you Norine for your hospitality. I hope we're able to stay again! THANK YOU!

Response from the owner Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed having you stay for Mardi Gras 2015 -- it is always a wonderful and crazy time in the city. I apologize for some of the inconveniences of the cottage - it is always that trade off -- historic, original and affordable -- or gutted and "Hampton-like". I am happy that it was not too inconvenient for you but I am grateful that you brought this to the attention of future travelers. Come again, Dayna & Norine

“wonderful stay”

Reviewed 13 Feb 2014

It was a wonderful stay . Thr cottages were very peaceful and cozy. Also convient to all attractions.. I will recommend to others.

Response from the owner Hello Erica, Thank you so much for your stay and kind review. I loved having you and your family for the weekend. Come on back anytime ! Dayna

“This is New Orleans!”

Reviewed 8 Dec 2013

So many great things to say about this "Creole Cottage." The owner, Dayna English, provides excellent service without intruding on one's privacy, everything is at hand in one's room--coffee pot, fridge, fresh fruit, tourist literature--and especially welcome is the tiny outdoor patio where one can hear New Orleans and enjoy the blue sky above but not be seen by passersby. The wide, unpainted wood paneled walls of my room, that dated to the first decade of the 1800's, evoked centuries gone by while the name of my room--Bordello--spoke of New Orleans' historic role as a port city with sailors passing through. Set in the centuries old Marigny, one can experience the city's old architecture just by peeking out the gate at the end of the narrow walkway bordering the rooms. Hibiscus blooms, balconies, iron grillwork and pastel colors all at eye's length bring a sense of amazement to newcomers to New Orleans. This is not the Hyatt or Motel 6. This is New Orleans as it was two hundred years ago. The accommodation comes with a parking pass, an invaluable item in a restricted parking area. Even more important is the cleanliness of the abode--No bedbugs!! This Creole cottage makes for an easy, pleasant and worry free stay in New Orleans. Within easy walking distance of the Marigny are Jackson Square where musicians abound, the Bywater on the Mississippi itself, the Cathedral of St. Louis the King, with the Faulkner Book Store tucked away on Pirates alley near the Cathedral--while in the other direction lies the Treme, an historic black neighborhood where many Haitians found refuge during their country's revolution against the French, and recently documented on HBO following Katrina. Katty corner to the cottage is La Peniche, open around the clock on certain days and where the food is excellent and moderately priced.

Response from the owner Hello Road Trip, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and respite from your long drive. Thank you also for taking the time to visit my high school in New Orleans East -- I true joy to have you meet "my kids". Hope to see you again soon. Dayna

“Wonderful house, great experience in Marigny!”

Reviewed 7 Dec 2013

We had a great stay at Dayna's cottage- what a wonderful host! We stayed in the back house, which I highly recommend. Dayna went out of her way from the start to make sure we had everything we needed. Check in and check out was very smooth and convenient, and being in the heart of the Marigny so close to Frenchmen makes this place extra special. Very quiet, safe, with on street parking. We say a great thank you and will see you again soon, Dayna!

Response from the owner Hi William, Thank you ! I really loved having your family here. You were wonderful guests - I hope to see y'all back again real soon --- Dayna

“Old+Quirky+Marigny=A Nola Treasure”

Reviewed 18 Oct 2013

If you're looking for a cookie-cutter Nola vacation experience with a continental breakfast and daily fresh towels and sheets, please don't stay here. You will ruin it, and will only end up posting a whiny review. Please direct yourself to the limitless hotel options where you can be with your own kind. They will call a cab to the French Quarter for you, and will issue no cry of horror to your schlocky jorts/polo shirt/fanny pack/tennis shoe/tube sock wardrobe catastrophe. The Creole Cottage is no manufactured experience because it is indeed a piece of New Orleans; from the eerie Victorian-era husband and wife hanging portrait to the tastefully vegetated narrow courtyard featuring a playful kitten and dual "Saints Thrones" (as I dubbed them), where you can assume the role of King or Queen of the Big Easy during your stay. It is a delight. We used the property for a reunion of friends, consisting of a combination of married couples and bachelors/bachelorettes. Each of the three rooms is an independent unit, providing ample privacy for couples while allowing the single members of our group to act single. Dayna, the delightful owner, lives in the backhouse. So maintenance help and city advice is never far away. She is even willing to loan you a couple of bikes (the preferred way of getting around) at no additional charge. But perhaps the most excellent feature of this tidy haven is its location. Sandwiched between Bywater and the Quarter, and a short block from the nightlife of Frenchman Street, it is in an ideal spot for what you want to see and experience. Driving ceases to be a limitation, for all of my fellow vacationing day-drinkers. Simply, we loved it. And if you appreciate peculiar experiences and the above description, you will too. Of note: the backhouse (including the balcony) are not part of the rental property, despite what the photos may indicate. It was of no consequence to us, but just so that you are aware.

