Description from owner
Description from owner
1 Full bath
More Property Details
Book this 1 bedroom cottage in Bat Cave today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 5/5 thanks to an average of 43 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1025, depending on travel dates.
The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 19, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the owner
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 19 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Bat-cave Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Central heating
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Staffed property
- Towels provided
Phone / Internet
- Fax machine
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- High chair
- Mountain Views
- Private fishing lake or river
- Secure parking
- CD player
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Video player
- Balcony or terrace
- Tennis in town
- Smoking allowed
- 1 Full bath
– based on 43 reviews
- Very Good
“Not what we expected for the money we paid”
Our experience at the Bat Cave River Cottage was not the must pleasant one. The instructions to get to the property were very confusing. When we finally arrived, we did not have phone signal and the owner never showed up, until next day because we call him. The 1/1 cottage is OK. You must go down the stairs and open a balcony type of door, so it does not seem very secure nor private. The sheets and towels were dirty, they felt and smell like rags. We had to drive 20 miles in total to purchase new sheets and towels. The cottage is well located and the view of the river and the hot tub are nice, but I feel that it is overpriced for what they offer. The property is advertised as a family business but the owner was not very friendly or showed willingness to accommodate us. Right when we left we texted him to let him know we left the keys at the lock box and he never responded us. Terrible manners and customer service. I would not recommend to stay at this place to anyone.
Response from the owner 1st please read my other reviews.( AT LEAST SHE LIKED THE DECK, HOT TUB & VIEW ) She paid $155.00 per night for 5-nights + tax? My instructions ask for you to let me know a few days in advance Approx Just a guess? on arrival time, Never got that? I am not a big stickler about having to check in before taking possession of property. They did not call when they arrived because SHE SAID SHE HAD NO CELL COVERAGE? But had cell coverage the next morning SHE SAID? It has a PELLA SLIDING GLASS DOOR, WITH BLINDS BETWEEN THE GLASS! May not have felt safe if you are from Miami FL. Bat Cave has 300 people in a 6 mile radius.They had spent the night and wanted me to come over because (she had a BAD knee) & did not like the steps going down to the deck. My directions even say from lock box TURN AROUND & take steps down to deck ! SHE NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SHEETS OR TOWELS? HE WAS TAKING A SHOWER WHILE I WAS TALKING TO HER. My girl uses dryer sheet's in every wash! She wanted to find some place else to stay, Said I didn't say there are steps going down to deck.( I WENT BACK & LOOKED AT FLIPKEY DESCRIPTION & SAID LOOK AT PICTURE # 17 OF 35 SAY'S STEPS GOING DOWN TO DECK ON THE CAPTION. IT DOES NOT SAY HANDICAPPE ACCESSIBLE. I told her I would give refund when I rented it. My girl would be there to clean at 10:30am. I had someone that called & wanted to rent it the next day for all there other days. I called my cleaning girl she said the car was gone. I ran over there only a mile away. There were MY TOWELS on the back deck and their stuff was still there. It had not been cleaned could not rent it out! Same thing the next day had someone that wanted to rent & they were still there. Sorry they had a bad experience, I tried to accommodate them, But they never moved out so I could rent to someone else. Sorry she felt she had a bad experience. ( That's the truth and I am sticking to it!) Owner Operated Marion & Bruce
We brought in the New Year in this great Cabin on the river !!! Best New Year ever ! Great Stay !! Cant wait to go back !! Owners are so sweet !!
Response from the owner Hope, Thank You for the GREAT review, Sure we will see you again!
“More than we expected, we will be back!”
This is the perfect place to get away! We came in at night and I was nervous because I know how picky my boyfriend is about staying away from home. It was very clean the pictures don't do it justice. The hot tub was great. The inside was spacious. Chimney Rock was just down the road. We did a day of shopping and climbed all the way to the top of Chimney Rock and all the trails and came back and spent some much needed time in the hot tub and massage chair. The owners were right upstairs and we talked with them they were so nice however we couldn't tell there was anyone upstairs unless we went to them. I can't wait to go back!!! I need the sound of the river to put me to sleep again!
Hot tub was awesome, river raft was the best idea!! The covered deck was great since it rained a lot. We loved everything about the cabin!!!
Response from the owner Thanks' for the great review & Your right a lot of people don't think about how much a fully covered deck helps if it is raining or the sun is hot & and you can still use your Private Hot Tub 24 7.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the river cottage. The deck just above the river is spacious and comfortable, and it's where we spent most of our time. We cooked all of our meals on the grill there, and dined al fresco enjoying the soothing sounds of the river. We had everything we needed in terms of linens, kitchen supplies, etc., and we appreciated having wireless internet access as well. There is a dorm -size refrigerator in the kitchen and another one on the deck. This made it easy for us to have room for food in the kitchen and beverages handy on the deck. There are shades on the deck that can be pulled down for extra privacy. The hot tub and the massage chair were just the ticket after climbing to the top of Chimney Rock. This is a perfect cottage for a peaceful and romantic getaway!
We decided to visit as a last-minute getaway, and we're so glad we did! What a wonderful little place. It is situated right on the river and convenient to everything. The hot-tub was great, the views were wonderful, and we can't wait to return!
Response from the owner We were glad we could slip them in for a 3-Night weekday stay, We always get call's for the weekends but have to turn them away. As it says "Complete Relaxation" That is what it is all about!
We rented this cottage/cabin for a good price. It was soo nice and close to the mountain. Right by the river which is beautiful!! Peaceful and quiet. Hot tub was great. We will be back and this will be our first choice on places to stay :)
Response from the owner They wrote in the book this was their 1st getaway as a couple sure we will see them again. Bruce & Marion Owners
“Relaxation at its finest!”
My husband and I spent Easter weekend here and had the most amazing time! The hot tub, deck, fireplace and coziness of the cottage were beyond our expectations and allowed us to fully relax and reconnect. Bruce and Marion were absolutely wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome; it felt like we were staying with family. We will definitely be returning in the summer and brining friends with us! We can't wait to share this gem with them and dip our toes in the river! See you soon!
“Better Than Described”
My husband and I completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bat Cave Rivers Cottage to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. Mr. and Mrs. Baker were very nice and gracious hosts with a wealth of information about the area. The cottage was very clean and inviting. We enjoyed the view from the private patio, the hot tub, and gas grill. We were very pleased with the cottages homey feel and wish we would've been able to stay longer. It is definitely worth visiting again soon!
Response from the owner It is always great to have young couples enjoy the great outdoors. Bruce & Marion Owners
“Excellent fabulous extravagant I want to go back as soon as poss”
The best place me and my family has ever stayed while vacationing in chimney rock. Beautiful views and a wonderful 6 person hit tub. Everything was very clean and even a massage chair. Big deck for all your needs with a grill swing sets. My wife and I personal enjoyed the hard work and a lot of effort to make a beautiful place. Cannot wait to go back and relax In a perfect getaway
Response from the owner We hear that all the time I am glad they enjoyed it so much it is Location, Location, Location on all real estate. Hope to see you again.