Response from the owner Wow .. thank you so much for your thoughtful review.I really enjoyed having your group, and cannot tell you how much I appreciate your perspective. Thank you also for the clarification on the Back House -- I do rent it out for the high holy days in New Orleans, Jazz Fest, Voodoo Fest etc .. thank you again and come again to the weird and wonderful Marigny!

“Truly relaxing and stressfree experience!”

Reviewed 11 Sep 2013

Certainly was a great decision to stay at the Creole Cottage. My friend and I decided to travel to New Orleans for a quick golf trip and found the Creole Cottage to be the perfect place to stay. No long check in lines, instead very personal service with no stress. We found the Creole Cottage to be very comfortable, everything was in working order, we had absolutely no issues. Dayna was great, she was very accommodating and provided us with some great local information. Her Cottage is just a short walk to Bourbon Street and other local attractions. We would certainly stay here again!

Response from the owner Hello W, Thank you so much for the kind review - I really enjoyed having you two! It was such a revelation that people can actually golf in New Orleans ... who knew? Thank you again and hope to see you again in the future. Dayna

“Perfect Location, Challenging Stay”

Reviewed 6 Aug 2013

A perfect location during our trip to jazz fest; located between Frenchman & the French Quarter & walkable to both. Very reasonable price & space was perfect for 8 people (we had one coulpe in each of the first two rooms, & four colleagues in the third "suite-type" room, which was actually 1 bedroom and a livingroom with a trundle bed), as advertised. However there were several challenges. When we arrived the rooms were dirty (food in the fride & pizza crusts on floor). Danya arrived & explained that she hadn't had time to clean in between guests & since she cleans the rooms herself she cleaned while we were out for the rest of the day. Returning 6 hours later we still found hair in the showers & on some bath towels & dirty-gritty floors. When we mentioned it the next day she was very difficult about it, even rolling her eyes at my colleague & demanding we define "clean". The following day one toilet backed up into the shower/tub which would not drain following a morning of rainny weather. We called her (as her welcome package indicated we should if this happens due to old plumbing) she called a plumber to come, but then expected us to wait to let him into the unit & to finish rather than go out to our day as planned. The problem persisted for two days, and then a second bathroom had the same problem so that we needed to use the other room's showers & sleeping with the stench was difficult. At one point she accused us of being picky guests & told us we could just leave (since this was jazz fest all hotels were booked, so we stayed). I would reccomed that guests be prepared to be flexible; if it wasn't a rainy day or a busy week perhaps the hotel would have been cleaner, the host less irritated & the plumbing less strained. I would also reccomend that perhaps the largest room be advertised for an occupancy of only 2 people if the plumbing is truely that sensitive. The next guest may not happen to be traveling with the guest next door in order to use their toilet.

Response from the owner Dear Melissa, OUCH! I am happy you liked the location and value, but disappointed in your comments. It is easier to respond to a timely review as issues tend to fester over time. The plumbing issues indeed are exacerbated by heavy rains when New Orleans Water and Sewerage Board cannot control the external back up. The problem is also exacerbated when the cottage is at maximum capacity. I generally just advise guests that this could be an issue, but I will now limit the number of guests to 6 in the cottage to prevent future complications. It is true that I am a full time high school teacher for the Recover School District and must leave my phone off from 7 am until 4 pm - I generally am able to service all guest requests in a timely manner. I would however like guests to know that I advertise the cottage as a "budget, central location". I do not double my prices for Jazz Fest as many others do your case each guest paid $ 62 per night. This is not an excuse, but should help guests set reasonable expectations that this is not a luxury property. The creole cottage is not for everyone. Thank you again for taking the time to write. Dayna English

“Great location!”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2013

What a great, quaint place! Located walking distance to some of New Orleans' classic hot spots with plenty of fun in The Marigny! Even the neighbors were extremely friendly! Dayna was so hospitable and accommodating! And met our every need. The only negative is that it is not extremely wheelchair friendly, but plenty doable so long as your person is capable without the wheelchair. The Ritz it's not (and i only say that for expectations - not a knock on the place whatsoever!), so if you want to stay in a great place and experience The Big Easy like a local... Stay here!!

Response from the owner Hello Adam, Thank you so much for your helpful remarks. I really enjoyed having you all -- thanks also for the head's up on wheel chair access. I will pass that along to future guests. Again, I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you all again soon. Dayna

Review 1-10 of 53

Also consider


44,310 properties


16,431 properties


9,731 properties


8,364 properties


3,319 properties


2,654 properties


2,340 properties


2,194 properties


1,738 properties


1,117 properties


1,071 properties


838 properties


527 properties


424 properties


302 properties


296 properties


262 properties


190 properties


159 properties


61 properties

Start a new search